We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First time in Cook Islands, and 5 days in Aitutaki was my dream tropical island holiday! The setting of Tamanu is ideal and close to the most beautiful lagoon. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thorougly enjoyed the rest. Went on Aitutaki Adventures day lagoon cruise, and Capt Puna was amazing host. Make the best rakau salad I had in the CI. Would love to visit again one day. There are no dogs on the island so apart from the roosters it is very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Cook Islands are the Friendly Islands and this is the friendliest, Ok you have to make a connecting flight from Rarotonga to AItutaki but that's not a big deal as they fly there everyday.
The flight over the lagoon is amazing and would arguably been the most beautiful in the world
The island is more suited for people looking for a relaxing quiet break from the stress of everyday life.
There is enough to do here e.g diving ,fishing, small tours etc but basically it's a place to unwind totally,
We have looked at all the resorts on the island and this one is very good value for money, the older side of the resort are self contained stand alone bungalows which have a small path to a pool which is directly in front of the beach, so enjoy the snorkelling or relax at the pool with a drink.
A twenty second walk takes you to the resort beach front restaurant and bar which has a good selection of local and European meals on offer at a reasonable price.
The newer side of the resort have bigger rooms with a few absolute beach front villas which are well worth the asking price.
The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful as you would expect from a smaller boutique operation.
We have stayed here twice now and have been very happy with the experience and have recommended it to several groups of friends that have stayed and enjoyed it also.
It's like having your own beach place in the islands.

Room Tip: If the budget permits Beach front villas are the best or on the older side which I think is very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShonMezcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed three nights in the one bedroom lagoon room. They are well worth the extra money. Very spacious with a great deck with day bed on it that I found the best spot for reading in the cool. Staff were super friendly helpful and attentive. Ask to have dinner on the beach one night they set up a table by yourself in middle of beach with flame torches around you it strangely doesn't cost any extra they eating in restaurant and you can take your own drinks if you have brought any over. Overall a fabulous place to visit and you can't go wrong booking into tamanu for accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank noosamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the 5th time we've been and just have a wonderful time. The rooms are great and the location excellent. There aren't a lot of people and just quiet and relaxing. You're on the sheltered side of the island and perfectly positioned to see the great sunsets. The lagoon is calm and shallow and the coral and fish just amazing. Everytime you go out you see something new. The staff are friendly and can arrange anything you want. Needless to say we'll be back again next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fastcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Without doubt, the best holiday experience ever. Wonderful staff, incredible food, the self contained bungalows were the best we've ever stayed in. The beach was peaceful and the snorkelling was truly memorable. Can't recommend this place high enough! 5 out of 5, everywhere. Even the neighbour's kitten, "Bubbles" was terrific.

Room Tip: The self contained bungalows were magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Absolute paradise in the sun, great lagoon for kayaking and swimming, friendly people all over the island.
Definitely do the island tour with the lagoon cruise, awesome.
Great to take a scooter around the island, driving down unmarked roads and just discovering the island, up to the top of the island for the 360 degree views around Aitutaki.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Aitutaki is paradise and this resort is very pleasant. The lagoon area the resort fronts is one of best on the island, the snorkeling at this area is great. It's in a good location on the island. Staff very helpful but you have to remember its island time.. The room is a great size with separate lounge area and good day bed on verandah. A couple of issues need addressing including the pool area needs sprucing up as does the bar, not enticing. I appreciate it is an island but after 6 days there and there being no English breakfast tea at breakfast everyday it became tiresome to hear the teas on the boat- a little thing to some but if that's all you drink most annoying and not good enough for an not inexpensive resort. Having said that would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 whilst not being ocean front. Close to the bea Rooms 9 and 10 not lagoon fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maja008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
942 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £220 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your casual luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including garden bungalows and one bedroom lagoon view bungalows. All of our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront bungalows are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 23 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and SUPS in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy our "Takurua" Island Feast and show - a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All SUPS, Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing