We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in the middle of the Pacific”
Review of Aitutaki Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aitutaki Escape
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A hidden gem in the middle of the Pacific”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

WOW, what a place. I was fortunate enough to go to the Cook Islands as part of a work trip so had no idea what accommodation had been booked for me and wanted to keep it a surprise. Needless to say I wasn't disappointed with my beach-front, two bedroom luxury villa. Vane, the owner, had done a lot of world-wide research to inform his designs. He's paid a huge amount of attention to detail and nothing had been forgotten. Everything in the villa was top quality and Vane really looked after us during our stay, nothing was too much trouble. He booked a restaurant for us and then when we bumped into us in the same place, he even gave us a lift home.

The welcome pack of juice and snacks including fresh coconut water was a nice gesture and we enjoyed them while we soaked up the sun in the private plunge pool during one afternoon. Then we took out the push bikes which were also complimentary and the easiest form of transport for getting around the cute little island. I've stayed in a lot of nice places around the world but this one was by far the best, I will definitely be back. Whether you're with friends or on your honeymoon, this is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
134
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have have been lucky enough to have traveled to many stunning places in the world, including Hawaii, Tahiti and Bora Bora, staying in some excellent accommodation.
The Aitutaki escape surpasses them all.
A SUPERB welcome and hosting throughout the stay by Vane the owner, brilliant staff, the accommodation is simply stunning along with the location.
The villa comes with its own private pool, jacuzzi, deck right out to the waters edge on a very quite beach.
The villa is complete luxury and kept spotlessly clean by the lovely staff.
In all we would highly recommend a stay there and will be back soon ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had an awesome time at Aitutaki Escape. The villas are incredible - beautiful, atmospheric with many natural elements, much privacy, wonderful service, with pool and spa, beautiful views at the sunset - and a very helpful and friendly owner. It was just perfect and we could have stayed for months (or even years....;))!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Great place, great staff, great hospitality and Vane (the manager) was fantastic! We can't speak highly enough about the attention to detail and the hospitality that was offered during our 5 night stay there. The rooms were of a high standard and the views and sunset where amazing! I would highly recommend that if you are after something special, this is the place to go to!

The only negative was that we had to leave and go back to the cold!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoo-Kini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Aitutaki Escape as part of our honeymoon, and of course ended up wishing we could have stayed forever! Our villa was amazing, and Vane and Lily were the most fantastic hosts. From our first sunset on our private deck to our last glimpse of the heavenly lagoon, we felt so relaxed and at ease, and all our needs were expertly looked after by Vane and the staff.
I loved the attention to detail in the villas, the 'outdoors-in feel' in the ensuite, and the fact that at any time there are never more than 10 people in the whole property. This place has all the luxuries of a big resort: huge comfy bed, air con, private plunge pool, jacuzzi, sunset views, daily breakfast delivered to your immaculate, well-appointed kitchen; but maintains its boutique appeal with the friendly, personal service Vane offers, and the privacy afforded by its location away from town and the bigger resorts.
It really is the ultimate escape! The most perfect end to a wonderful holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 3 nights over-there for our honeymoon and this is one of the most beautiful days of our life. We had the chance to stay in the main villa that has his own jacuzzi and a bedroom with a sea view. Staff if very kind and you definitely have to get in touch with Vane, the owner and manager, that has helped us for our 4 days, for delivering us the best at any time! His staff is also very nice and staying is Aitutaki Escape looks like to have his own private villa and is so different than staying in a resort. Beach is absolutely gorgeous, Sunset in front of the terrace fantastic, especially if you have the chance to see some whales swimming in front of you when you are drinking a last drink :-) There is not a lot of words to describe this awesome villa you will never forget ! Enjoy and do not hesitate more than one second before to book to join this private paradise !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katanoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My partner and I are just back from spending 10 days in total in the Cook Islands with the best 3 nights spent in the Aitutaki Escape villas. I had high expectations from the pictures but thankfully the villas lived up to and beyond what I had imagined. Vane, the manager, was kind, friendly and extremely helpful, going out of his way at any opportunity to make our stay as easy and as enjoyable as possible. Now the important bits... kitchen was fully equipped, views were amazing, location on the beach was fantastic, free kayak/cycle use not to mention the pool and hot tub which was clean and well kept. We enjoyed every minute and wouldn't hesitate to recommend especially to a couple wanting a bit of luxury with some privacy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlsgAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Escape

Property: Aitutaki Escape
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aitutaki Escape 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Escape is a boutique beachfront property with just 3 private beautifully appointed spacious and luxurious Villas, all fully air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach and lagoon. Each Villa has a private courtyard featuring a swimming pool, beachfront decks and boardwalks, full kitchen facilities, very spacious interiors, king size beds, lavish bathrooms, complimented with genuine Cook Islands hospitality, service and meticulous attention to detail. An onsite Cafe offers food and beverage experiences daily and all excursions and tours offered on Aitutaki are arranged conveniently onsite. This property is regarded as the leading Luxury property for Aitutaki with full focus on delivering premiere experiences via its services and facilities and throughout Aitutaki. Aitutaki Escape boasts authentic Polynesian elegance and offers its guests a secluded and safe haven to leave the rest of the World behind......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aitutaki Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Escape Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Escape South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing