We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff in the Universe”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best staff in the Universe”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Outstanding beachfront accommodation in an outstanding location, but it is the staff that make this place something really special.

Thank you to Emma, Taks, Karleena, Jenny, Tamara, Aikura...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlcurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    153
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
337
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We stayed 3 nights and had a fantastic, relaxing & memorable holiday. Our bungalow was clean, comfortable and fully equiped. The beach was beyond our dreams, amazing snorkelling, free kayaks and loungers; there is also a great pool with views over the lagoon. Staff couldn't have done more for us, very friendly as were all the islanders. The Island night was a real treat, awesome food and dancing! There is little sightseeing; but a day trip out on a boat is well worth doing. We went with TEKing and had one of the best days ever, eating a BBQ lunch sitting at a table in the sea with fish swimming round our feet eating the dropped crumbs. Great sunsets and the most stars I've ever seen at night as you walk along the beach.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IfieldDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Wonderfull quiet place, very quiet!!!.
Aitutaki is such a lovely place, MUST do a Island hopping trip and feed the tropical fish.

Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nodrogs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Great place to spend time doing not much at all.Wonderful location with great beach on the door step, best snorkeling on the beach right out front.Well run and maintained , staff excellent and always available.

We stayed in the older side of the resort and I highly recommend this, Bungalows are much nicer and the pool is much better,you can sit in it and watch the day go by,then 5 steps and you are back in the sea.

The newer side of the resort is very sterile with no gardens and the thatch on the roofs are made of plastic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed in 110 with great view of the pool and sea, great shower/bathroom.Nice kitchen fab bed with plenty of space,great deck etc etc.

Highly recommend it all

  • Liked — Everything very close
  • Disliked — Could'nt stay longer
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiringsoonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We had a really nice lagoon view bungalow which was ready immediately. We had originally booked a beachfront bungalow but due to a mix up by our tour op, we had the lagoon view instead and requested room 210. If you have a look at the Tamanu's website you will see that this room is situated just behind and to the side of one of the beachfront ones and still has the most wonderful views of the beach/lagoon and is only a few steps from the beach itself. It's right beside one of the 2 pools. We saved ourselves quite a bit with this one and it was really perfect.
We were made very welcome from all the staff and Mike Henry (joint owner with his brother) always seemed to be around making sure everyone was having a good time and to chat with you - a nice personal touch.
Our bungalow had a huge veranda with table and chairs and even a single bed on it to relax on. There was a large lounge room with sofa and chairs, table, TV (only one station but we weren't bothered), sink, fridge and large ceiling fan. There was a large basket of fresh fruit waiting for us and a bottle of sparking wine in an ice cooler - a nice touch we thought. There is a jug in the frige with fresh water which you can get refilled at any time from the bar.
The bedroom contained a lovely super kingsize bed which was really comfortable. There was a ceiling fan and air conditioning which worked lovely.
There is a big wardrobe with combination safe, iron and ironing board and a couple of big umbrellas (just in case).
The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower and glass brick walls - the only problem was that there was nowhere in the shower to put anything, no shelf or nothing. We ended up putting our shampoo, shower gel, conditioner and sponges on top of the glass wall - ok if you are tall as the wall was about 8 foot high!!
There is a hairdryer and complimentary toilettries are provided for you. Clean beach towels are left for you every day in the cupboard under the sink.
The cleaners are very unobtrusive and kept the place very clean.
Breakfast was the usual fruits, cereals, coffee, juices, toast, pancakes etc. Cooked breakfasts are also available to order.
I did find all the lunches to be massive and far too much to eat at midday and we eventually bought ourselves bread, ham and stuff from a local shop just to have a smaller snack, rather than the larger meals with chips etc served in the restaurant.
Evening meals were great and there were always specials on the board, we tried the lamb, steak, tuna etc and all were extremely nice. The menu wasn't massive and I think we might have been bored if we were booked for a week or 2 longer than the 5 days that we stayed.
The hotel is quite happy to recommend other places to eat and will arrange a pick up for you if you want. We were a little put out to find out that one night the restaurant was to be closed because of a wedding! But the owner then informed everyone that they could either be served by their own waiter on their own verandahs whatever they wanted from the restaurant or that they would be happy to recommend other restaurants and arrange transport - very helpful.
The hotel provide bicycles - free and mopeds at a fee and they are located just at the entrance. We helped ourselves to a couple of bicycles and had a great time cycling round - it was a bit hot for that sort of thing though. But it was nice to cycle to the local shops for snacks and into town to the post office etc.
You could help yourself to beach beds or kayaks and we found that if there were more than 4 other people on the beach - it was crowded!! Seriously, it was such a beautiful place with outstanding views; peaceful and relaxing and just what we wanted. We had flown without a break from London to LA to Rarotonga to Aitutaki and we were glad we got the majority of the flights out of the way, this meant that at the Tamanu we could really let our hair down and unwind - perfect. The sea is crystal clear - you may need to bring your aqua shoes though as there are quite a few sea cucumbers and coral bits about!

Island Night was a real spectacular evening. There was lots of local traditional food to try, all sorts of things, some I liked and some I didn't, but everyone had more than enough choice and plenty to eat. The entertainment was very good and we really enjoyed the whole evening - it was a real highlight.
We also did a lagoon cruise with Aitutaki Adventures (this was included in our holiday price) and was unmissable! One little word of warning, there are NO toilet facilities on the boat at all. On joining the boat I had already been to the area before and knew where the toilet was, so I popped off quickly but I did notice that nothing was mentioned to any of the other guests about going before we set off. The snorkelling was great and we stopped a few times on various places and had a lovely lunch on One Foot Island. Again, nothing was ever mentioned about toilet facilities and my husband and I walked off into the thicker bush area and found a toilet - extremely basic, just a cement hole, but when you gotta go........ So, if you are the sort of person who might need more than a quick 'p' now and then - be warned, especially us ladies (you know what I mean!).
Perhaps you could check before you go with this company because other cruisers did have facilities. Having said that, it was the most fantastic day. Although you do stop for refreshments and later on lunch, it is extremely hot so I would suggest that you bring a bottle of water with you as there are no refreshments on this boat.

Apart from a very small craft shop selling a few T-shirts, etc there nowhere on site to purchase any sun creams, mozzie sprays, batteries, headache tablets etc, so make sure you bring these essentials with you.

All in all, Tamanu Beach Resort was a really lovely place to stay and it's not easy to think of anything negative to say about it. Staff are friendly, accommodation clean, roomy and comfortable. Food is great and the location is really hard to beat.
I have only managed to come up with 5 possible improvements I can think of, and when you read them you'll see, it's really only nit picking!
1 - nowhere to put anything in the shower, surely easily fixed with a shelf or something.
2 - it's quite dark in the bathroom, not so good for shaving (hubby said), perhaps a bit better lighting
3 - perhaps a few light choices or snacks available for lunch time might be nice.
4 - sunbeds are rather hard as they are wooden and the lounge covers were a bit on the thin side - perhaps thicker covers would help in the 'numb bum' department :-)
5 - a full length mirror somewhere would be good - I do like to see what a state I look like when I go out.

As you can see - really heavy stuff!

I must also add that this resort has a 'no under 12s' rule and this really adds to the relaxation of the place. No screaming kids anywhere, no tantrums in the restaurant or running round under the waitresses feet! I honestly didn't realise just how much this adds to the perfection of the resort until we went on to our next destination and I missed the quiet seclusion in stunningly beautiful surroundings. Perfect!

  • Liked — Tranquility, beautiful scenery, total relaxation
  • Disliked — Having to leave :-(
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed in the studio Lagoon Bungalow for four nights at the end of our honeymoon this september(number111) we had a wonderful view of the pool and the ocean. This bungalow was a little less private then our place on Raratonga, but equally as stunning. it had a table and chairs out on our own deck, kitchen , fan(with airconditioning if you wanted, but we did not need it) We found Atuitiki very remote and extreamly quiet when compared to Rarotonga(and even raro was quit). we mostly ate in the hotel restarant, as there seemed to be little else near by. this is definatly not the place for people who like night life! we tryed finding one place listed in our lonely planet guide book for dinner one night, but it was closed. This hotel had an absolutly fabulus island night preformance!!!! very diffrent from the one we saw in Raratonga. You could choose to have the dinner buffet and then watch the show or you could simply show up after dinner to watch the dancing and music. We really liked that this hotel was family owned. We saw the owner on sevral occasions and he happily shared his plans for the hotel for us(they are planning to put in a spa near one of the pools) the hotel had sevral bikes that you could borrow(although a few were in need of a bit of a tune up...but they got us where we wanted to go:-)there was also motorized bikes you could rent for a fee, but we did not use them. we cycled around the island easily. one day we rode up past the airport to the Lagoon resort....seemed nice, but our pina colada cost us 19 Newzealand dollars!!! we had a good view from the bar though and after a hot bicycle ride it tasted great!!! Based on our visti, I would definatly choose Tamanu over the lagoon. we had to check out at 10 am, but they let you shower in a vacant room if they have one. the one bedroom bungalows seem more luxurious then the studio bungalows and they have a television, unlike the studio bungalows (although we definatly did not miss tv)....walking back from the restarant along the beach to our place was great. you can hear fish jumping in the water and see milions of bright stars in the sky. wow. Just a note...come prepared for mosquitos. don't be afraid to smell like mosquito repelent. the first night i refused to put it on to go to dinner, but severly regretted it when i came home with tons of itchy bites. the hotel has some repelent at the bar and special rings that are suposed to get ride of the bugs but...if the bugs like you wear the repelent! . On another note DO NOT LEAVE THIS ISLAND WITHOUT GOING ON A LAGOON CRUISE!!! we went with a company called Aitutaki Adventures. the front desk can book it for you if you ask. It was run by a husband and wife. amazing food and unforgettable lagoon tour...sand bars, deserted island, clear blue water, jumping off the boat to snorkal and swim. need i say more. any way i would definalty reccomend this hotel for a romantic getaway with a loved one or a peaceful place to relax with friends.

  • Liked — location and that it is family owned
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoom_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Tamanu Beach is a great place to stay while on Aitutaki.

The bungalows are cosy with a nice view of the lagoon. Cool off in the pool that`s right on the beach, or snorkle in the lagoon.

The staff is very helpful, always smiling and up for a chat.

The restaurant is excellent. And its fantastic to sit there and watch the sunset.

Tamanu Beach provides you with internet access in the lobby, as well as scooters when you want to cruise around the island.

The staff helped us book lagooncruise and deep sea fishing which is highly reccomended to do while on Aitutaki.

They have a fantastic Island Night BBQ and show.

We felt like we were visiting friends.

Just go! :-)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KMHNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Property: Tamanu Beach
Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including self contained studio rooms and one bedroom lagoon view rooms. All our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront rooms are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 22 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling and kayaking in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy Island Fire- a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing