We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bonefishing”

Bonefish - E2's Way
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take up the challenge of the monster Bonefish of Aitutaki with renowned Bonefish Guide, Itu Davey. The beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon is home to the worlds largest Bonefish. For fly fishermen seeking the challenge of a lifetime the 'ghost of the flats' presents one of the most thrilling angling opportunities available. The huge bonefish (kiokio) of Aitutaki Lagoon can be a real challenge to catch, Itu's extensive knowledge of the flats and legendary fish spotting ability help tip the odds in your favour.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bonefishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Itu & his crew couldn't be more helpful & dedicated to getting their clients onto fish & were great fun to be afloat with every day

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Steve333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent day fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Bone fishing at Aitutaki with Etu was the reason we came to Aitutaki it was on my husband's bucket list. According to my husband there is nothing like fly fishing for a Bonefish if you are a real fisherman. I know he had a fantastic day - you couldnt wipe the grin off his face!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cracking day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

mid-July trip was outstanding with Rua and Victor. A wide variety of bonefishing environments and a few fish landed despite the wind.

Highly recommended!! Should have booked 2 days!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simoncaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A dream come true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Paired up with Etu's brother Rua as my guide. His ability to spot the bonefish was amazing, and even though my casting was not as fine tuned as it could be, I had managed to catch one bonefish before lunch. We stopped at one foot island for lunch followed by drift fishing along the banks where I caught another three bones which one was over ten pounds. Rua' s patience and excellent guidance was outstanding. Rua offered me some great advice on casting and his quiet and gentle personality made for a enjoyable and unforgettable trip. Etu and his family are all involved, and are all warm and welcoming. Any keen fisherman should put this on their to do list. As the locals tell us, 'the best eyes on the island'

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They know what they are doing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Itu knows the fish and is always changing things up to give you the best shot at catching one. He saw some GTs swimming by while we were trying for bonefish and handed my popper rod over quickly so I could cast and nail one. Also got a nice bonefish. The conditions that day were a little tough but we got some nice fish and broke off some others.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonefish - E2's Way also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Bonefish - E2's Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing