We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is awesome !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The view is awesome !”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights after spending a week in Rarotonga. The welcome as we came across on the ferry made us feel like royalty. The room was beautifully decorated with flowers throughout and the room itself was really nice. Our view from our room of the lagoon was so beautiful and we had a small deck with table and chairs plus there are loungers down on the beach you can use. That part of this resort was fantastic. The bar and hut staff were very friendly and helpful. The office staff were a different story - they didn't seem to want to promote Aitutaki as an island at all. Not helpful at all about any other places or activities on the main island... There was no info in your room so the office was the only place to get it and they were not wanting to share anything except for dinners and activities at their resort! As well as that the food at the resort is not that great when you are paying so much to stay here. Samades was across the way and the food was beautiful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Jenona

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

I am also pleased to hear that your welcome onto the island made you feel of royalty, allowing you to start your holiday on a fantastic note. Our conch shell welcome to our own private island is an experience in itself.

We are indeed blessed to be located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon with those majestic beautiful views.

Thank you for your comments on our Front Office staff, this will assist me with our follow up with the team for training.

We really appreciated your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    209
    109
    67
    50
See reviews for
72
596
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I travelled to the Cook Islands only last week. After a somewhat disappointing stay in Rarotonga we were hesitant as to what to expect in Aitutaki. We were completely blown out of the water! We arrived to a traditional welcome and private escort to our premium beachfront bungalow, which was mere meters from the most stunning lagoon I have ever seen.
The room was just beautiful. The bed was huge and comfortable. The outdoor shower I fell in love with. The decor, the floorboards, all of it just screamed true Polynesia. There were fresh flowers scattered all around the room.
The use of free equipment- kayaks, sail boats, paddle boards, snorkel gear was put to great use. We spent our days in the water or in the hammock.
The restaurant was fantastic. We were always warmly treated and the staff got to know us fondly as "ah room 16!". The food was always delicious and the chef was a lovely happy person!
The spa was relaxing and we were offered free couple hydrotherapy. Tropical breakfast was also included.
We had a private candlelight dinner with a brilliant 7 course degustation menu at a private location on the resort and our waiter was wonderful.
All the staff were friendly, always saying kia orana to us and wishing us a good day.
Our 6 nights spent here were pure bliss. When we return, there's no reason for us to even look at staying anywhere else! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikkigoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Tikkigoddess

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read your 6 nights with us was pure bliss and that you had a wonderful experience.

I have passed your review onto our team, they are so pleased and that they have asked to send you lots of Aitutaki Loving.

Feel free to contact me if you require any assistance in booking your next trip home as a valued return guest.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a slice of paradise! The location, in my experience, can only be met by Bora Bora. We stayed in a beach front cottage. Nicely done in the local style. The breakfast is ok, plenty of fresh fruit but not on a 4 or 5 star level. The restaurant has an unimaginative chef that complains about what is not available on the island, while completely ignoring the local delicious cuisine. You end up with overpriced bland European style food.The spa is a disappointment, no real expertise while charging as if you they know all about it. The staff is super friendly and the beach hut guys are super. Wonderful experience even just once in your life but for this kind of money, they should up the service. Go check out the competition.

Room Tip: all rooms are on the water, the choice is just lagoon or river, both are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Eva

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your stay with us, we really appreciate this.

Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa is indeed blessed to be the only resort located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon – our “Slice of Paradise”.

All our Beachfront Bungalows is situated along the beach of O’otu Channel and is greatly enjoyed by our guests due to the privacy, the location offers along with spectacular sunsets.

Our Bounty Brasserie breakfast menu offers a good range of breakfast favourites at competitive prices. Complimentary Tropical Breakfast Buffet to our in house guests, offers the following range of locally grown seasonal fruits, freshly baked pastries, a selection of cereals, juices, freshly picked nu (coconut juice) and a selection of hot beverages – variety of tea, and filtered or instant coffee. Our signature cooked “Akitua Big Breakfast” a popular dish on our breakfast menu, and some traditional favourites including pancakes and eggs cooked to your liking.

I am sorry to hear that your experience with our chef during your stay in November 2013 was "unimaginative", I would have been happy to meet with you than to answer any questions you may have had.

I can assure you our Spa therapists are qualified technicians in their field, and is one of our top rated staff by guest comments, I do apologise if our Spa therapist did not meet your expectations.

I m glad you found our staff super friendly and in special mention to our Activities team, Im sure they will be very happy.

Thank you again for taking the time in sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the near future

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

What a disappointing 25 year anniversary.
We both contracted gastro (which apparently was rampant on the island) and spent our whole stay there in bed unable to eat, drink or enjoy anything at the resort. Given that it was known that gastro was on the island (others had it at the resort at the same time and also the previous week), it would have been a courtesy if we were prewarned about this, so we could have taken something with us as a preventative measure. We didn't enjoy our stay at all and for us it was a great waste of money as the resort is certainly not cheap.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Dee2708

Hope you both are well.

It seems this gastro flu has slowed down and hopefully been put to sleep for good.

During the time when you contracted this flue it was at beginning stages where testings and procedure checks were checked to ensure all requirements were followed correctly, therefore we did not have anything concrete to report at the time.

We hope one day we would be able to welcome you back in the near future, please feel free to contact me if you require any assistance if you do decide to return.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I recently visited the Cook Islands on a work trip and this hotel was spectacular. I stayed in a beachfront villa and absolutely loved it. Bar closes early but the service and views are second to none. Would have my honeymoon here.
I recommend doing the vaka lagoon cruise with a hotel pick up whilst here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chasmaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose K, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Kia Orana Chasmaybank

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Great to hear that you loved your beachfront bungalow, hope with your busy schedule that you had the time to enjoy one of those magnificent sunsets in the evenings from your bungalow.

It would be our pleasure in welcoming you back to enjoy your honeymoon in heaven on our Private Island, Motu Akitua in the near future.

You can keep up to date in what’s happening on our little island by joining our Facebook readers by viewing our facebook resort page.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and will look forward to seeing you back again, email me if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This really is paradise. We stayed in a beach bungalow for our honeymoon. From the moment you are greeted at the boat you know you are in for something special. This resort is located on the most beautiful part of Aitutaki. There is so much to do if you can tear yourself away from the amazing views. Nothing is a problem here. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious. Love the outdoor showers!! We used one of their free bikes to explore a bit of the island but there are cars and scooters available to rent just down the road if you want to go a bit further. The resort has lots of activities on offer. Don't miss a lagoon cruise - they pick you up right from the resort. Its great staying at this resort as it is right in the lagoon. The fact that you have to take a wee boat ride to get there makes it all the more special and private.

Room Tip: all rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark311327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose K, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Kia Orana Mark311327

Congratulations!!!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort is indeed blessed to be located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon.

We are very happy that you had a wonderful honeymoon and have enjoyed what Aitutaki have to offer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay here just last week for 6 of the best nights of my life. My husband planned a surprise for our 20th wedding anniversary and what a surprise it was. The moment you view this spectacular lagoon from the air you know you are headed for somewhere very special and unique. Aitutaki Lagoon resort is the only resort on it's own private island perched directly on the lagoon. You are greeted on a beautiful white raked sand beach and transported to your own island paradise of Akitua by boat across the most beautiful water you will every see. We stayed in one of the overwater bungalows and I have to say it is worth every cent!!!!! This was the most unique experience we have ever encountered going to sleep each night on our king size bed overlooking the serene lagoon and the beautiful night sky. Then there is the large balcony with your own private little deck so you can jump straight into the beautifully inviting lagoon below. When you get out you wash off in your own outdoor shower before you make your way back to your spacious bungalow. The outdoor shower was a treat - very private and what a wonderful experience . The restaurant was perched right over the lagoon. The food was delicious and there was plenty of seafood. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. On the night of our anniversary we ordered room service of the shared seafood platter for 2. The staff came and set up our outdoor table overlooking the lagoon with flowers, candles and the like and the platter itself was divine. It is by far the most relaxing and peaceful holiday we have ever had where we just STOPPED and appreciated the beauty around us. Our word of the week was 'RIDICULOUS' because we could not get over just how beautiful AITUTAKI is. It is by far the most picturesque and heavenly paradise we have every been fortunate enough to visit in our lifetime. So get out there and just see it and experience it for yourselves!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and go for an overwater bungalow - you will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Kia Orana Vanessa

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Our staff will be pleased to know that you both enjoyed your 20th Wedding Anniversary Getaway experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
448 reviews
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa South Pacific - Cook Islands
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing