We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
US$379
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$854
US$825
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Etu Moana(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aitutaki Escape(Aitutaki)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
377
227
119
70
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
227
119
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverwater bungalowflying boatactivities hutoutdoor showeraitutaki lagoon resortprivate islandmain islandcook islandsour honeymoonpremium beachfrontbeach bar and grillbeautiful locationfishone foot islandday tripbora borapaddle boards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I recently visited the Cook Islands on a work trip and this hotel was spectacular. I stayed in a beachfront villa and absolutely loved it. Bar closes early but the service and views are second to none. Would have my honeymoon here.
I recommend doing the vaka lagoon cruise with a hotel pick up whilst here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chasmaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose K, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Kia Orana Chasmaybank

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Great to hear that you loved your beachfront bungalow, hope with your busy schedule that you had the time to enjoy one of those magnificent sunsets in the evenings from your bungalow.

It would be our pleasure in welcoming you back to enjoy your honeymoon in heaven on our Private Island, Motu Akitua in the near future.

You can keep up to date in what’s happening on our little island by joining our Facebook readers by viewing our facebook resort page.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and will look forward to seeing you back again, email me if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This really is paradise. We stayed in a beach bungalow for our honeymoon. From the moment you are greeted at the boat you know you are in for something special. This resort is located on the most beautiful part of Aitutaki. There is so much to do if you can tear yourself away from the amazing views. Nothing is a problem here. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious. Love the outdoor showers!! We used one of their free bikes to explore a bit of the island but there are cars and scooters available to rent just down the road if you want to go a bit further. The resort has lots of activities on offer. Don't miss a lagoon cruise - they pick you up right from the resort. Its great staying at this resort as it is right in the lagoon. The fact that you have to take a wee boat ride to get there makes it all the more special and private.

Room Tip: all rooms have amazing views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark311327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose K, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Kia Orana Mark311327

Congratulations!!!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort is indeed blessed to be located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon.

We are very happy that you had a wonderful honeymoon and have enjoyed what Aitutaki have to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay here just last week for 6 of the best nights of my life. My husband planned a surprise for our 20th wedding anniversary and what a surprise it was. The moment you view this spectacular lagoon from the air you know you are headed for somewhere very special and unique. Aitutaki Lagoon resort is the only resort on it's own private island perched directly on the lagoon. You are greeted on a beautiful white raked sand beach and transported to your own island paradise of Akitua by boat across the most beautiful water you will every see. We stayed in one of the overwater bungalows and I have to say it is worth every cent!!!!! This was the most unique experience we have ever encountered going to sleep each night on our king size bed overlooking the serene lagoon and the beautiful night sky. Then there is the large balcony with your own private little deck so you can jump straight into the beautifully inviting lagoon below. When you get out you wash off in your own outdoor shower before you make your way back to your spacious bungalow. The outdoor shower was a treat - very private and what a wonderful experience . The restaurant was perched right over the lagoon. The food was delicious and there was plenty of seafood. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. On the night of our anniversary we ordered room service of the shared seafood platter for 2. The staff came and set up our outdoor table overlooking the lagoon with flowers, candles and the like and the platter itself was divine. It is by far the most relaxing and peaceful holiday we have ever had where we just STOPPED and appreciated the beauty around us. Our word of the week was 'RIDICULOUS' because we could not get over just how beautiful AITUTAKI is. It is by far the most picturesque and heavenly paradise we have every been fortunate enough to visit in our lifetime. So get out there and just see it and experience it for yourselves!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and go for an overwater bungalow - you will not regret it!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Kia Orana Vanessa

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Our staff will be pleased to know that you both enjoyed your 20th Wedding Anniversary Getaway experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the moment you arrive and have to jump on a boat to access the resort you know you have found somewhere special. The over water bungalow was outstanding. If you can't relax to the sounds of water lapping under your room or the views out over your balcony you are too hard to please. The outdoor shower was a great novelty and really made you feel as though you were on holidays. I was also surprised by the affordability of the food at the resort. Normally you expect to have the food ridiculously priced but considering the location we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were also very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We left vowing we would come back again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get an over water bungalow.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceygblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Kia Orana TB Brisbane

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future as our valued returnee guest.

Feel free to contact me if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Me and my husband have been there 5 times and we absolutely love this resort!
If you are looking for dream tropical holiday this is the place!
1. This resort is located on the absolutely TOP location on Aitutaki Lagoon with plenty of amazing swimming spots, breathtaking views , perfectly clean and clear water with plenty of fish around,
2. The breakfast menu has improved a lot and I love it, fresh tropical fruit, freshly baked croissants, fresh juices...just perfect! The lunch and dinner menu is great and there is different menus through the week and food is excellent ( we have visited every restaurant,cafe on the island and The Aitutaki Lagoon resort & Spa offers the best food )
3. The overwater bungallows are the best in the world!! The joy to wake up to such a amazing breathtaking view and to jump into the crystal tirquoise water from the bed is just unreal...
4. There is a lot of activities on the island, kayaks, paddle boards, you can order a lunch and take on the kayak and you can have a lunch on one of the uninhabited, untouched tropical islands minutes away kayaking something me and my husband have dose so many times and we loved it!!
5. Every time me and my husband plan our next holiday we always end up coming back here because we know this is the best place for REAL holiday..
6. The resort manager Rose is very approachable and she truly cares for every guest on the island and I believe is managed perfectly by this wonderful big hearted lady that she is turning this resort year by year to such a wonderful place for us to enjoy on our holidays! Its not easy to run a resort on the middle of nowhere and to please all sorts of people but she is the one that holds this place and she is the goddess of this PARADISE!!
If you ever have any problem during your stay don't let little things to take this dream paradise away from you, speak to the resort manager and Im sure she will truly help you.
7. We will be coming back here, this place is in our hearts !
Thank you for always looking after us!!

Room Tip: every room on this island is magical, but if you can afford the overwater bungallow go for it ! pleasures like this overwater room is priceless !!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Kia Orana Magdalena

“Welcome Home” and “Happy Anniversary”, it was wonderful to have you and Aleksandar back with us again, you both look so bless with married life.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience with everyone, you have inspired our team with greatness and pleasure, to have such wonderful guests enjoy our little part of the world.

We look forward to seeing you home soon; let me know if you need any assistance.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews