We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back”
Review of Atiu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atiu Villas
Putaruru
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would come back”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Atiu Villas was a great place to have a relaxing holiday. Host Roger is a great tour guide on the airport transfers and knows all about the island. We were the only guests for the 5 nights, but had lovely dinners in Kuras kitchen when other tourists came. Not a great choice of places to eat out on the island.
Awesome grounds. Scooters on site to hire and explore the island with. Having a stocked fridge and larder was a bonus - we only had to buy milk to start with. very comfortable rooms.
Very laid-back island where the excitement is a plane or boat coming in. Friendly people. Lots of places to explore on the island and not many mosquitos!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent 4 nights here after spending 8 nights on Aitutaki. It's definitely a slower pace than the other island but is the perfect place to both relax and explore. The beaches are pristine with white sand, crashing waves, tons of coral and shells, and the best part is that you have them all to yourself.

The Villas are well maintained and are very clean. The breeze that comes through the forest and through the back door keeps you cool and helps with the mosquitoes. The stocked kitchen (which costs the same as the stores) is handy but I would recommend packing a bit of food with you if you have the space (unless you really love beans, rice and pasta). Roger is a quite a character and has lots to share. We appreciated the impromptu trip to the graveyard on All Souls Day and the stop over at the Tumunu. He also arranged tours for us and provided a very reasonable scooter rental. We loved our dinners at night and would recommend them.

Don't miss out on...
- This Island!!!
- The cave tour with Marshall
- A trip to a Tumunu
- The coconut cream filled donuts (how can an island with only 500 people have 3 different donut makers?!)

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 6 which is down by the pool. I didn't really see the other cabins but ours wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilyabrup, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We returned to Atiu after having honeymooned here in 1987 and did wonder how the island, it's people and Atiu Villas would have changed in that time. The population was now just a third of what it was, the people were just as friendly and welcoming as ever and Atiu Villas had doubled in size!

Host Roger Malcom collects his guests from the airport and introduces you to the island and its history and geology during the short and picturesque drive to the villas.The villa grounds are beautifully maintained and add to the relaxed atmosphere that so typifies Atiu. New visitors to Atiu should expect facilities to be more basic than on 'Miami' (the local name for Rarotonga!) but the villas are certainly comfortable, clean and well designed for the climate with a large verandah that overlooks the gardens or jungle while still maintaining privacy.The villas are all made by Roger from local timbers and are testimony to his dedication and hard work for the past 3 decades.


Dining options on Atiu are limited, espcially for vegetarians. One option is to self cater in your villa using the well stocked pantry and refrigerator.Vego's may consider bringing some foods with them if having an extended stay although there are quarantine considerations to be aware of. Some supplies are also available from several stores in the villages although vego options are again limited. The onsite Kura's Kitchen will cater for vego's if you let them know when you book, but they are only open for dinner. The food is good and plentiful and it a great way of meeting other guests from around the world. There are a couple of other cafes on the island and we did enjoy some nice food while chatting to the locals.

Atiu Villas have scooters available for hire and are the best way to explore the islands tracks and beaches. With 25 beaches and just a handful of guests, you can pick your very own! Roger is also happy ot arrange a number of tours using local guides to explore different aspects of Atiu, its culture and its people.

We enjoyed Atiu more this time around as we took the time to explore more of the island and chat and eat with the friendly locals. Atiu Villas is a perfect base and Roger & Kura and staff perfect hosts. This island really is a gem and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovolacto_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Atiu Villas offers comfortable ares with a kitchenette and a deck that overlooks beautifully landscaped grounds. The atmosphere is casual and comfortable. There are 400 residents on the island and only eight tourists when we were there in mid-May 2012. Family style dining offered good food and let us get to know the staff and other guests. Roger offered a good introduction to the geological, biological, and cultural history of the island on the drive from the airport. While the forest is very nice and well preserved for lowland Polynesian forest, it is the birds that are the main biological attraction. The red lorikeet, Rarotongan fruit dove, and Polynesian swiftlet visited the villa grounds. Bird Man George's tour led us to additional species and included a delicious lunch of banana, papaya, and freshly grated coconut. Marshall Humphreys' tour of the swiftlet cave gave an excellent understanding of this unique bird. The Coral Garden offers an amazing opportunity to see a great diversity of reef fish gatheried into a small area, if you are lucky enough to have the tide and winds cooperate. Other highlights were the tumunu (bush bar), the coffee tour with Jurgen, and the fabric art studio where you can see the local tivaevae elevated to an internationally recognized art form. Three days went too fast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Upon arriving at Atiu Villas and seeing how gorgeous my villa was, and how beautiful the island was, I immediately changed my flights so that I could stay a while longer here. The villas and surrounds are absolutely stunning! Beautiful landscaping, a lovely pool to swim in at the end of a day exploring the island, and delicious dinners. The villas themselves are amazing and have everything you could possibly wish for. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Tip for anyone planning to spend 'a couple of nights' on Atiu: 2 nights isn't nearly enough. 4 or 5 nights is more like it!

Room Tip: Villa 6 is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our second visit to Atiu Villas, we didn’t stay long enough the first time, and even though we stayed 4 nights this time, it still wasn't long enough. Kura and Roger are the perfect hosts, warm and helpful, with great evening meals and drinks in the pavilion and Kura's kitchen. The villas and grounds are simply paradise, lush gardens, peaceful tranquillity, and even a pool added since our last visit. The experience of riding round the island and walking on beaches totally on your own, without even any footprints is divine, especially on Sunday after experiencing the spirited a cappella singing in the beautiful CACC church . This time we even went reef fishing, after visiting the caves and the bird-man George tour last time. Lots to do if you want, but just perfect for chilling out too. Great wifi access if you want this while you’re on holiday. If you stay for a few days, the lower cost of the villas compared to Aitutaki or Rarotonga will pay for the airfare. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Villas five and six at the boottom of the garden are the newest, and enjoy the most privavcy, but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg48Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent three nights at Atiu Villas in July, 2012. The bungalows are set in the most beautiful tropical gardens. It was everything we could have hoped for and only wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed it all. Thank you to Roger and his staff for taking care of us. You are the best!

If you are looking for an amazing adventure - Atiu is the place. The secluded beaches are breath-taking and the cave tour was worth every minute of the challenging hike. The island is paradise and you can spend entire days without ever seeing another person!! No paved roads - no restaurants, resorts or shopping malls - just friendly people and natural beauty everywhere you go!! The home-cooked dinners each evening were the best. We will be back.

A special thank you to Tree Ritchie at South Seas Adventure for taking care of every travel detail of our vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms are very rustic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atiu
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gina's Garden Lodges
Gina's Garden Lodges
#13 of 13 in Aitutaki
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kakera Villa Apartments
Kakera Villa Apartments
#46 of 77 in Rarotonga
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atiu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atiu Villas

Property: Atiu Villas
Address: 7 Box | Areora, Cook Islands (Formerly Atiu Motel)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Atiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Atiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atiu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atiu Villas is located on Atiu Island at the edge of a central plateau overlooking a tropical garden, pineapple fields, jungle and has distant views down a valley of the Pacific Ocean. The villas are built in the native style out of polished native timbers of mango, mahogany, red peanut, cedar and coconut in 6 well separated villas and includes a villa suitable for families. A tour desk, restaurant, bar, entertainment area, swimming pool, floodlit tennis court, property wide free Wifi, rental bicycles, scooters and car are all available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Atiu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing