We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local hospitality at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puffy's

Puffy's
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local hospitality at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you want to meet an awesome couple and enjoy their fresh and tasty fish dishes - look no further. I would recommend the local parrot fish if you are having fish and chips. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    91
    31
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very nice people. Good food. Relaxed atmosphere. One of two places that had ketchup and tarter sauce

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a charming little mom and pop operation that dishes up the best fish and chips we found. Fish isn't over-breaded or greasy, and the fries are always fresh and hot. The side salad is also delicious with a light and subtle dressing. Beer and wine also available. Not a bad thing to say about this place. The owners are charming and friendly, too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ripharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stroll in off the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Puffy's was on my list before I even got to the island as I'd heard about it before leaving.
$12 got you awesome fish and chips, with a relaxed dine-in spot looking out into the lagoon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ObscureSerenity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple but scrummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Went to puffy's for dinner and got the fish and chips with salad. Easily the best fish and chips I have tasted and the salad was so delicious I wish I had room for more (and I'm not a salad lover at all).
Excellent value for money as well.
The atmosphere wasn't amazing. The day we were there there were lots of kittens running around, which sounds lovely but in reality is a bit off putting.
Also instead of bringing the meal to you they just sort of yell at you that it's ready. We found this more amusing than anything else. The couple seemed lovely though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puffy's also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Puffy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing