We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best island in the world, real paradise !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best island in the world, real paradise !”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me and my husband have been there 5 times and we absolutely love this resort!
If you are looking for dream tropical holiday this is the place!
1. This resort is located on the absolutely TOP location on Aitutaki Lagoon with plenty of amazing swimming spots, breathtaking views , perfectly clean and clear water with plenty of fish around,
2. The breakfast menu has improved a lot and I love it, fresh tropical fruit, freshly baked croissants, fresh juices...just perfect! The lunch and dinner menu is great and there is different menus through the week and food is excellent ( we have visited every restaurant,cafe on the island and The Aitutaki Lagoon resort & Spa offers the best food )
3. The overwater bungallows are the best in the world!! The joy to wake up to such a amazing breathtaking view and to jump into the crystal tirquoise water from the bed is just unreal...
4. There is a lot of activities on the island, kayaks, paddle boards, you can order a lunch and take on the kayak and you can have a lunch on one of the uninhabited, untouched tropical islands minutes away kayaking something me and my husband have dose so many times and we loved it!!
5. Every time me and my husband plan our next holiday we always end up coming back here because we know this is the best place for REAL holiday..
6. The resort manager Rose is very approachable and she truly cares for every guest on the island and I believe is managed perfectly by this wonderful big hearted lady that she is turning this resort year by year to such a wonderful place for us to enjoy on our holidays! Its not easy to run a resort on the middle of nowhere and to please all sorts of people but she is the one that holds this place and she is the goddess of this PARADISE!!
If you ever have any problem during your stay don't let little things to take this dream paradise away from you, speak to the resort manager and Im sure she will truly help you.
7. We will be coming back here, this place is in our hearts !
Thank you for always looking after us!!

Room Tip: every room on this island is magical, but if you can afford the overwater bungallow go for it ! plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Magdalena

“Welcome Home” and “Happy Anniversary”, it was wonderful to have you and Aleksandar back with us again, you both look so bless with married life.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience with everyone, you have inspired our team with greatness and pleasure, to have such wonderful guests enjoy our little part of the world.

We look forward to seeing you home soon; let me know if you need any assistance.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    201
    108
    66
    49
See reviews for
70
584
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for a week in October 2013 & had an amazing time. The lagoon & views are stunning, the staff were very friendly & helpful. The resort is set on its own Island with the best views of Aitutaki, There is water sports equipment available to use or you can choose to chill out in your hammock or visit the surrounding Island. Husband & teenage kids enjoyed scuba diving & overall we had a very relaxing week in a perfect part of the world! We would all definitely go again

Room Tip: Premium beachfront Bungalows have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Lisa K

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are glad that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy some of the activities that Aitutaki has to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Please contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We recently stayed in one of the Overwater Bungalows during our honeymoon. We had a fantastic time here and I would thoroughly recommend the resort. The island is beautiful and feels still quite natural as there are actually only a handful of bungalows. The views of the turquoise lagoon and the neighboring islands from the overwater balcony are stunning. The meals in the bar were good, the breakfast we ordered one morning was amazing. The only negative I'd have to mention would be that the approachability of some staff seemed rather poor. At first we thought that may just be the local mentality but there were plenty of other people who were very friendly and helpful (both here and in other places). But provided you don't let such things bother you, the Lagoon Resort is pretty much in paradise.

Room Tip: If you want to make use of some of the special dinners or other events, you may want to book those e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Sam S

“Congratulations”, thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We really appreciate this.

We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful honeymoon and have enjoyed what Aitutaki have to offer.

Thank you for your kind comments about the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. I can assure you that they are very happy to help in any way possible to make your stay comfortable with us, my sincere apologises for the others.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the very near future.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went over to Aitutaki to see if we would like to have our honey moon their we stayed 3 days the properly was just amazing and the view incredible. Our room was very tidy and lots of space we stayed in a garden room and had a bit of a beach view. We went in their quite season so not much was happening in the resort the bar was closed up early each night. We decided not to have our honey moon there because it was to quite for us but I do highly recommend this properly we would go back in a flash but would go over in there busy season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Donna R

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We would have been happy to offer a site inspection of all other room categories for your honeymoon if we had known.

I would be happy to extend our special returnee package to you both to celebrate your special occasion, please contact me directly resort.manager@aitutakilagoonresort.com if you require further information.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and the location and lagoon cannot be compared to anything we have ever stayed at. Forget that it is relatively expensive to stay there and the little resort store is a bit pricey but my goodness the lagoon is unbelievable! The food was good and the staff all were very friendly, rooms were as advertised. This is by no means a 5 star resort but the lagoon activities alone were 10 star! When there be sure to talk with the front desk and book a day long excursion with Bishops for a boat trip/lunch to One Foot Island, lots of snorkelling, visiting surrounding islands (most uninhabited) and a great lunch on One Foot. Be sure to take along your passport if you do this trip through Bishops as you can get a very unique passport stamp while at One Foot Island to remind you of a great holiday. We are going back to Rarotonga next March for our third time and we have made plans to revisit this resort for an over-nighter during a day trip up from Raro.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lagoon view not a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TanLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana TanLovers

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer here in Aitutaki.

Please contact me directly for a special returnee package and any other assistance you may require.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kind regards
Rose Kareroa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I had the pleasure of taking my family to Aitutaki in January. We stayed in several hotels on our visit to the cooks but the kids voted Aitutaki Lagoon Resort as their favourite.
They loved the fact that the resort is on its own island and you have to access it by boat.
Food was great and reasonably priced. Rooms are really nice and must have been recently built or renovated (kids loved the outdoor shower). Water sports equipment was included and we just generally had a really relaxing time.

I'de recommend this place to anyone, but there is a catch. Apparently Aitutaki Lagoon is going adults only in a couple of months time. The kids are gutted so it is lucky we got to stay there before it was too late!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Paul B

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

As of 1st April 2014 Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa will be adults only (16+ years of age), we like to thank all families for choosing us as your family holiday destination, and hope one day soon when all our children come of age will visit us again.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I arrived home today from staying in an overwater bungalow at this resort and depression has really set in!! My partner and I had the best time ever and didn't want to leave. Prior to going, we read most of the reviews on this site and had mixed feelings. We were hoping the negative reviews were written by well off people who expect everyone to cater to their every need. Now, having been there, I am sure they were!! I agree with the wedding photographer who posted a review stating that this place doesn't profess to be a 5 star resort. But, and a big but, it is well maintained, the staff are all delightful (It doesn't hurt to be the first to say hello), the food is good and the scenery is what dreams are made of. I didn't think anything could be prettier than the lagoon around the resort, but having gone on a lagoon cruise, the water is even better further out. The prices are a bit steep ($7 for a 1.25 litre of water at the resort, as opposed to $3.50 in town), but they are a remote group of islands who have lots shipped in. We went in the off season and occupancy was low. The weather was beautiful, rain at night and the odd shower that went as fast as it came. January is certainly a good month to visit. You can hire scooters or cars to traverse Aitutaki town, but if you prefer transport, a bus will take you for about $30NZ a couple return trip. The bar and restaurant close fairly early, which suited us, as we were so relaxed we went to bed early anyway. There were a couple of nights when we met up with other couples and tried to party, but the bar closed at 9.30pm. This may not happen in high season, but again, didn't worry us. If you want action, you can go into town and party. Just make sure you are back before 11pm or the ferry ride will cost $100. As for the reviewer who said the ferry driver was rude, did you make prior arrangements to dine at the resort..those of us who stayed there paid to have use of the ferry at any time. I found it a novel way to travel!! We will definitely go back again. My daughter just looked at our pics and will book a trip there in August with her boyfriend. We wont stay in an overwater bungalow again, as it is a bit out of our price range. This time was a bucket list trip. We loved the overwater, but any bungalow there would be perfect. LOVED LOVED LOVED the place, and the staff. Thank you Aitutaki resort xx

Room Tip: The island is small. All rooms are good. Just choose the one that suits your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jewel_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Jewel 58

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer.

Thank you for your kind comments about the efficiency and friendliness of our staff. I can assure you that they are very happy to help in any way possible to make your stay is as comfortable as possible while you were with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest, please contact me directly if you require any assistance.

We are happy to extend our hospitality onto your daughter should she choose to book with us for her August visit, she too is most welcome to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa South Pacific - Cook Islands
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing