We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total recharge of my batteries, highly recommended!!”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A total recharge of my batteries, highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Recently returned from a total recharge of my batteries after a 6 nights relaxation at Tamanu Beach Resort in a one bedroom beachfront bungalow (Bungalow number 112). This resort is not large, and is ideal and was precisely what I was after. The bungalow was beautiful, basically a short 30 seconds stroll from the crystal water with lounge chairs out front and a daybed and hammock on the verandah which was excellent for that afternoon snooze or reading a book. Sorry should I say three Jeffrey Archer books! Two of which came from the resorts library. Would recommend a massage (I had four!) on the verandah which can be easly organised through reception.

The bungalow had everything you need including a safe, with very comfortable beds. Little touches like fresh water refills in the large fridge. Even managed to do a little work and got excellent wifi connection from this bungalow.

Had a number of meals in the restaurant, lovely food and setting. Island night is highly recommended!

The staff were fabulous, and in particular Greg the General Manager and his partner Pauline who truly bent over backwards for me.

The beach and snorkelling in front of Tamanu was wonderful, the resort is cleaned often and well maintained. Managed to do a bit of snorkelling and would suggest the coral and fish in front of Tamanu.

Tamanu and Aitutaki is a great place to chill and unwind! Thank you Greg and Pauline I will be back!

Room Tip: Hightly recommend spending a few extra dollars in a beachfront bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    154
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
35
339
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wandiligong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'd feel sorry for anyone visiting the Cook Islands without spending time at Aitutaki. This gem of an island is a postcard picture everywhere you look. Tamanu Beach was a great place to stay with an idyllic outlook from our seaside villa towards the lagoon and the terrific sunsets.

Ootu beach (some 7 Klms) from Tamanu beach is the expensive accommodation area targeted at honeymoon couples. Our resort at Tamanu offered everything we needed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant provided great service, terrific food and the banquet and cultural dance night was quite special. We rode push-bikes (complimentary), hired motorized scooters and cruised the island.The island hopper cruise down to One Foot Island was an absolute highlight.
My wife and I would strongly recommend Tamanu Beach Resort to anyone looking for a slice of heaven

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Howlinhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The island is fab, Tamanu Beach is awesome, staff great, food excellent, service great. We had a blast, don't really want to recommend as don't want the rest of the world to discover this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: beach front if you can afford, definitely candle lit dinner on balcony, additional $6.00 well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Having visited the Cook Islands previously, this visit, although more expensive was to experience Aitutaki. After comments from others, we chose Tamanu Beach resort. The experience exceeded expectations. The airport greeting was warm and genuine, checking in was low key but efficient, and the bungalow just as we expected. What was different was the location, the view of the sea and the positive ambience immediately felt. The perfect antidote to the winter blues.
The restaurant on site was superb, all meals were very well presented and served with courtesy and a friendly relaxed style.We will return.

Room Tip: All units are as close to the beach as you need. Paying extra for a beachfront unit probably isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Millcroft52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My hubby and I spent 5 days in Aitutaki at the Tamanu Beach Resort as part of a 3 week vacation in the Cook Islands for part 2 of our honeymoon. WOW. The minute we landed on the coral runway, I knew this was heaven on earth. We had never experienced a more beautiful place. We were picked up at the airport by a lovely lady (Nan) and driven to the resort. Check-in was very casual and we made in time for breakfast :) Our hut was lovely.. king bed, big shower.. great huge veranda with a garden/lagoon view. We went to bed early (not much to do after the sun sets, other than the fantastic fire show) and woke up early, thanks to the million roosters on the island. One night there and we were so incredibly relaxed. This was exactly what we needed. We rode the complimentary bicycles everyday - always into town for an ice cream and to pick up a case of Heineken ;) - or the 11km around the entire island. We were on pace with the island way of life immediately. The continental breakfast was everything we needed and we had several lovely dinners during our stay, including a fantastic meal at the Pacific Resort, which was just a short walk down the road from the Tamanu. We also had a lovely meal at Tapuna's Cafe - a lovely outdoor cafe up the hill. We did a snorkel tour with Tai (amazing fellow) and had our passports stamped at One Foot Island, which is also the home of the world's most remote mailbox. The beach at the Tamanu is beautiful.. most days we didn't see another person out there. The two pools were lovely too.. again, we never saw another person swimming. Aitutaki is a fabulous place at a fabulous pace. A little piece of heaven. Can't wait to go back.. definitely worth the 15hr+ flight from Toronto..

Room Tip: If you need anything, just ask. The staff is fantastic. Remember everything is at island pace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theRoamingMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great start to our holiday at the airport where we were met by a lovely lady and driven to Tamanu with two other couples. Check in was a bit impersonal as we were all checked in at the same time. Then followed the staff member to our bungalow.
Here comes the first problem, we booked and paid for a lagoon view room and all we could see was the garden. Pointed out that we requested Lagoon view, and was curtly informed that "this is a lagoon view room". Well maybe if you cut the garden back???
We weren't too happy so went back to reception to try and improve our situation. Every thing was booked out for the next two nights, but they agreed to move us to a beach front bungalow for our last three nights. Even the bedding and pillows appeared dirty in number 208, and it was tucked back behind all the other bungalows so I would advise to request NOT to have number 208.
I can however report that the beachfront bungalow 203 is excellent. Lovely large separate bedroom, lounge area, with an enormous verandah overlooking the lagoon. Even came with our own friendly cat.
The restaurant served good meals, but was somewhat limited in the selection as every evening we were informed what was NOT available on the menu. They also ran out of English Breakfast Tea two days after we arrived and there were no replacements in either the restaurant or in our room. Difficult when one does not drink coffee or Earl Grey Tea. Thought they should have found a solution to that problem.
Fantastic location for snorkling and we enjoyed taking out the two man kayak every day.
Aitutaki is perfect for a relaxing break and I can recommend eating at the Koru Café.
Enjoyable Island night and excellent buffet at Tamanu also.
Another small problem .... no information in the rooms or reception regarding activities, tours, restaurants etc. Also our room was not serviced if we were away from the room as the cleaning staff did not have a key to enter our room. Very strange.

Room Tip: Bungalows 201, 202 and 203 front directly onto the lagoon. Best Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 408MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kia Orana Michelle,

Thank you for your feedback which I can use to improve our property. The good news is that most of what you bring up are things that I can work with our staff on.

There are some points which you raise which I understand you bringing up, however there are reasons which help to explain them.

Firstly, the island has had a supply vessel break down twice now and it has severely affected the supply of many items. Presently we have no potatoes on the island and we have to fly them in at a cost of $50 for a 20kg sack + airfreight of $50. At least we can do that, but when all available suppliers in Rarotonga tell you that they are out of English Breakfast Tea and are waiting for the next ship.......well it's a slightly different challenge and I am very sorry you missed out on your English Breakfast Tea, and you were one of many, but can assure you it was a problem we were trying very hard every day to fix. The English Breakfast Tea issue I am happy to report is now resolved for all resorts.

Secondly the room key for #203. Yes we had a problem when both our guest sets were inadvertently taken by an Italian couple back to Europe prior to you arriving, and the only person who cuts keys for us on the island was himself in NZ for a few weeks. What Reception did was give you the Housekeeping key for #203 but they should have explained this to you so you would understand about how your room could be serviced. Again my apologies.

Michelle the last point you raise I am somewhat mystified by, as half our entire Reception Desk is in fact a Tour Desk with a wall filled with brochures, tour activities, restaurant information, daily weather updates etc. and I would thought hard to miss, but obviously you did not see it.

We look forward to you returning to Tamanu Beach and in the meantime I will be working with our fantastic team to continue improving our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First time in Cook Islands, and 5 days in Aitutaki was my dream tropical island holiday! The setting of Tamanu is ideal and close to the most beautiful lagoon. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thorougly enjoyed the rest. Went on Aitutaki Adventures day lagoon cruise, and Capt Puna was amazing host. Make the best rakau salad I had in the CI. Would love to visit again one day. There are no dogs on the island so apart from the roosters it is very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Property: Tamanu Beach
Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your casual luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including garden bungalows and one bedroom lagoon view bungalows. All of our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront bungalows are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 23 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and SUPS in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy our "Takurua" Island Feast and show - a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All SUPS, Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing