We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was stolen!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was stolen!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Someone stole me US 900 from the safe, I found it open, may be we left it open. I have realized when I left the the resort.
Beside the service it is not 5 stars, housekeeping is at 2.30 or 3.30 pm. One day towels were left outside the room, the deck was never cleaned, the room floor not very clean.
We have stayed 6 days and only 1 day we had milk on the room, there wasnt sweetener in the resort, instant coffee in the room. Not cream.
There wasnt coffee dispenser for breakfast, you have to prepare. Tables not set some days. The breakfast not include eggs, ham & cheese.

Spa yacuzi broken and small and dated.

Very dark at night, fire or light off.

Run out of petrol one day and the only boat to go out of the motu was unavailable.
We couldnt choose a table in Bounty restaurant for dinner even do we were there first.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    196
    105
    65
    49
See reviews for
69
573
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Got here late at night.....the hotel was waiting for us......that was so nice. We got an overwater bungalow that was beautiful. Gorgeous woods. Walk down ladder to the lagoon to swim! Very nice to sit on veranda and watch the water. Really nice bathroom.....double sinks.....great smelling bath amenities. Nice little outdoor restaurant on the water. Wonderful croissants and jellies for breakfast! Tours of lagoon leave right from beach! The lagoon cruise includes all drinks & buffet on another island.....really gorgeous being surrounded by all that shallow water that goes on forever! The pool was the only thing that needed quite a bit of help.

Room Tip: Over water bungalows are romantic but beach bungalows are much bigger and have direct beach front ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the best location on Aitutaki, great free water activities. Sailing, kayaking and paddle boarding, fun!
Expensive wifi, and terrible food. Breakfast average, the one night we ate in the restaurant the meat was so tough it was not edible. Ate away from the hotel after this experience. Tamanu hotel has great food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary12Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Check in was painful with a very abrupt lady telling everyone the rules and taking her time about it - 20 mins. She then took us to our room where she thought she would read out loud our note from management to congratulate us on our marriage and wish us a pleasant honeymoon - this was on our bed!!

The room was beautiful and kept very clean although towels were not always replaced when taken away by the cleaner so we were frequently left without.

The restaurant was overpriced for the poor quality food and unfriendly slow service - not sure why all the chairs are facing the same way either, very weird vibe in a dining room.

We were frequently reminded of the rules, for example when we asked for help booking a diving trip and told we should be doing this ourselves from our room.

We attended the management drinks when we first arrived and although we kept getting topped up with punch, nobody spoke with one another and there was no sign of the manger - who is she?!

The ground staff and cleaners always have a smile and a hello and the location is beautiful.

Room Tip: Although the beds in the beachfront bungalows are massive, it's 2 beds pushed together so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanno07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

An amazing place !.... the water really is the colour shown on the posters & adverts.
We had a lagoon facing bungalow & were blown away with the view & comfort.
Friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us.
If you want to relax & laze.. this is the place.
A trip on the Vaka lagoon cruise is an excellent add on, otherwise the free beach equipment is there to be used.
If I had to criticize.. it would be that the wifi costs are exorbitant. The sister hotel on Raratonga has a far cheaper rate, & let's face it, we all need wifi. I would have thought free wifi would be a good draw card. Also we didn't meet Rose at the "Managers" meet & greet ?????????? Why ?????

Room Tip: An upgrade to a lagoon facing room is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week 7 years ago and on the guest comments card recommended that they take a bulldozer to the whole hotel and start all over again.!!
Was back there earlier today - we are not staying there for obvious reasons - and requested if we could have lunch at their restaurant as well as being able to have a swim in the lagoon there. From what I could see the hotel looked pretty empty with nobody visible on the beach. Their answer was NO and so they lost two meals as well as any chance of redeeming themselves. My question is how can a hotel adopt such a policy are they blind as well as dumb particularly as beaches in New Zealand are apparently not private.?? To summarise hotels which behave in this manner do not deserve your business nor to survive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights after spending a week in Rarotonga. The welcome as we came across on the ferry made us feel like royalty. The room was beautifully decorated with flowers throughout and the room itself was really nice. Our view from our room of the lagoon was so beautiful and we had a small deck with table and chairs plus there are loungers down on the beach you can use. That part of this resort was fantastic. The bar and hut staff were very friendly and helpful. The office staff were a different story - they didn't seem to want to promote Aitutaki as an island at all. Not helpful at all about any other places or activities on the main island... There was no info in your room so the office was the only place to get it and they were not wanting to share anything except for dinners and activities at their resort! As well as that the food at the resort is not that great when you are paying so much to stay here. Samades was across the way and the food was beautiful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Kia Orana Jenona

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

I am also pleased to hear that your welcome onto the island made you feel of royalty, allowing you to start your holiday on a fantastic note. Our conch shell welcome to our own private island is an experience in itself.

We are indeed blessed to be located on it’s own private island directly on the beautiful Aitutaki Lagoon with those majestic beautiful views.

Thank you for your comments on our Front Office staff, this will assist me with our follow up with the team for training.

We really appreciated your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rino's Motel
Rino's Motel
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa South Pacific - Cook Islands
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing