We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Cove Lodges
Ranked #1 of 6 Aitutaki B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2014

First off, staff is awsome. Really friendly and helpfull. They will help you with everything you need, from booking tours to washing your clothes (for charge).

Besides from that, it was an OK place to stay. You get what you pay for.

Rooms are basic, with an pretty comfortable bed.
They are right on the beach, so you can enjoy the sunset every day.
The beach in front is clean (but the island as a whole is one of ther celanest I have seen).

I wish they could keep the maintanance of the whole place a bit more. Its easy to see that things have not been fixed in some time. Also, they should change/offer to change towls you get a bit more often. If you dont ask them yourself, they will not get changed besides cleaning day (wich is ca every fouth-fifth day). By that time they get really smelly. So dont be shy, ask for new towls.

Also, 2 of the three times they changed our sheets, there were blood stains on them, wich was kinda gross. They also do most of the dishwashing by hand, so check your plate, cup and knives/forks before eating, as they are not always totally clean.

Breakfast is included, but its the same all the time. Toasted bread with some butter and jam. Sometimes they have cuppla types of fruit.

Considering the prices on Aitutaki, its a totally resonable place.

I would recomend it for people on a budget, as you get your moneys worth, but if Im gonna go there again, im not gonna stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Haris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Paradise Cove for 5 days. The location is magnificent, the bungalows are right on the beach overlooking the beautiful lagoon but the facilities are basic at best. After our first breakfast at the Coconut Shack, we decided to eat breakfast on our balcony to avoid the warm milk, instant coffee (yuk) and limited selection of cereal and fruit.

The staff are great, friendly, welcoming and so helpful but the owners need to invest some attention to details - i.e. towels without huge wholes, new pillows, and a good cleaning regime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParataitoAitutaki, Manager at Paradise Cove Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Kia Orana Lizzie

I'm very sorry that you'r accomodation was not as accomodating as it should have been, thank you very much for your review, this gives us an oppertunity to improve the property. At the moment we have a limited amount of towels which only allows us to change towels every 2 days, but by the end of the week we will be recieving a whole new shipment which will allow us to do daily towel changes, also i have gone through the towels and the staff have exposed of damaged ones. We also have new pillow casses and sheets arriving from our supplier.

The case of the coffee we have coffee plungers which are constantly filled with hot water and are now using Atiu coffee grinds which is the best coffee in the pacific. At the moment with milk we bring it out in the morning cold and by the end of breakfast it usually warms up due to the heat, but we're shipping a refrigerator in from New Zealand and once it arrives we will be able to keep cold drinks aswell and cold milk available for guests at the coconut shack.

Thanks again for your response, I really do hope this resolves most of the issues that you've experienced here at Paradise Cove.

Kind regards
Tearaia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The best accommodation in Aitutaki !
The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. The lodges are on the beach and you can see the beautiful view.
At the airport there were lots of people waiting to pick them up and they were greeted with flowers but they did not get cold coconuts with a straw in them. :-) It was really hot so we were happy to drink the nice coconut water.

The staff at the Paradise Cove is nice, helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoltan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Pretty much every hotel on this small island is going to have beautiful surroundings and an easy commute to everywhere else, but Paradise Cove lodges were actually right on the beach and had porches so you could enjoy the view under the palm trees.

We came here for 6 nights on our honeymoon. The first couple nights were the best - we got cold coconuts with the tops chopped off and a straw sticking out when we got picked up from the airport, leis, warm welcome, and they offer a stop in town so you can grocery shop which is really nice. We arrived to a chilled bottle of white wine in our room - it was from our parents but the staff didn't mention that ;) That night we went to the buffet and live music at the lodges and enjoyed meeting some fellow Paradise Cove visitors. Good food at the place the whole time- breakfasts of instant coffee (meh), toast, fruit, peanut butter & jam, and cereal.

My reason for the average ranking comes in here because by day three our garbage had not been picked up and our sheets hadn't been changed - and there hadn't been any cleaning done in our room. It was getting pretty grimy considering we're on the beach and we had to go ask the desk attendant for sheets and then strip and make the bed ourselves. There was a broom in the room so we also did that ourselves too, and had to bring them our trash. This pattern didn't change the entire trip.

Otherwise we liked the place - the front desk staff booked us a scooter, and on a rainy Sunday (when everything else is closed at the island) they gave about 10 of us a lift over and back from church for free. I also liked that on Friday night they brought the bar to the beach and made pina coladas and other mixed drinks right on the beach behind our huts.

Room Tip: Beach front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratherbeskiing12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our cottages were right on the beach and were wonderful. They are clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful. There was a huge sand fly population around when we were there but the staff made sure we had enough of the repellent. The evening meal and entertainment was very special and thoroughly enjoyed - would recommend this too! If you are looking for a tropical paradise, this is your place. Oh, rent the scooters too and tour the island that way. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our short 6 night stay in the Cook Islands. We were greeted at the airport by Junior with fresh flower leis and cold coconuts with a straw in them. We got a lift into town while they were dropping other guests off somewhere which allowed us to get some bottled water as well as soft drinks and a bag of ice for our sunset drinks. As we were only staying 3 nights we did not worry about cooking in the room. Upon reading the guest information booklet it appears that if you want a lift to town as a special trip you will be charged, so you are better off hiring a scooter from them or arrange a lift when they are already heading into town.

We stayed in a waterfront bungalow and the view was great. We got a package deal including airfares from Raro, through Island Hopper travel on Raro which was all arranged via email, and worked out a lot cheaper than booking the room and airfares separately. The rooms are basic but comfortable with fresh flowers placed everywhere for our arrival, however they did not last for long in the January heat. No air-con but the ceiling fan above the bed and the sea-breeze kept us cool enough and the screens kept out the mosquitos. If you get hot there is deep water straight in front of the rooms for swimming.

The Saturday night BBQ was cancelled due to the low number of guests, so walked up the beach 2 doors to Puffys for fish and chips and a few drinks as the sun set over the water. Guest numbers improved and Paradise Cove had sunset cocktails and fish and chips on the beach on Monday night and it was good value and very relaxing.

The staff were very helpful, they rang around to organise a lagoon cruise on the Sunday after one of the two cruises cancelled on Sunday morning. We ended up going with Puna on his (faded) yellow boat and it was a great day.

We hired a scooter from Paradise Cove for and did a self-tour of the island and used the scooter to travel to a restaurant for a meal at night.

We would definitely stay here again on this laid-back, friendly and relaxing island with a beautiful lagoon!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best. Odd rooms are set further forward and Room 1 is on the end and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAussie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

There's not a lot I can add that hasn't been written before regarding the location. It's just beautiful.

We were travelling with our two younger children, so booked a family bungalow. They are one row back from the beach (so no beach view) but are large and comfortable with a double bed and two bunks. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bathroom because it had no ventilation whatsoever – no windows nor an exhaust fan. With the four of us using it, it did get pretty 'stuffy' in there and the only way to let the steam and odours out was to leave the door open. Otherwise the accommodation, though fairly simple, was very comfortable.

En route from the airport to Paradise we stopped at the grocery store in town to buy some supplies. It's a good opportunity to stock up on snacks, bottled water and other drinks as there's no restaurant at Paradise Cove. (They do however serve a tropical breakfast of fruits and toast and once or twice a week they have a barbecue or local food dinner – which are definitely worth partaking of.)

If you want internet at Paradise Cove you need to buy a voucher in town (at the post office or grocery store) to use the hotspot. We did, but found the connection to be so slow that it was pretty much a waste of time and money. So you're better off just turning off the electronics and just chilling out while you're there.

Regarding lagoon cruises, we did the Vaka and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would we go back to Paradise Cove to stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#2 of 13 in Aitutaki
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Lodges

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aitutaki
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove is located on one of the best sandy beaches on the island of Aitutaki, Cook Islands, with great swimming and snorkeling areas. Paradise Cove is locally owned and operated by the people of Aitutaki. We offer self-catering bungalows right on the beach. Our philosophy is to share our beautiful culture and unique island with visitors from all over the world. We have 10 Beachfront Bungalows right on the beach for singles or double/twin travelers and 2 Garden Suites (just right behind the beachfront bungalows) suitable for families of 4 persons. From the balcony of your private beachfront studio take in the magnificent lagoon scenery. In the evenings relax as the sun sets, giving you the most breathtaking scene in Aitutaki. Experience great hospitality at Paradise Cove with warm and friendly staff that will enhance your stay on the island of Aitutaki. See the whales in all their splendor going past the reef of Paradise Cove Lodges from your balcony during whale season. Paradise Cove's restaurant "Coconut Shack" right on the beach is open 7 days for dinner Island Night Buffet with Cultural Show every Saturday 7.30pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Cove Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Aitutaki
Paradise Cove Lodges Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing