We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”
Review of Sunny Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aitutaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Beach Lodge
Ngunguru
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were met at the Airport and transported to and from there by Rata who was very welcoming and hospitable. Nothing too much trouble. The units are clean and spacious, with adequate bathroom (shower), and well equipped kitchen. Its not far from the main town, and restaurants, dairies, and hire places close by. Apart from a cacophony of roosters starting in the early hours (!) it was quiet. Highly recommended for a budget trip to Aitutaki.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paua40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Aroha greeted us at the airport with her cheerful smile. We were pleasantly surprised to be allocated the very front beach bungalow. Fully self contained and very clean and comfortable.
The shower was great with good pressure and the bed was one of the biggest Ive slept on. Very comfortable and always gave a great nights sleep. Over head fan in the middle of the room was great on those hot tropical days. Fully functional kitchen with everything we needed. The deck out front was well used for eating meals on. Gorgeous view and very cool.
Shops within walking distance for food supplies which was good as we had to wait a day for a hire scooter from across the island. When we booked at Sunny Beach we never thought to book ahead for a scooter and being Christmas and new year holiday time of course scooters were all booked out but lovely staff at the information centre found one for us.
The beach is quite shallow and fine for keeping cool. An easy walk around the beach to a resort for a meal if you feel like treating yourself, the snorkeling is also great just outside the resort too. A great takeaway place also within easy walking distance that made Delicious pizza and pasta and asian food. Very good prices too.
We stayed 5 days but could have so very easily stayed 2 weeks at Sunny Beach Lodge.
Cant wait to go back and relax some more. A fabulous place with fabulous people.

Room Tip: Any of the two beach front bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nanny_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows which were pretty spacious with kitchen, etc. Good location!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

It was our second trip to Aitutaki. I chose to stay at Sunny Beach Lodge because our first stay was wonderful. The lodge is cozy, affordable, quiet and close to restaurants and store. Also Aroha (manager) is very helpful. I am not sure when I return the island, but I would choose to stay there again. They added several of new cottages close to the beach and they look pretty.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradise_island72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Whilst the owners of Sunny beach Lodge are lovely people, we were initially disappointed with this accommodation. Originally we booked into the studio units and after the first night we decided to upgrade to the beachfront villa's, because we didn't like the studio units as the bed was really uncomfortable and the units were more suited to backpacker style travelers and they weren't what we were expecting. The beachfront villa's were a little better, however we felt quite isolated as we were the only people staying at this accommodation facility and we had to go around to the owner's place if we needed anything (and they were very welcoming and helpful the few times when we did see them). The hot water in our villa ran out after the first night and from then on we had only cold water. There was no telephone in our unit (and we were totally dependent on the owners to make any restaurant or tour bookings for us), nor was there any laundry facilities on site and there was in fact no laundry services on the entire island, but convenience stores were located within a few minutes walk. The studio units were quite dated and room service seemed to consist of a change of towels and tea towels only. Ending on a positive note, the owners are very lovely and we did really enjoy the conversations that we had with them.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horiboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We had a great time at the Sunny Beach Lodge. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the lodge. The location is nice, really close to the beach with palm trees. It is located closely to the expensive Pacific Resort. We rented some kayaks further along and the boys had a great time. The fish are beautiful. The Island night at the Pacific Resort was not so good, had to wait ages on our food.
Our plane was delayed going home and the owner was very kind and let us stay in the unit for the whole day at no extra charge. She kept in contact with the airline and as soon as it was flying again she notified us and took us to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

A Good clean and tidy place to stay.. No Frills etc. but definately a lovely area for snorkeling straight off the beach and the sunsets are stunning. Wandered down to the lagoon at end of section and watched them every night. Photos amazing.
Went to island night at Tamanu Resort just along the road and Pacific Resort was at end of lagoon (5 mins away) We had 4 nights here and saw nobody in the waters of the lagoon the whole time... Just us two... It was BLISS... snorkeling excellent at full tide and spend hours out in the calm warm water.
Would stay again and found I slept much better here than in Raro.
We stayed in Lodge , but think next time I would try and get one of the two cottages at the waters edge. No MOSSYs in site. Over the other side of island (samade side) all the people seemed to have heaps of bites etc.. We saw none .
Lovely being woken up to ROosters in morning. PeTrol Station (aquilia) just up the road has lovely hot bread about 1pm each day. Hired a scooter just down the road and wizzed around the island .
Dont expect to much luxury. it is basic but clean and tidy. and you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwisahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Motel Aitutaki
The Reef Motel Aitutaki
#11 of 13 in Aitutaki
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gina's Garden Lodges
Gina's Garden Lodges
#12 of 13 in Aitutaki
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Beach Lodge

Property: Sunny Beach Lodge
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunny Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Beach Lodge is a fully self-contained, self-catering affordable accommodation located on Aitutaki, Cook Islands. We face the lagoon on the western side of the island, making for spectacular sunsets! Snorkelling is only a 15-minutes walk away, and swimming just a quick stroll down the beach. The Lodge is centrally located and close to shops, eateries, a grocery store, a bank, and an internet lounge. Our beachfront bungalows and garden rooms make Sunny Beach Lodge suitable for couples, families and budget conscious travellers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunny Beach Lodge Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing