We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

+ (positive)
- fantastic view over the lagoon
- nice, clean, big bungalow's
- great food in restaurant
- quiet
- good general manager and reception. They have good contact with guests, do things for you.
- fire night is fantastic to see

- ( less positive)
- some of the girls who work in the restaurant looked really bored to us. They don't pay much attention to guests. Forget to serve us drinks. Let us wait for 20minutes etc etc. So sorry for this restaurant because the food is fantastic!

Room Tip: The view over the lagoon is fantastic (beach front bungalow's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    152
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
33
335
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our week at Tamanu was the trip of a life time. A real paradise. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the bungalows clean and roomy, the pool refreshing and well maintained. The open air restaurant was just a short walk along the beach. The food was excellent although there was a shortage of fresh vegetables at times. The waters just in front provided great snorkeling and the kayaks were easy and fun to use. I would highly recommend this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had the garden bungalow which was great. The decks were not private but being in a group setting...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Youngj341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Tamanu Beach resort lives up to all the hype. Anything we needed was immediately provided. The Resort was quiet, very well maintained and the staff was there to provide service promptly and efficiently. Very friendly. The general manager introduced himself to us upon arrival and checked in with us several times during our stay. The restaurant was two minutes from our bungalow which BTW was right on the beach (#201). The only issue we experienced was bugs in one of the chair cushions, which was immediately resolved. Unfortunately, my husband had already received 20 separate bites. (probably sand fleas), before he became aware of the problem. All in all it was a memorable 5 days in paradise. Great snorkeling, kayaking, walks on the beach, and relaxation.

Room Tip: Bungalow on the beach provides cool breezes throughout the day and night hours along with an excepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Whether you would rate Aitutaki in the Cook Islands as a One Star or a Five Star vacation, depends on your expectations. If you are expecting the Polynesian Resort at Disney World or the Hilton Hawaiian Village, then you would rate it as a One. But, if your expectation is The Swiss Family Robinson or a Quiet desert island near paradise, then it is definitely a Five. Additionally, it is probably not a destination to go alone, you really want to share this experience with a companion. Alone, it would probably be less than a One, but with the right companionship, Five plus.

Should you expect a cheap island vacation with lots of nightlife, you better head for the Caribbean because this is not your inexpensive family destination that the kids will enjoy. Oh yea, you better be an adventurous eater. No McDonalds, Papa Johns or Subways here. Just great Polynesian food that is out-of-this-world tasty. And you’ll probably never get anything like it anywhere in the Northern hemisphere.

As for things to do – snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, bicycling, walking, swimming and sightseeing will take up your time. This is the best snorkeling in the world (my estimation) and I have been to every continent, every ocean and most of the major fresh water bodies. Snorkeling is like swimming in an over crowded aquarium with sea creatures you don’t see in most museum aquariums. Blue Star Fish as an example. Kayak lagoons where you can see clearly to the bottom of the sea and if you want to slide off to get a better look, do it, most of the water is less than five feet deep. And all this is right outside your bungalow.

The people of the Cook Islands are wonderful. They are helpful, friendly, courteously, kind, thrifty, cheerful and respectful of the environment. I found no, that is right NO, graffiti!. And as for trash along the side of roads – well there was very little. And where was some, it was usually blown from the back of a truck where the next local passing by would pick it up. Almost everything is recycled or reused.

Now you want to know how I rated this adventure -- a Five plus!

Room Tip: Never used a fitness center or spa, so I am really not too sure they had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluBuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our garden bungalow, breakfasts, meals (including Cultural Night and BBQ night, service and experiences at Tamanu Beach Resort were all top shelf!
I have read a few of the reviews below and cannot for the life of me believe some of the comments.
You are no more than a two minute walk to the restaurant from anywhere in the resort.
Some of the fly screens are a bit tired, but you have air conditioned rooms. Make the most of it!
We were in the original side of the resort and our bathroom and rest of the unit was just perfect. Hot water was in abundance and I saw no rusty taps.
The staff were extremely helpful - as we were staying for seven nights, we had brought duty free spirits with us. We regularly sourced ice from the bar or restaurant and kept it in our freezer. This was never an issue and there was no charge.
Having talked to a lot of other couples while holidaying in Aitutaki, I believe we stayed at one of the best (and best value) resorts on the island.
I hope to have the opportunity to return again one day, and would not hesitate to return to Tamanu Beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent 5 nights in Feb, 2014. This is the low season and the place was only about 1/3 occupied which was very good for us as the rest of the island was also very empty. The island itself is the attraction, beautiful beaches, friendly people, great snorkeling, good diving absolutely no crowd, we would love to return and would definitely consider this resort. If you want to party the night away best go some place else. Wonderful location with excellent snorkeling right off the beach, biggest clam I've ever seen. Good service and clean rooms. We only ate at the restaurant one night, the food was very good and priced right but we wanted to try some of the other options available for lunch and dinner and were never disappointed. The lagoon tour is a must do and the resort booked it for us. The rooms all came with a kitchenette which we took advantage of, nice to have cold drinks and snacks available. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was there was a shortage of the advertised snorkeling equipment, in spite of being mostly empty and no fins unless you wanted to rent them, also the rooms were a bit dark. I see one other reviewer noted the 10am check out time, we negotiated staying in our room until later for an extra $100, but with 8 of the 10 rooms near us empty we did not understand the rush to get us out, keeping in mind that most flights back to Rarotonga are later in the day.

Room Tip: Only a few of the rooms are right on the beach, but all of them are within a hundred feet of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

thank you Tamanu for having us stay at your resort, we had an enjoyable and relaxing time spending Valentines day at your resort was a bonus..... The management and staff were very friendly, you have the best chef!! our Tuna and Steak was cooked to perfection.the bungalows were very clean......will defintely recommend your resort.....Meitaki Atupaka

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Property: Tamanu Beach
Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including self contained studio rooms and one bedroom lagoon view rooms. All our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront rooms are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 22 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling and kayaking in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy Island Fire- a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing