We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Escape”
Review of Aitutaki Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aitutaki Escape
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I decided on Aitutaki Escape after reading favourable comments on TA, and we were not at all disappointed with our choice!

From the moment we stepped off the plane, Vane (the Manager) took wonderful care of us. Because we took an unexpected early flight from Rarotonga, our villa was not quite ready, so Vane delivered us to the nearby Koru Cafe where we could relax over an iced coffee. However, it was not long before he returned to collect us. He first took us on a short drive around the village so we could familiarise ourselves, and he made recommendations as to where we could find various facilities such as restaurants and ATM machines etc.

Upon stepping through the solid wooden gate into the high-walled courtyard is a decent sized swimming pool, and a little further, a hot tub/jacuzzi. A little further along to the front door we noticed a "waterfall wall" which can be turned on or off as you wish. The villa itself is amazing, as others have described -- very modern, and clean, which the housekeeping girls did a great job of maintaining each day.

Beyond the villa and only a few more steps away, is the lagoon itself, and a couple of kayaks are provided for personal use. There is also a nice bbq on the deck, although we did not use it.

Whilst there is a good sized TV in the villa, there is no access to any television channels, however Vane has a good selection of DVDs or you can bring your own, which we did, then left them with Vane for other guests to view. (Not that one goes to Aitutaki to watch tv - although being able to keep up with world news now and again would have been nice). The kitchen is well equipped with full size fridge, microwave oven, hotplates and dishwasher. A very minor complaint is that clear in-room instructions on how to use appliances (particularly the tv set-up for the technically-challenged like us, and the microwave) would have been helpful, even though Vane is always available to answer any questions as to their operation.

The king-sized bed is super comfy and comes with mosquito netting which Vane recommended using at night. It only takes one mossie to spoil a night's sleep! The bathroom area is lovely, with the huge shower section having glassed in roof and wall, but extremely private. Complimentary l'Occitane toiletries are a nice luxury touch.

Breakfast is provided at the time you nominate and consists of cereal of your choice, fresh fruit: paw-paw was in season when we were there, and it had to be the best I've ever tasted, beautiful big sweet passionfruit, fresh coconut (yum - I could not get enough of this!!) beautiful brown and white breads and/or croissants, plus jam. You also have a choice of fruit juice or banana smoothie. Tea and coffee are always available. Vane also provided fresh whole coconut which had been punctured to insert a drinking straw. I only wish I'd had a hammer to break them open for the flesh!

Tiny mosquito fish in the retention channel of the waterfall wall eagerly take care of any stray mossies - although do remember to bring plenty of repellent (the villa is equipped with mosquito coils which are very effective).

We are both in our sixties, with varying health problems, and Vane took good care our of our comfort and well-being, which we really appreciated.

As far as peace and quiet go, Aitutaki Escape is perfect, e.x.c.e.p.t for a nearby rooster who decided to announce his presence, causing all the others to do the same :-) A couple of nights we could hear loud music, but it wasn't really a bother.

The island itself is a very authentic Polynesian experience -- no cheesy souvenir shops or t-shirts here! Be sure to pop into the white church if you are there on a Sunday, but please be discreet when taking photographs.

Whilst many choose to use complimentary bicycles or hire a motor scooter during their stay at the Escape, we chose to hire a small car at Vane's recommendation. Some form of transport is necessary to get around the island at your convenience, as well as visiting various restaurants etc.

Vane's advice was invaluable to us. He organised a private visit to One Foot Island (take your passport for 'official' stamp) and some of the other small motus of the lagoon for snorkelling.

All-in-all we would definitely stay at Aitutaki Escape again without hesitation. We both wish Vane & Lily well for their plans for expansion, and thank them for their hospitality.

Room Tip: There are only three villas and as far as we could tell, they are all of a similar standard, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixie_Newcastle_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first visit to Aitutaki we wanted to treat ourselves to nice accommodation in this stunning part of the world. Thanks to other tripadvisor reviews my partner a made the best decision in book booking at the Aitutaki Escape. You get what you pay for and this was certainly value for money worth every cent we weren't disappointed at all.

Firstly the owners Vane and his wife Lily are genuinely nice and very hospitable people. Awesome communication prior to our arrival and outstanding customer service throughout our stay - nothing was ever a problem and they have fantastic knowledge of the area giving reliable recommendations.

The villas are luxurious, private, spacious and have all the amnesties you'd expect. In fact it exceeded our expectations - A picture speaks a thousand words so check out my photos! It was so nice to have both a pool to swim in during the day and a spa pool to relax in at night. The villa is situated on the beach to enjoy breath taking sunsets at night out over the lagoon.

If your looking for somewhere private, unique and exclusive away from the other crowds on holiday then I can highly recommend Aitutaki Escape.


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Pure Luxury and Relaxation

Wow, what can I say about this place except it is pretty perfect accommodation to stay at in beautiful Aitutaki. We stayed a total of seven wonderful nights in the Ultimate Villa. From the moment we arrived we were greeted at the airport and whisked off to our accommodation. Vane met us there and from the very start we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Vane took us for a quick drive around the town and pointed out the best spots to eat and where to pick up any necessities. Vane your attention to detail and passion for your wonderful villas that you have created makes this place just as wonderful as the beautiful accommodation. There was never any hassle in helping us organise tours for our time there and one night offered to drop us off and pick us up to a restaurant due to some heavy rain – which wasn’t scooter friendly.

The villa itself is everything you would want for a luxurious and well appointed villa. The location is to die for with the views on the sunset side of the island. It felt very private and it was lovely to open up the big doors and just chill out and relax without a care in the world. The villa also has a very nice kitchen if you feel like cooking in one night, and also has a barbeque. The koru café which is very popular and does BBQ packs that you can order to cook in your villa, however we didn’t try this as we decided to eat out most nights. Books, magazines, DVD’s are all available for use, and we found the one day that there was not going to be any action due to heavy rain we enjoyed the day of watching movies on the big TV or reading a book to having a spa out on the deck in the rain. The bathroom is very spacious and lovely with his and her basins and really nice L’Occitane toiletries provided. Fresh towels plus extra for beach towels for use if you decide to do some snorkelling.

There is plenty of spots to lounge around in the villa from the two reclining chairs on the front deck platform that takes you down to the lagoon, to the deck itself and in the garden area. The furniture was so comfortable and we found ourselves constantly drifting off on the lounge with the fresh breeze blowing in.

The lagoon itself is so magical, if you want to have a swim all you need to do is go out the villa on to the beach, turn left and walk up about 400 metres there is a dug out section that is really nice for a dip. The villa provides snorkelling gear and reef shoes as well and you can snorkel around in high tide in this area, we saw lots of beautiful fish. Recommend that you get a scooter or car to get around the island, breakfast is provided which is huge and plentiful, but lunch and dinner is not. For dinner there are places that will pick you up and drop you off as well. The villa also had a compendium full of things to do and it is a must to go on a snorkelling trip, visit some of the islands and spend a half day their on your own, we also did a cultural trip which was really interesting. If you want a place where you can switch off from the world and totally wind back and forget the hectic pace of life this is certainly the place to do it. We have stayed at other places in the pacific in this price range and this by far is the most beautiful we have stayed at.

Vane and Lily this is such a wonderful place thank you for making our stay wonderful and very memorable we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lentil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

From the moment we arrived the personal attention was beyond expectation. The staff were attentive and extremely polite, Vane, who is the owner, went out of his way to ensure our stay was the most enjoyable experience you could have. The 4 days there felt like a month, the facilities are outstanding, the setting was amazing, you could not grow tired of the place. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Thank you Vane & Lily for a wonderful relaxing 4 day stay, with a very well appointed Villa & exceptional hospitality. The Villa was so comfortable that we didnt want to leave to come home.
This would be the most enjoyable stay we have had in the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUpton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from three nights of absolute bliss. From being met at the airport by owner/manager Vane who gave us a personal guided tour of the most breathtaking island of Aitutaki to presenting us with the most awesome Villas we have ever stayed in, the precision put into the comfort and design of these villas were second to none. We can not say enough positive things about this little gem of a place other than "Try it for yourselves people, you wont regret it". We have been married for 21 years but felt like we were on our second honeymoon from the time we opened the front door of our Villa, Vane's personal service was above and beyond what we ever expected. He organised our outings, hire car was delivered, taxied us to our Island Night etc etc etc. and what a wonderful bonus that he shared with us his personal stories of growing up in the Cook Islands. Thankyou for the beautiful memories we have bought home with us and that will stay with us and keep doing what your doing. Kia Orana

Room Tip: there a three villas and we stayed in villa no 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 days at Aitutaki Escape and loved every minute. Vane the owner is an exceptional host and his knowledge of the island and activities meant that we were never short of things to see and do. And the luxury accom from your own spa pool to your own swimming pool then literally meters to the beach meant we were in constant heaven. We stayed in Villa 3 ( I think there are only 3 in total) was perfect. So for those looking for a perfect holiday in Aitutaki look no further!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
934 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Escape

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £578 - £994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aitutaki Escape 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aitutaki Escape is a boutique beachfront property with just 3 private beautifully appointed spacious and luxurious Villas, all fully air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach and lagoon. Each Villa has a private courtyard featuring a swimming pool, beachfront decks and boardwalks, full kitchen facilities, very spacious interiors, king size beds, lavish bathrooms, complimented with genuine Cook Islands hospitality, service and meticulous attention to detail. An onsite Cafe offers food and beverage experiences daily and all excursions and tours offered on Aitutaki are arranged conveniently onsite. This property is regarded as the leading Luxury property for Aitutaki with full focus on delivering premiere experiences via its services and facilities and throughout Aitutaki. Aitutaki Escape boasts authentic Polynesian elegance and offers its guests a secluded and safe haven to leave the rest of the World behind......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aitutaki Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Escape Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Escape South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing