We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location, great people”
other travellers have booked this property
Your view from the balcony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view from the balcony!
Amazing panoramic view of lagoon from front decking View from living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Your view from the balcony!
Amazing panoramic view of lagoon from front decking
View from living room
View from kitchen
Kitchen & lounge area
Modern Kitchen
lounge
Decking
View from decking
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Shower
Storage in bedrooms
Decking
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

406Jill
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house, great location, great people”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this house and had a fantastic time fishing, swimming, relaxing and enjoying the lagoon. There were three adults in our group and the house was perfect for us. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and we enjoyed grilling fresh tuna on the shared grill. If we wanted to eat out, we had multiple places just steps away. Rima and Richard are excellent hosts. We would highly recommend this house and we hope to be back!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChJeanner...
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise on Aitutaki on the best location of the Island”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed 8 days in paradise in Villa Ootu on Aitutaki. Theres is everiting you need in the house. Restaurants and a caffe is just minutes away. The ville is on THE BEST Place of the Island. The owner Richard and Rima his beautiful girlfriend are such lovely hosts. They are helpful for all our questiens. We thank them so much much for everything we could explore and get in touch with the people living on the island. The fissing trip was adventurous and a livetime experience. The barbecue was just delicious! Best holidays for a long time!

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa is on the best location of the island! The hosts are so friendly and helpful and made us such lovely holidays! Thank you so much!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
80PeterC8...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing location - great cabin !”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We put a lot of time into researching our accommodation at Aitutaki and were rewarded with a fantastic experience. Having rented a scooter to explore the island whilst there, I can confirm that we feel this is the best location available for a holiday on Aitutaki.
It is perfect for young kids, with a safe, shallow, and crystal clear swimming channel just metres from the cabin, allowing us to sit on the deck if we chose and still supervise the kids. We travelled with a 9, 7, and 5 year old who just loved the area. Just beyond the channel is a huge permanent sandbar which is exposed at low tide to explore.
Although we brought in most of our own food to keep costs down, we made use of the nearby Samade bar and restaurant for afternoon drinks, and spent quite a few afternoons/ evenings at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa, just a 10 min walk away, open to non-staying guests by request.
Car and scooter hire is available within walking distance. Two of the major lagoon cruise operators leave from the beach within sight of the cabin. We also took a spin on Captain Ted's brand new Catermaran, again leaving from the beach out the front.
Rima, our host, acted as child minder for an adult evening at very reasonable rates. The kids loved the laid back and friendly care she provided, including a dusk crab hunt !

The cabin itself had everything we needed. Very modern and clean, it was roomy and comfortable. The large deck out front was perfect for relaxing and also drying out all our wet gear each day. About the only drawback was the sandflies and mozzies late arvo and early morning....take a large repellant spray.

A very memorable holiday.....will be back !!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Sandflies / mozzies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson NZ
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PrincessT...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Immaculate accommodation with a fabulous outlook to the beautiful lagoon”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to beautiful, warm and friendly Aitutaki. The turquoise lagoon, white sand, swaying coconut palms and welcoming locals adds up to the slice of heaven we learned to expect on our first visit.

This visit we spent the very relaxing 2 weeks based in the immaculate and well-appointed Ootu Beach Villa. Every day we lazed and read on the sun lounges on the villa's deck, watched the comings and goings of tour boats, snorkeling charters, kite surfers and fisherman casting flies on the lagoon flats or we crossed the quiet beach road for a swim and snorkel. Right in front of the villa we saw trevally and other lagoon fish. My partner fly-fished and caught bone fish and trevally on the lagoon flats in front of the villa as well hiring a bone fish guide for a day. He had brought his own rod from home and bought a local fishing permit).

We also hired a car from Popoara Rentals (walking distance from the villa) for a few days to buy in supplies as most of the shops are about 9km away near the wharf at Aritanga.

Our host Richard invited us to BBQs of seafood and local delicacies with his family and friends. We also ate at the Samade (50 meters down the road), at Puffy's, at Koru Cafe and at the wonderful Tupuna's (in the hire car).

When we didn't eat out we prepared our own meals in the villa's kitchen with fabulous freshly-caught fish (ask the locals where to get it) and locally-grown fruit and veggies available from Aitutaki market and Tauono's.

We also took a charter beyond the reef to line-fish for tuna in the inky-blue Pacific ocean and saw turtles, flying fish, frigate birds and ocean-going yachts sailing away, as well as the beautiful views back at the beautiful island of Aitutaki. I also went on an interesting cultural tour with Punarei Cultural Tour to learn about local traditions.

A little tip: the best sand-fly repellant was our neighbour Tom's homemade spray bottle of baby oil laced with Dettol!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accommodation with spectucular views everyday and eating local fresh food
Liked least: Sandflies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.