We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but friendly.. would go back in a heartbeat.”
Review of Amuri Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amuri Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Aitutaki B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Arriving from Rarotonga to this amazing island felt like a dream, I was greetinga t he airport by Nga who kindly gave me information on the trip in the van to the Guesthouse. What i loved is that everyone knew who everyone is and every one shouts out hello....

On arrival I realised from what Nga said, that this was to be treated as a home.... there was a full house of people from all over the world.. all there for differnet reasons... some stayed for a few day some planned to but could not bear to leave!

The Rooms themselves were suitable and I had lost my snobbiness by that time about Air-Con... it hardly exists in this type of accomodation. One thing to remember is that this place is a number 1 honeymoon destination and understandably so... do not be deterred though as the solo traveller can have just as much enjoyment. The Place is so peaceful and chilled out. I was unable to find a push bike to rent as wanted to cycle but Maraiti klidly leant me his scooter to explore the island... which took a good day of leisurely driving around.. stopping for lunch or a swim!

One thing not to miss is a Lagoon Cruise, Nga can recommend the best trips without getting ripped off! She wants her guests to enjoy the island just as much as the honeymooners! And was not dissapointed with TEKING's ... he's a great guy and fully informative.. the Lagoon is 12 by 15k so on that scale he knows the best places to take you..... without doubt one ofthe most amazing experiences .. to date.. oh and don't forget your passport! 1 Foot Island stamp!

While the island is amazing for the solo traveller... this is a wonderful place to stay, I felt safe and comfortable. I get bored quite quickly so 3 days was long enough there for me.. but if you like doing nothign for a week and can get to the middle of nowhere.... GO Go Go!! Do Not Forget your Mosquito spray though!!! Pesky things!

A big thank you to Nga and Maraiti who made my trip also....x

Room Tip: Ask Nga anything she knows everyone and can help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

I'm so glad I got to experience this style of accommodation, as my first accom where I stayed on arrival, could only book me in for a short time, so this was ideal. This is a guesthouse that is spacious and private. It was a pleasure to meet the hosts, Nga and Maraiti, who are very hospitable and friendly, and were on site during my stay. There are 6 double rooms with shared bathrooms (2), communal kitchen, dining and lounge room, and large outdoor patio. Clean and tidy. Insect screens throughout and fans in rooms. Stones throw from internet cafe and small grocery store, and across the road from the lagoon. 10 mins walk south to the main village and wharf and you will find a bank, post office and supermarket + many friendly locals. Airport transfers $7.50 each way. Very good value for money, with a great feel to be living with a local family whilst experiencing and learning about the Aitutakian lifestyle firsthand.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Wonderful spontaneous decision to catch a flight to Aitutaki and catch up with island events for the first time since Cyclone Pat destroyed much of the island's former infrastructure and appearance earlier this year. I could only spare 2 nights, but my time was thoroughly rewarded by the care and consideration the hosts of Amuri Guesthouse, Maraiti and Ngatuaine Tom, provided to ensure my stay was both relaxing and enjoyable. What a gem and a valuable contribution towards Aitutaki society these two warm and wonderful hosts have created for others enjoyment and benefit. Many thanks, meitaki atupaka Amuri guesthouse, and it was lovely to meet your other guests as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Aitutaki is simply the paradise you have in your dreams! We stayed a week in the island and it was great! We have a reservation for Matriki guesthouse where we stayed for couple of nights (good position on the beach,toilets/shower with cold water outside the bungalows, bungalows funished with little fridge and cooker+cuttlery). Beautiful bungalow on the beach, very well mantained but then we discover Amuri guesthouse: a guesthouse runned by a local family.very clean,You can use the kitchen to cook, owners very friendly. During the week they treat us like family members giving us fresh fruit from their trees.We had a scooter and went around the island (which is very small) and took the opportunity to have a boat cruise of the lagoon with Te King (saw giant clams,turtles,napolean wrasse and many many fishes) -cost 75 nzd per person ---very recommended! In Amuri guesthouse the rooms are very clean and very well maintained. Toilets/showers are separated and inside the house with hot water.beautiful patio with garden view.
Nice walk is to go on the lookout with the view of the lagoon.
We went to typical island night at Puffy's : very good local food and dancing performances ($35 per person).
If you are unlucky to have bad weather,as it happened to us,you can use the dvd and tv in the living room. don't miss the market for fresh (cheap) fruit and veggies and fantastic local DONUTS !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NarkyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

Amuri Guesthouse + snorkling

We stayed at Amuri Guesthouse just after easter 08. The rooms and the whole home was freshly painted and sparkling clean. It is a couple of minutes stroll from the beach and in a generally good location with small shops and eateries nearby and just opposite the village sportsfield. The main village and port is also within walking distance. Although the key is the couple running the gueshouse, it's intimate and feels like a homestay - where you share kitchen etc with the lovely owners, Maraiti Tom and her husband. They are extremely friendly helpful and generous.

Their room rates are also very good - highly recommended. We planned to stay a night or two at their place and then move onto a posher place on the beach - although we ended up staying with them for our whole stay. With tours some day and a scooter on others there is no need to stay on the beach - by the way the beaches on the mainland (Aitutaki that is) is not particularly good anyway. My advice if you are on a budget would be to stay cheaper (at Amuri Guesthouse or Matriaki), and spend some money on tours and a Scooter instead.

Recommend doing at least one lagoon tour, we went with TeKing and had a great time. Small group, great food, snorkling and attitude. Also went with Fred from Matriaki for a good tour more focused on the snorkling.

Snorkling from the island seems to be best at the end of the runway as described in guide books and outside Matriaki. The channel towards the resort on the other side of Samade on the beach - was not good when we tried, small area, not that much coral and murky.

2  Thank Pacvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob64220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amuri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Guesthouse

Address: PO Box 6, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aitutaki
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Amuri Guesthouse Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing