We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Moo-2-RA-cow'”
Review of Moturakau

Ranked #9 of 16 things to do in Aitutaki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This deserted island was the location used for the British TV series Shipwrecked, where 16 people were left on an uninhabited island to fend for themselves.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Moo-2-RA-cow'”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Love the lovebirds and the coconut crabs! The lovebirds had babies when I visited who still had their fluffy hairs and it was so easy to get amazing photos of them as they weren't afraid of people.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“No place like it in the world.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Words and photo's can't do it justice. Heaven on Earth. Water is so clear you can see the bottom even 1 km out in 20m deep.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank our56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,281 reviews
850 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,587 helpful votes
“Shipwrecked, Survivor and Tropical Beauty”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Moturakau is one of 22 islands within the Aitutaki atoll and is visited by most of the lagoon tours. This uninhabited island has been used in the filming of Shipwreck, a UK reality show, and Survivor: Cook Islands, a USA reality show, among others. We visited this island for about 45 minutes as part of the Vaka Cruise lagoon tour during our Air Rarotonga day tour to Aitutaki. It was wonderful to explore the beautiful, deserted palm covered island and it beaches thinking about what it must have been like for the reality show participants. Like everywhere else within the Aitutaki Lagoon, this is stunningly beautiful and would rate a five anywhere else in the world but it does not quite match One Foot Island and some of the other Aitutaki locations so I have rated it a four to provide some differentiation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magic spot....with chooks!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Beautiful little island with large trees and a trail across to the other side.....in an absolutely stunning lagoon.

The chooks would be hard to catch!

Great GT swimming in the shallows as we came ashore......
Well worth it and a great palm tree over the beach to climb on the south western side!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice little stop”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stopped here when on a lagoon cruise with Bishops and as with all the islands we stopped at, it was beautiful and all we left behind were our footprints.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moturakau also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Moturakau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing