We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
81
28
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
28
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island night island tour unspoilt island birdman george self cater food supplies each evening a lovely place to stay hot water mosquito coils white sand burial cave local wood tumunu tours cooks locals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

There are some very interesting things to do on Atiu: tours of the ecology and caves, drinking bush beer and checking out the coffee. By all means, be a little bit active. On the other hand, sit on the deck of your villa, take a dip in the pool, eat Kura's amazing meals, and just go for the peaceful feeling that seeps deep into your soul.

You may not be a wood nerd like I am, but the selection of local hardwoods and the craftsmanship put into the construction of the Villas is something special. A wood nerd can spend hours just staring at the figure and finish of the wood used on the deck.

Kura has this amazing aura, Roger has more brain cells than most people I've met, and the staff is caring and careful.

Watch out for Air Rarotonga. They cancelled my Saturday flight (I had to go Friday) on two days notice - they actually knew about the cancellation for almost four weeks. I'd also avoid Island Hopper Vacations - just book direct with Roger.

Once I finish exploring as many of the outer Cook Islands as I can afford, I'd come back to the Villas.

Room tip: All of the Villas are excellent. They differ only in the number of people they can comfortably handle.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronie_bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A wonderful 3 days, but not the place if you want sophistication, restaurants and spas! The island has a population of only 478 and at full capacity can accommodate 40 tourists (although this is rarely attained)
My daughter had been working as a volunteer vet on Rarotonga for 3 months. I went to join her for 10 days at the end of her time there. After a wonderful week on Raro, walking, cycling and snorkelling we caught the little plane to Atiu. Roger met us at the tiny airport and garlanded us with beautifully scented frangipane and gardenia lei (called ei in this part of the world), to welcome us to the island. As others have explained, Roger gives a fascinating potted history of the island on the route to the villas, which are charming, A-framed wooden chalets set in a stunning garden all created by New Zealander Roger and his wife Kura, whose family come from the island. Plentiful fruit in the fruit bowl and a well-stocked fridge and food cupboard at local prices. Possibly worth bringing a few basic salad/veg supplies from Raro for lunches.
After an afternoon chilling by the pool, the remaining two and a half days were spent actively exploring the island both on our own on one of the scooters for hire and on tours arranged for us by Roger. We walked through forests filled with coral (! it's all to do with the geology) and ferns to see cave-dwelling swifts which echo-locate like bats; sat with locals and drank their home-brewed drink (delicious); saw the reintroduced lorakeets; had a picnic, beautifully presented on woven leaves, on the beach with local celebrity George and visited the coffee plantation run by German-born Jurgen, Coffee is currently the only island export although it was explained to us that historically there have been various attempts at exporting pineapples, tomatoes and black pepper. The beaches are stunning and empty and we also (eventually) found the beautiful coral garden, which makes for pretty impressive snorkelling. On our return flight to Raro we were almost overwhelmed by the scent of the numerous ei presented by families to departing islanders. A memorable stay!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taralyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had wonderful times here in 2010. We did swim in the fine pool, ate in the restaurant, made triops on the island on the motorbikes we did rent on the property. We made a tour to the coffeeplantages. It was unforgettable.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 347Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at Atiu Villas while on our honeymoon in the Cook Islands. We’re so glad we visited Atiu, in geographic terms, it is very different to Rarotonga and Aitutaki and with less than 500 people on the Island, it has a really natural and laid back feel.

The Atiu Villas are cute little A frame cottages surrounded by beautiful gardens and a lovely, refreshing, blue pool. The accommodation isn’t 5 stars, but it is clean, inviting and comfortable, everything you need on Atiu.

Roger, Kura and the staff were all lovely and accommodating; we received an informative overview of the island from Roger on the first day and he and his staff happily arranged various tours for us including a Kopeka Cave tour, Atiu Island Coffee Tour with Mata (a 100% Atiu owned and operated business where Kura personally grows, hand roasts and produces her own coffee & also provides a delicious morning tea!) and a Tumunu visit. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the tours and all the meals we had in Kura’s kitchen. Basic grocery supplies are also supplied in the Villas so you can cook yourself if you feel like a quiet night in.

We loved the flexibility of hiring a scooter whenever required and adventuring around the island. A cute little cat called Frazzle (who is owned by Roger and Kura) took a liking to us and camped on our balcony for the duration of our stay, as cat owners, it was nice to have a furry friend on our doorstep! Atiu is a beautiful little gem in the Cook Islands; make sure you visit and that you give Frazzle a pat for us!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 386michelleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Can't say enough about the people here, from Roger and Kura to all the other staff who made our few days on Atiu tremendous, I wish I could remember all their names. Perhaps my favorite moment was while waiting for our ride to the airport, sharing a breakfast of PawPaw, bananas, and shredded coconut with the entire staff. So friendly.

The bungalows are great. All you really need on an island of 500 people. Didn't want for anything. The pool is an excellent cool off for when you just need a break from the afternoon heat.

Roger did his best to make sure all of our wants were met. He made all 3 of our tours happen, an Island Night, and most importantly perhaps....the taste of Tumunu and the famous bush beer.

I hope to see it again in my lifetime.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews