We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing stay at amuri” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
bc,canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay at amuri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 12 full days at Amuri Sands and are glad we skipped Rarotonga as a friend advised. We were looking for a simple, lower cost stay where we could snorkel off the beach everyday which we did. All the kudos given to Mark are all very true! We had immediate access to the beach and outside, with very few people around. Staying there allowed us to try out the nicer restaurants around the island and go for lagoon tours when we wanted.
The slow pace of the island allowed us to relax fully.
We even got to see the local medical system in action one day when I had to seek medical attention at the local hospital, riding thru a torrential (but luckily brief) downpour to get there to see Dr. Koko. We were treated well there, and were soon back on our way.
A few days there was moderate smoke from burning being done in the neighbouring property, so we just went for some long walks on the miles long sandy beach.
I would say Aitutaki and Amuri sands were just as advertised and suited us very well, we really enjoyed our stay on this incredibly beautiful island.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vi_bc_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
91
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My wife Kim and I spent the first 10 days of our honeymoon at Amuri Sands. It was the perfect place to start our stay on this wonderful island.

We'd read all the previous reviews and weren't disappointed. In fact Amuri Sands exceeded our expectations. Mark is the perfect host - friendly and relaxed, yet knowledgeable and helpful. He organised scooter rental and lagoon cruises, as well as supplying us with wonderful bananas and pawpaw. Easily the best fruit I've ever had!

The accommodation at Amuri Sands is simple but perfect - well maintained and clean with a kitchen fully equipped for holiday food preparation.

Room Tip: Rosters are a fact of life on Pacific islands...a more deluxe location is just as likely to have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batonage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We just returned from 6 nights at the Amuri Sands and thought it was wonderful. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Aitutaki. The rooms were clean and comfortable, Mark was a great host and the snorkelling from in front of the property was some of the best.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Mark was a fantastic host. Collected us and returned us to the airport. Very kindly drove us to the local shop after we arrived so that we could do some basic supplies shopping. Delivered fresh drinking rainwater from his own tank every day. Gave us fruit from his tree, cleared and swept the beach every morning. Mark was more than happy to offer advice, help with any booking or organisation, yet was totally invisible if we wanted privacy. Snorkelling off the beach was fantastic with plenty to see. Bed was comfortable, fridge was in excellent working condition, gas stove was pristine and in full working order, bathroom was clean with a lovely solar heated shower. Very happy with this accommodation, would definitely return and most definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: There are 2 identical studios at each end of a joined balcony/deck. There is a movable privacy scree...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at Amuri Sands in October and had the best holiday we've ever had!! This was our 2nd visit to Aitutaki and we are so glad we chose Amuri Sands. We found Amuri Sands on our 1st visit to Aitutaki and we are so glad we found it!! Mark is a fantastic host, he will help you out with information on where to eat and can recommend and book your day trips for you. He also made sure we had plenty of banana's and paw paws to eat. We also enjoyed drinking and eating fresh coconut everyday. Amuri Sands is located on the best beach on Aitutaki (in my opinion) and the snorkeling out from the accommodation is fantastic, best to go out at high tide. Mark updates a blackboard each day with high and low tides, which was very handy! There are resorts within walking distance for meals, otherwise the kitchen in the room has everything you need if you feel the need to cook for yourself. The accommodation is basic, but we loved it, it was a perfect little beach shack for our stay with the most perfect view of the lagoon from the deck! We did a day trip out to the lagoon and the snorkeling was amazing. We live in Cairns, Australia and have snorkeled the Great Barrier Reef many times and Aitutaki lagoon is just as good! We love Amuri Sands and Aitutaki and are already thinking about our next visit!! Thanks again Mark for a fantastic stay, we look forward to visiting again soon! Tarnie & Matt.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merano, Italy
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Me and my wife was at Amuri sands in september for our wedding, was all perfect the room is basic but confortable, you are just a few steps from the beach and the reef, you can do very beautiful walking true the long beach, you can do very good snorkeling and you can eat cocconut and papaya every day. When we was there Mark was in holiday, but his friend Poppy was at amuri for us and other guest, she is a very kind and gentle person, she can organize all escursion and you can ask her all things. You can ask her to rent a scooter because is basic to visit the small island and for move during the day. Follow all her instruction and you will not regret. Here you can spend resonable money for stay in the same place of the big star resort.
Thank you Poppy for making our stay fantastic. Bye Michele&Sonia

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misca27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Thanks to Mark for a lovely (but too short) stay at Amuri sands. My friend Kate and I stayed for three nights, and wish we had skipped Rarotonga altogether and spent the time in Aitutaki.

Mark picked us up at the airport, sorted us out scooters, got us some fresh pawpaw from the tree, sorted out our lagoon trip and then sent us down to puffy's for fish and chips.

The units are simple but have everything you need, and are on a lovely stretch of beach (next door to etu moana, which is 10 times the price), with good snorkelling.

Can't wait to go back!!!

p.s as per other reviewers - consider earplugs for the roosters, a problem in whatever place you stay in the cooks, and take lots of bug spray

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Property: Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing