We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed under teh 2 nights deal with Air Raro and Tamanu Beach. Our room was pleasant, very clean and tidy! The perfect place for a quick getaway! Location is awesome with the lagoon at your doorstep! If you want to go snorkelling (a must) you need to take flippers as only masks/snorkels provided. Our tap leaked and the phone didn't work but other than that we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and they didn't detract from our stay at all. Staff were responsive when we mentioned these things.

Staff are amazing - best service in any resort we've ever stayed.

Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: you have a choice of rooms - some have a separate bedroom and some have an open plan beroom/lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    153
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
337
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Tamanu for 5 days and loved our stay.

Whether you are happy with the accommodation you choose for your holiday comes down to expectations, and of course doing your research.

Tamanu has 2 parts, one that has quite basic accommodation (numbers starting in 100) and the other part is more upmarket (villas starting with 200).

Money/value is also relative. The Cook islands, and Aitutaki particularly, is one of the most expensive places we have ever been in the world.

So even if you are paying $450 - $550 a night for the ‘posh side’ , don’t expect it to look like this amount of money, otherwise you are setting yourself up for disappointment!

We viewed other accommodation that was basic through to luxury, and in relation to other places on the island, Tamanu would be considered upper midrange and accurately priced.

We knew all of the above, which meant that we could fall in love with our lovely little hut villa, it was comfortable and cosy, lovely big bed and living area, day bed and porch. Air-con was great, hot shower, and lovely grounds.

The beach was beautiful, and even at low tide you could still go for a swim (carefully, to not hit the coral!)

The restaurant on site was lovely for breakfast, and good evening meals. Again the prices were expensive BUT in line with the prices on the island.

Island night buffet (book in advance) was great and well worth it.

The free Giant Clam trip was really lovely, we asked the boatsman if we could go to honeymoon island as it was really close to where we were snorkelling and he took us which was a great bonus.

The service / communication was a bit hit and miss both in the restaurant and the front desk, we had a few issues with our orders, the length of time being served, and other issues. We approached Greg (kiwi manager) who immediately solved the issues to our complete satisfaction.

Check your bill carefully when you leave !

The lagoon itself is simply stunning and worth the money to see it.

Wi-fi - slow and very very expensive, as it is everywhere in the Cook islands.

Other accommodations:

We visited Aitutaki Lagoon and Spa – simply stunning view, but they rely on that completely, accommodation / grounds / service were average. Meal was lovely.

We visited Pacific Resort – gorgeous grounds, swimming pool, tree top restaurant and amazing rooms. But you pay for all that, up to $1000 - $2000 a night. Meal was just okay (preferred Tamanu food)

We visited Etu Moana - lovely grounds and villa, but no restaurant, and the beach in front at low tide is a rocky swamp.

We were very happy with our choice of Tamanu and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 210 - not completely beach front but because of it's position you get a really good beach v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from our honeymoon at Tamanu Beach Resort staying in studio rooms for 4 nights. Perfect location with beautiful sunsets and great service from all the staff. On the last day both of us got quite sick and Tamanu was very helpful with letting us stay in our room till we departed. We really appreciated that before our flight home. Snorkeling off the beach is amazing as well & I really think this place is underrated for what it is.

Room Tip: All the studio rooms have lagoon view but stay in room 101 or 111 for ones right next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from 6 nights at Tamanu Beach Resort staying in a one bedroom beachfront bungalow (room 201). This resort is fairly small in size but offered exactly what we were looking for. The bungalow was beautiful, basically 5 metres from the water with lounge chairs out front and a daybed on the verandah which was excellent for that afternoon snooze or reading a book. The bungalow had everything you need, although the water temp in the shower was sometimes difficult to maintain. The rooms have a safe, TV/DVD player, hair dryer etc. Also great that the resort supplies fresh bottled water to rooms to drink and have coolers available for any top ups, which we haven't experience before. Our other trips to Fiji & Vanuatu we always had to purchase our water.

The resort is spread out and at times you feel like your the only ones there. The restaurant is an open style one where they roll down plastic covers on the side when bad weather is around. We ate at the restaurant every night /breakfast and the food was at a very good standard. The staff were lovely however some nights it did take a while to get drinks, so just chill and remember your on island time. We found it quite funny that at times they run out of some types of food as they wait for the next ship to arrive with supplies. While we were there we were told the island had run out of tomatoes and other fruit and vegetables. Once again, just chill and relax and you will have a great time.

In regards to insects, we didn't notice or experience and major dramas. Staff at the restaurant use mozzie coils every night which seems to keep them under control. For those who get bitten a lot, take the usual precautions and put on a repellant and you will be fine.

Reception and all the staff at Tamanu are lovely and pleasant and tried to assist where possible. We booked day trips and scooter rentals through them and everything was perfect. Just a mention about the WiFi, its not free at Tamanu but you can purchase time through reception. We found the hotspot reception over the first few days fairly good however the last 3 days was basically not available. Reception staff were trying to sort it out as other customers were also experiencing problems. The last I heard they were contacting Telecom to fix it.

The beach and snorkelling in front of Tamanu was good, they clean the resort and beach quite often. We are keen snorkellers and would suggest the coral and fish in front of Tamanu as good, if you are looking for better, than a day trip out to honeymoon or one foot islands is better and a great day out. We went with Aitutaki Adventures and had a great day, the guide was quite funny and we saw lots of fish.

Overall, Tamanu and Aitutaki in general is a great place to chill and unwind. As with all island holidays, don't let the little things worry you. Have fun and enjoy one of the prettiest lagoons you will ever see in the world. If planning to go as a family, make sure you do your research. We didn't notice many children on the island as it is more designed for couples as it is very very quiet at night time apart from the restaurant scene etc.

Room Tip: If possible spend the extra and get a one bedroom beachfront bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevMels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful time we had, a most beautiful place. Our accommodation was right on the beach so cosy. Food in the restaurant was great. Staff very helpful & all had wonderful smiles for us. Keep up the good work. We hope to come back one day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 8 nights in April after touring New Zealand! A well earned rest for us on a beautiful island. We had booked a garden studio and Our room number 10 was very near the pool and we could also see the ocean, which was a bonus! When sitting on the decking we could watch the sun setting in the evenings. The room was very nice with kitchen area and large refrigerator, not that we cooked at all. My only negative is, that the bathroom could do with a bit of a deep clean around the shower cubicle. We ate at the restaurant 7 nights out of eight, which shows just how good the food was, excellent! Breakfasts were also ok for me and my husband. Many of the staff were very friendly and pleasant but I have to agree with an earlier review that some appeared unhappy in their work. I always try to smile and say hello to anyone, staff or guests, but some were a little harder to win over than others. Having said that we were looked after and can't say I had anything to complain about in the restaurant. We hired a scooter for the week, went off for a little ride every day, went on a lagoon trip and went to church on Sunday which was amazing. The ladies were in white dresses and wore hats, bit the singing was wonderful. We do not go to church regularly at home, but enjoyed the service even though we didn't understand most of it. We were made most welcome by everyone and it was a very uplifting experience. The snorkelling from the beach was amazing, you need only swim or walk out a little way to see corals, starfish and other fish, or go as far as the buoy to see the gigantic (and I mean the largest I've seen) clam. Beautiful, we visited every day, saw some beautiful corals of different colours and patterns! Thought the Maldives was the perfect place but Aitutaki is on a par I think! I must admit we spent a wonderful week in Aitutaki at a lovely hotel, great location, good food. On our final day we asked to keep our room but as it was booked already we could not. They said we could use another one until 6pm that day for a small charge as our flight Wasn't until 7pm. We were put in a one bedroom bungalows which was lovely. This is the reason I mentioned the bathroom cleanliness before, as this place was much cleaner and newer. Very nice if you wish to spend a lot more money and as we stayed 8 nights it wasn't really an option for us. Having said that I loved our studio and preferred the pool there which was next to the beach. We would come out of the sea, rinse our feet and gear under the tap, then have a lovely dip in the pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Greg and his team were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and all done with a smile. This is a resort built on family land and family make up most of the staff so they take pride in what they do and go the extra mile. Even went for a drive to buy me cigarettes on the first night as we had not hired a scooter yet!

We stayed in a beach front bungalow and did not regret the decision for the little bit extra to be right on the beach.

The rooms are modern, spacious and air conditioned, everything you would expect from a top class establishment. If you are lucky one of the friendly local cats might adopt you like one did us and relax in your bungalow with you while you both have a cat nap!

The food and drinks range in the restaurant is excellent also and surprisingly cheap compared to others on the island.

The lagoon is amazing, the sunsets are amazing you will have a great time.

I would highly recommend you stay here.

Wayne Hughes
28/4/14

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAOCB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Property: Tamanu Beach
Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including self contained studio rooms and one bedroom lagoon view rooms. All our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront rooms are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 22 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling and kayaking in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy Island Fire- a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing