We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location in very comfortable accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Stunning Location in very comfortable accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Amuri Sands......it was better than the photos and the location and setting was stunning and magic. Even although Aitutaki had experienced a cyclone a month earlier this did not detract from our stay. It was evident that it had been a servere cyclone and it had affected many of the islanders in some way. The unit was self catering and very clean and comfortable. Mark the owner was very helpful and even left a bunch of bananas at a time when bananas were like gold (because of the cyclone).
The beach, which was a few metres from our unit was beautiful, and we looked over the stunning aqua water and coral to the reef. We could snorkell and swim safely and we would dearly love to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
91
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Graz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We spent one week in Aitutaki, and it soon turned out that Amuri Sands was just the perfect choice for us. Located on Aitutaki's west coast - directly on a long beach with white coral sand - you not only have just the beach section for yourself, but also the shadow of the palm trees just behind it, the coconuts and all the fruits growing on the property, that is mangoes, papayas, avocados,... And if that's not enough, you can stock up on more fruits and vegetables in a shop just 200m to the south.
The beach house itself contains everything you need for a self-contained vacation. It is very clean and has a table with two chairs inside and also outside on the veranda, the place where you can overlook the beach and the lagoon while having breakfast or dinner.
And there is Mark, the owner of the accommodation and one of the friendliest and most helpful persons you can think of. When meeting him in the morning he gives you a detailed update on the current weather situation along with tips what would be the best activity on which day. He can provide you with any information you may need during your stay (grocery store? push bikes? lagoon cruise? cafe? kayaks?...), including insider tips; he picks you up and brings you back to the airport at no extra cost and shows you how to harvest mangoes and avocados growing on the trees of the property if you don't have enough with all the fresh fruits lying on the ground.
Thus, we really enjoyed our week in Aitutaki here and would come back again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StyriaThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

This is truly a beautiful spot to spend your vacation. Accommodations are clean and well kept. The owner was extremely helpful, booking tours for us and making sure the grounds and units were in top shape. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

My husband and I were met at the airport by Mark on a Sunday!. He is awesome very informative , friendly and helptul. Arranged a scooter for us that day (Sundays are very quiet on Aitutaki, most places and shops are closed) Mark also booked us a lagoon tour with Tiking which was a highlight of our visit. Amuri Sands a great place to stay , very clean and provided everything we needed, It was magic in the evening to sit on the deck overlooking the beach and see and hear fish jumping in the lagoon .I would reccomend Amuri Sands to anyone who is looking for a quiet, clean, reasonably priced place to stay right on the beach, with a great host MarkThank you very much We hope to return for longer next time
Janine and Dennis

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCalypsogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

myself and my partner stayed here 13th - 16th December 2009 and have to reitterate what other guests have said already, this place (Aitutaki) is stunningly beautiful and Amuri Sands perfectly compliments it with its unique deserted on a desert island feel.
the beach and indeed the lagoon feels like its all your own as it is quiet and truly like a picture postcard.
Mark the owner is a very attentive and informative man who is willing to go the extra mile to ensure you have a comfortable stay.
The only downside to staying here in Aitutaki is that you eventually have to leave :-(

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nottsreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

If you are going to go to Aitutaki and you're on a budget I would %100 recommend Amuri Sands.

Mark greeted my friends and I at the airport and let us keep our bags in his little office while the guest, who we still there, checked out and he was able to clean our rooms (we got in at 9am). He called the scooter rental place for us. They picked us up. When we had our scooters (and a wonderful breakfast and a little cafe around the corner) we returned to our cleaned rooms. Mark doesnt live on the grounds but came by every morning and afternoon to clean up the grounds. We had the whole place to ourselves. It was wonderful.

The rooms were clean. They had everything you could need or want (with the exception of a microwave) to cook. The beds were very comfy. The view was spectacular and the water wonderful. The bathroom was a good size and the water pressure in the shower was lovely.

If you go to Aitutaki I would recommend you bring water shoes or flippers and your own snorkling gear. If you can, I would also recommend bring as much of your own food as possible as the grocery selection on the island is not great. I would still go back in heart beat (even though i would have to fly to Rarotanga which I strongly disliked)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccernumber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed here for a week in April. The location is absolutely superb - right on a great beach - it is the same stretch of beach as number of the resorts, including Etu Moana literally right next door. The host was friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money for the very private beachfront location. Rooms were clean and tidy, kitchen very well equipped. There is a great takeaways also a short walk away. Also recommend going to buy fruit from Tuono's also a short walk away. We went to Island Night at Pacific Resort - the food was superb. If you are staying for any length of time, recommend hiring transport. We hired a car because we have a young child, but traffic is so easy-going that scooters would be fine, even for those nervous of them.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuri Sands, Aitutaki

Property: Amuri Sands, Aitutaki
Address: Main Rd, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia Orana, and welcome to Amuri Sands, Aitutaki. We are a family-run business with 2 chalets on the beachfront on the west coast of Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We provide budget accommodation for your self-catering needs and are positioned near dining outlets and shops. The beach we are positioned on has some of the best snorkeling on the island. We look forward to you staying with us. Kia Manuia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki
Amuri Sands, Aitutaki South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing