We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 wonderful nights”
Review of Aitutaki Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aitutaki Escape
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
“4 wonderful nights”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent 4 magic nights at a small magic place. The accommodation was of a very high standard and surpassed our expectations. Our 1 bedroom villa was roomy, the shower room fabulous, and the view over the lagoon to watch the sunsets sensational. Henry was kind, helpful and made a extra special effort to say goodbye. Lily was helpful throughout the entire booking process and our holiday ended too soon. We would recommend Aitutaki escape most highly

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph255350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
135
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the Cook Islands (7 nights in Raro & 5 in Aitutaki). We stayed in Villa #2 - 5 nights was not long enough !! I wanted to cancel our Raro accommodation and stay longer in Aitutaki - this place is truely amazing. Our accommodation was beyond our expectations - immaculately clean, the breakfast was superb and the attention to detail was evident throughout the villa. Vane & Lily made our stay unforgettable and were more than happy to help with anything we required e.g. booking tours, dinner and taxi service. The Villa was elegant, the internal waterfall was an amazing feature - not to mention the pool and spa. Drinking on the outside deck in an afternoon as the sun was setting was magical. Thanks for a wonderful stay - we will be back :)

Room Tip: Villa 1 is the Ultimate 2 bedroom Villa. Villa 2 & 3 - 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have just returned from the beautiful Cook Islands after 16 magical days, nine of these being at Aitutaki Escape.. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa, which would have to be the best accommodation we have stayed in, anywhere !! As has been said in previous reviews the Villas have everything you could possibly need, and were very spacious and private.. From my first contact with Lily nothing was too much trouble, during our stay Vane looked after us like old friends and was somehow able to help out with any request .. The location was very accessible to all the island had to offer.. Overall it was a little slice of paradise and we will definately be returning to the amazing Aitutaki Escape !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a trip to the Cook Islands where we spent 12 lovely nights in Aitutaki at Aitutaki Escape. Lily was extremely helpful with the booking process, often responding to emails within a couple hours – from that, we had a good feeling about the place.

From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the place. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa that was very spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was huge, very comfortable and fitted with a mosquito net; the shower was large, with both a fixed and flexible hose, and had great water pressure. The kitchen was fully equipped with both appliances and utensils. There was a welcome pack on arrival that had fruits, juice, milk, wine and various snacks.

Not to mention the view. Don’t get me wrong, the view isn’t the best on the island, but it is pretty amazing, especially when the sun sets right outside your lounge room! We experienced some truly beautiful sunsets.

Vane, the Manager, was extremely helpful and generous with his time, even managing to find some Aeroguard for us when the rest of the island had sold out!

Each morning we received a continental breakfast that had a choice of cereal, yoghurt, a croissant, bread, fruit and a range of jams/spreads. We found this to be sufficient for most of the day and usually just had breakfast and dinner.

Vane was more than happy/willing to organise tours for us, take us around the island (when we didn’t have a car, or the distance was too long to make use of the complimentary bikes).

We went out for dinner seven of the 12 nights we were there; the others were a mix of eating stuff we had bought locally and using the BBQ to cook food delivered from Koru Café.

There was snorkelling gear and kayaks available, but we didn’t think the beach was the nicest for snorkelling – the water was a bit shallow. That said, having our own private pool and spa was fantastic, and certainly something I don’t think many of the other accommodation options had.

Overall, we had a great, relaxing time and would certainly come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have just returned from a perfect double stay in Cook Islands - three nights at the Little Polynesian at Rarotonga, and four nights at Aitutaki Escape. This place is fantastic. 3 high quality villas on the beach - 2 x 1 bedrooms, and 1 x 2 bedroom. Each have their own private pool - a big bonus, as the lagoon out the front is great to look at, but not fantastic to snorkel in. A great kitchen and an outdoor BBQ means you can kick back and do your own meals if you want while watching the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. Enough has been said about the villas already - but everyone is right. They are the best on the island, and the photos do not do justice to them.

We went to some of the other resorts for meals and a look around, and I just don't understand why you would go there. Going to Aitutaki is about getting away from it all and enjoying the feel of this magical island. It is a step back in time from the world we are used to - to a time when people were all friendly and waved to you wherever you went to say hello, and the pace of the world was a whole lot slower and more enjoyable. I am not sure how going to a property with 20 or 30 others and staying within a resort for the whole time gives you this feel. But each to their own.

As for the staff - they just cannot do enough for you. Oa, who met us at the airport and assisted us at all times through our stay was delightful and fantastic. Ioane and Lily, the owners, were very visible. Lily runs things back on Raro from a contact perspective. Emails were promptly responded to with thoughts and ideas, and Ioane was there at reception to ensure everything went to plan once we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. Oa was always offering to drive us to dinners, suggesting places to eat or reef cruises (by the way - book the Black Pearl for an excellent snorkelling trip). You could see that their aim was to make our stay as pleasant as possible, and they achieved this.

For those going to Aitutaki - you need to think differently to enjoy it. Just slow down, don't get ruffled by little things. There is no all night entertainment. There is peace and quiet, and a sky at night filled with stars that look like they are an arms length away. Food does cost a bit - but understand why - that is because once a month they have a ship drop supplies off at cost, or they are dropped in by plane at higher cost. Service at restaurants is island style - orders at restaurants do get messed up, bills can be wrong, but relax and move to Aitutaki time - don't try to move them to yours. None of it is intentional. Also, remember the Aerogard. Take bug spray and have it with you all the time. And, it doesn't hurt to bring a couple of bottles of wine if you are so inclined. Sitting out on the deck above the beach as the sun sets with your partner and enjoying a glass of wine, you feel your blood pressure dropping and work issues dissolving away into the level of interest that should remain while on this beautiful island. And yes, while there is Internet available - why?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed in the Ultimate Villa at Aitutaki Escape for 5 beautiful nights in September 2011. We found the photos on the website just didn't do it justice. When we arrived we were amazed at the size and furnishings of the villa. After we were settled in we had lunch at Cafe Koru, which was the best lunch I had the whole trip! Bikes were provided by Aitutaki Escape however we preferred the Mo-ped to get around quickly and easily ($25 a day, and you can get a licence from the Police office for $7.50!). To give you an understanding of what Aitutaki Escape includes: Aitutaki Escape has 3 villas (Two one bedroom villas and one 2 bedroom Villa) and is not linked to a restaurant. The 1 bedroom villas have a pool and spa in the backyard, however the 2 bedroom (Ultimate Villa) has a larger pool in the backyard and a spa looking out over the ocean. For us, the spa looking out over the ocean, watching the sunsets every afternoon was the best. I received a sarong upon arrival and we enjoyed the complimentary fresh fruit, wine and snacks. The bedroom in the Ultimate two bedroom villa looked out over the ocean, and had curtains for more privacy (However, the beach was very private anyway, with barely any people walking by. The bathroom and shower were huge and had an outdoor feel. We also enjoyed having a range of Dvds to watch throughout our stay from reception. We enjoyed Kayaking and a bit of snorkelling right off our villa however the snorkelling was much better in Rarotonga or on a the lagoon cruise we went on. At Aitutaki we loved deep sea fishing (our guide ended up cooking up our catch for us for lunch-this was delicious). We also explored the Island on the Moped which was fun. We received meal vouchers with our deal at Escape so each night we booked in for dinner at one of the Island's restaurants. This was a great way to explore the island and try a range of menus. Way better than having to eat off the one menu every night. Our fav restaurant was Tupuna's! On another topic, the staff at Escape were lovely, Thanks to Oa, Vane and Joanne for making our stay so comfortable. I would recommend Aitutaki Escape if you're looking for luxury accommodation for your stay in the Cook Islands. It was the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Secluded, quiet, private, relaxing, these are all words that spring to mind when thinking about the villas at Aitutaki Escape. From the private garden courtyard with a pool, to the deck on the beach side, the facilities are set to make for a totally relaxing holiday. We stayed for a week but wished we could have stayed longer as Ioane,Lilly and Oa made our holiday that extra bit special. From organizing dinner reservations and lagoon cruises to making sure that we were happy with our villa, nothing was too much trouble. We definately feel that we have found paradise on earth! The villa was luxurious and beautifully decorated and had all the modern conveniences. Sitting watching the gorgeous sunsets at night with a glass of wine while the whales slipped by just off the reef was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strathmorefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Escape

Property: Aitutaki Escape
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aitutaki Escape 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Escape is a boutique beachfront property with just 3 private beautifully appointed spacious and luxurious Villas, all fully air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach and lagoon. Each Villa has a private courtyard featuring a swimming pool, beachfront decks and boardwalks, full kitchen facilities, very spacious interiors, king size beds, lavish bathrooms, complimented with genuine Cook Islands hospitality, service and meticulous attention to detail. An onsite Cafe offers food and beverage experiences daily and all excursions and tours offered on Aitutaki are arranged conveniently onsite. This property is regarded as the leading Luxury property for Aitutaki with full focus on delivering premiere experiences via its services and facilities and throughout Aitutaki. Aitutaki Escape boasts authentic Polynesian elegance and offers its guests a secluded and safe haven to leave the rest of the World behind......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aitutaki Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Escape Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Escape South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing