We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Auckland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the best location on Aitutaki, great free water activities. Sailing, kayaking and paddle boarding, fun!
Expensive wifi, and terrible food. Breakfast average, the one night we ate in the restaurant the meat was so tough it was not edible. Ate away from the hotel after this experience. Tamanu hotel has great food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary12Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    201
    108
    66
    49
See reviews for
70
584
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in was painful with a very abrupt lady telling everyone the rules and taking her time about it - 20 mins. She then took us to our room where she thought she would read out loud our note from management to congratulate us on our marriage and wish us a pleasant honeymoon - this was on our bed!!

The room was beautiful and kept very clean although towels were not always replaced when taken away by the cleaner so we were frequently left without.

The restaurant was overpriced for the poor quality food and unfriendly slow service - not sure why all the chairs are facing the same way either, very weird vibe in a dining room.

We were frequently reminded of the rules, for example when we asked for help booking a diving trip and told we should be doing this ourselves from our room.

We attended the management drinks when we first arrived and although we kept getting topped up with punch, nobody spoke with one another and there was no sign of the manger - who is she?!

The ground staff and cleaners always have a smile and a hello and the location is beautiful.

Room Tip: Although the beds in the beachfront bungalows are massive, it's 2 beds pushed together so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanno07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

An amazing place !.... the water really is the colour shown on the posters & adverts.
We had a lagoon facing bungalow & were blown away with the view & comfort.
Friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.
If you want to relax & laze.. this is the place.
A trip on the Vaka lagoon cruise is an excellent add on, otherwise the free beach equipment is there to be used.
If I had to criticize.. it would be that the wifi costs are exorbitant. The sister hotel on Raratonga has a far cheaper rate, & let's face it, we all need wifi. I would have thought free wifi would be a good draw card. Also we didn't meet Rose at the "Managers" meet & greet ?????????? Why ?????

Room Tip: An upgrade to a lagoon facing room is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week 7 years ago and on the guest comments card recommended that they take a bulldozer to the whole hotel and start all over again.!!
Was back there earlier today - we are not staying there for obvious reasons - and requested if we could have lunch at their restaurant as well as being able to have a swim in the lagoon there. From what I could see the hotel looked pretty empty with nobody visible on the beach. Their answer was NO and so they lost two meals as well as any chance of redeeming themselves. My question is how can a hotel adopt such a policy are they blind as well as dumb particularly as beaches in New Zealand are apparently not private.?? To summarise hotels which behave in this manner do not deserve your business nor to survive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights after spending a week in Rarotonga. The welcome as we came across on the ferry made us feel like royalty. The room was beautifully decorated with flowers throughout and the room itself was really nice. Our view from our room of the lagoon was so beautiful and we had a small deck with table and chairs plus there are loungers down on the beach you can use. That part of this resort was fantastic. The bar and hut staff were very friendly and helpful. The office staff were a different story - they didn't seem to want to promote Aitutaki as an island at all. Not helpful at all about any other places or activities on the main island... There was no info in your room so the office was the only place to get it and they were not wanting to share anything except for dinners and activities at their resort! As well as that the food at the resort is not that great when you are paying so much to stay here. Samades was across the way and the food was beautiful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Jenona

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

I am also pleased to hear that your welcome onto the island made you feel of royalty, allowing you to start your holiday on a fantastic note. Our conch shell welcome to our own private island is an experience in itself.

We are indeed blessed to be located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon with those majestic beautiful views.

Thank you for your comments on our Front Office staff, this will assist me with our follow up with the team for training.

We really appreciated your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My partner and I travelled to the Cook Islands only last week. After a somewhat disappointing stay in Rarotonga we were hesitant as to what to expect in Aitutaki. We were completely blown out of the water! We arrived to a traditional welcome and private escort to our premium beachfront bungalow, which was mere meters from the most stunning lagoon I have ever seen.
The room was just beautiful. The bed was huge and comfortable. The outdoor shower I fell in love with. The decor, the floorboards, all of it just screamed true Polynesia. There were fresh flowers scattered all around the room.
The use of free equipment- kayaks, sail boats, paddle boards, snorkel gear was put to great use. We spent our days in the water or in the hammock.
The restaurant was fantastic. We were always warmly treated and the staff got to know us fondly as "ah room 16!". The food was always delicious and the chef was a lovely happy person!
The spa was relaxing and we were offered free couple hydrotherapy. Tropical breakfast was also included.
We had a private candlelight dinner with a brilliant 7 course degustation menu at a private location on the resort and our waiter was wonderful.
All the staff were friendly, always saying kia orana to us and wishing us a good day.
Our 6 nights spent here were pure bliss. When we return, there's no reason for us to even look at staying anywhere else! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikkigoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Tikkigoddess

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read your 6 nights with us was pure bliss and that you had a wonderful experience.

I have passed your review onto our team, they are so pleased and that they have asked to send you lots of Aitutaki Loving.

Feel free to contact me if you require any assistance in booking your next trip home as a valued return guest.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a slice of paradise! The location, in my experience, can only be met by Bora Bora. We stayed in a beach front cottage. Nicely done in the local style. The breakfast is ok, plenty of fresh fruit but not on a 4 or 5 star level. The restaurant has an unimaginative chef that complains about what is not available on the island, while completely ignoring the local delicious cuisine. You end up with overpriced bland European style food.The spa is a disappointment, no real expertise while charging as if you they know all about it. The staff is super friendly and the beach hut guys are super. Wonderful experience even just once in your life but for this kind of money, they should up the service. Go check out the competition.

Room Tip: all rooms are on the water, the choice is just lagoon or river, both are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Eva

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your stay with us, we really appreciate this.

Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa is indeed blessed to be the only resort located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon – our “Slice of Paradise”.

All our Beachfront Bungalows is situated along the beach of O’otu Channel and is greatly enjoyed by our guests due to the privacy, the location offers along with spectacular sunsets.

Our Bounty Brasserie breakfast menu offers a good range of breakfast favourites at competitive prices. Complimentary Tropical Breakfast Buffet to our in house guests, offers the following range of locally grown seasonal fruits, freshly baked pastries, a selection of cereals, juices, freshly picked nu (coconut juice) and a selection of hot beverages – variety of tea, and filtered or instant coffee. Our signature cooked “Akitua Big Breakfast” a popular dish on our breakfast menu, and some traditional favourites including pancakes and eggs cooked to your liking.

I am sorry to hear that your experience with our chef during your stay in November 2013 was "unimaginative", I would have been happy to meet with you than to answer any questions you may have had.

I can assure you our Spa therapists are qualified technicians in their field, and is one of our top rated staff by guest comments, I do apologise if our Spa therapist did not meet your expectations.

I m glad you found our staff super friendly and in special mention to our Activities team, Im sure they will be very happy.

Thank you again for taking the time in sharing your experience, we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the near future

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa South Pacific - Cook Islands
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing