We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aitutaki's "Greatest Escape"”
Review of Aitutaki Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aitutaki Escape
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I can't express in only 200 characters how great the Aitutaki Escape truly is . . . The accomodations are luxurious and probably the most generous on all of Aitutaki. The westerly view is fabulous, especially for sunsets. Despite several summer days of wind and rain, our villa (1BR #2) was home away from home, we used the plunge pool, the hot tub, the kitchen and the big screen tv/movies to pass time under the weather and between amazing fishing trips (Foxy Lady Charters- Jason/Don) and an unforgetable lagoon tour (Teking Tours.) But above all else, the beauty, the great fishing, the amazing lagoon, our host Vane Henry made our vacation remarkable. My wife and I have travelled and met many friendly people in polynesia, but none as friendly and caring as Vane. Vane's attention to your stay and happiness is far beyond anything we've ever experienced. You won't just leave an Island, you'll leave a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBenja5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and me think that Aitutaki island is a paradise, and much due to the Escape. Vane - the manager - has made our stay simply delightfull. Only 3 villas, no restaurant and common faciilities (but they have wifi internet for a charge, DVD library for free and a tasty breakfast served in our villa)/ Vane advised on every aspect of our stay: which restaurant to choose (Tupuna is the best), best lagoon cruises, scooter rental, sea-fishing (we managed to catch a 13kilo yellow fins tuna with Mike and had the best freshiest sashimi and other 2 course dinner right after), etc.
The villa was huge, with a separate bed-room, spa bath (but didn't have time to use it!!!!), large sitting room with a kitchen, a terrace overlooking the ocean.
You have kayaks right at the Escape, but the only issue that the tide was low and for snorkelling, swimming and kayaking you have to go to other nearest islands on a cruise.
We explored the whole island on a scooter (the whole circle take an hour) and found it very convinient and romantic, as we usually live in a huge city with heavy traffic...we really escaped from any worries and troubles we had in our minds and these 5 days on Aitutki made the highlight of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrey_Egorov_TEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Breathtaking, Stunning Decor and what a surprise...everything that it was represented to be in every piece of advertising and booking information. Escape truly was a sight difficult for our eyes to absorb initially. Nothing more could have been included in this Villa, everything as been thought of and more. Cleanliness and comfort have been made a priority for Vane to provide to the guests of the Escape villas. Breakfast served each day was fresh and prepared with care. The most comfortable bed ever slept in, in all of our travels over the years! Hiring a scooter is definitely recommended for ease of getting around to restaurant locations and much more reasonable than hiring the local taxi each trip. Koru cafe had by far the best food available for lunch, Pacific Resort not too bad for dinner. We have travelled to different tropical islands each year, this one has ticked all the boxes. This is one for us to recommend with supreme confidence, to family and friends. We wish all future guests the joy of such a beautiful and relaxing holiday, you will want for nothing more. Thank you Vane! Cindy & Paul Cataldo

Room Tip: One bedroom villa for a couple is supremely elegant and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We spent 5 days in villa 1 and can only agree with what so many other have written. A wonderful place on a beautify island! Vane and his crew did everything to make our stay just perfect. A special thank you for the birthday arrangements with the house decorated with flowers, a fantastic dinner buffet and the entertainment with a band playing traditional music and young women and men performing dances.
The Dohrn family

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanDohrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I don't even know where to start with our vacation at Aitutaki Escape. The villa is perfectly designed and decorated. We were constantly in awe of the attention to detail at every point during our stay. When we arrived there were fresh flowers everywhere that smelled amazing. There was a very generous gift basket full of snacks and beverages. The kitchen is fully stocked with all you need for cooking and eating. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. You have your own pool, jacuzzi and lounge area on one side and then another lounge and dining area looking out on the ocean. It is a public beach so people can walk by but it was so infrequent (i.e. one every couple hours) that we could care less. You can walk right out to the beach and there are kayaks for each villa. Although there is not restaurant on site, they can arrange for food to be brought in and we didn't mind scooting around the island for dinner.

The service was absolutely top notch, which we attributed to the owner Vane who was so warm, friendly and helpful. My husband and I have traveled around Asia, the US, Caribbean and Europe - Aitutaki Escape is hands down the nicest place we have ever stayed. Highly, highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mischa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved the quiet solitude. The villas were large, clean, well laid out, the private pool was lovely. If you want somewhere to unwind and relax this is your place. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I hardly know where to start. We cant wait to go back. My husband and i have traveled to many places and most were wonderful but we were ready to try something new and different after each except after spending 6 days in our 1 bedroom Villa at Aitutaki Escape in September. This time we knew for sure we were coming back and not for a measly 6 days next time. Our Villa exceeded our expectations and there were so many things to do that the only disappointment was that we didn't allow more time to enjoy our "home". Everything was more beautiful than we imagined and spotless. The private pool and hot tub were so beautiful and relaxing with all the flowers and waterfall. I so much enjoyed a single free afternoon buzzing on my scooter to the town market and getting some fresh local grown watermelon and fresh baked pastries and sunbathing by my own pool while having my snacks after the best massage I've ever had and thinking I must have died and gone to heaven (my husband was also having his dream day Bonefishing whatever :-)) We never knew where we wanted to sit in the house. Should we sit on our private deck outside looking over the ocean or in our beautiful comfy living room where we can see everything or best of all just lay in our bed where we have full view of our garden and pool and can see the trees and hilltops. But I've saved the best for last and that is the people of Aitutaki and their smiles and friendliness and especially Vane Henry our Host and wonderful friend for the time we were there. He did absolutely everything above and beyond and in the sweetest most humble way possible. Aitutaki Escape would not be what it is without him I truly believe. He made our trip a forever wonderful memory that is like a drug and we will be back for more. Thank you Vane ! Love From Rod and Celeste

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
935 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Escape

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £581 - £997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aitutaki Escape 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Escape is a boutique beachfront property with just 3 private beautifully appointed spacious and luxurious Villas, all fully air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach and lagoon. Each Villa has a private courtyard featuring a swimming pool, beachfront decks and boardwalks, full kitchen facilities, very spacious interiors, king size beds, lavish bathrooms, complimented with genuine Cook Islands hospitality, service and meticulous attention to detail. An onsite Cafe offers food and beverage experiences daily and all excursions and tours offered on Aitutaki are arranged conveniently onsite. This property is regarded as the leading Luxury property for Aitutaki with full focus on delivering premiere experiences via its services and facilities and throughout Aitutaki. Aitutaki Escape boasts authentic Polynesian elegance and offers its guests a secluded and safe haven to leave the rest of the World behind......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aitutaki Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Escape Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Escape South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing