We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lagoon front accomodation in Aitutaki”
Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable lagoon front accomodation in Aitutaki”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Had 3 nights here this month. Perfect location in front of a very swimmable part of the lagoon. Quiet, peaceful spot to get away from it all but with plenty of things to do on the rest of the island and the lagoon. Swimming pool was a bonus, kayaks available and 3 or 4 restaurants/bars in easy walking distance. Surprisingly good food, prices and atmosphere at all the nearby restaurants & bars. Rented one of their rather rustic scooters for the duration which was essential for exploring the rest of the island, getting to town etc. Rooms were small and basic but comfortable, the composting toilet took a wee bit of getting used to but given the limited water resources the island has made a lot of sense. Had no issues with the mozzies and other wildlife that seems to bug other reviewers – maybe a seasonal issue I guess. Cooled with a ceiling fan only, no air con in my room which wasn't a problem. If that was an issue other rooms looked like they had aircon available. Very laid back and friendly staff. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Room 4 - next to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Spent 7 nights, and wish we stayed more. Took a while to slow down closer to island time, not certain if it is in my blood to adapt completely, but once I slowed down, the place becomes perfect! Steve is a fine man, was always helpful, as was the rest of the staff. Others staying there were laid back and friendly. Bring stuff for mosquitoes, a problem in the whole area - at times we just brought our chairs in from the porch and sat just inside our door, looking out. The fresh water pool is very nice after being in the salt water (and rinsing off). Not the place if you are expecting a Hilton, but if you are a regular budget traveler - this place is great - best view, nice room, good vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

If you want value for your dollar, I would recommend Ranginuis to travellers visiting Aitutaki especially if you're on a budget. It's a stone throw away from Samade, The Boat Shed, Koru Cafe and across from the plush Aitutaki Lagoon Resort. Kayaks, scooters and cars can be hired at a reasonable price. Steve, Mellow and Quinton were excellent hosts and if we asked for anything they were more than willing to provide us with what we needed. The pool was a blessing especially during the hot days!!!

Room Tip: The rooms close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muffin00762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The location here is great. On the sunrise side of the island you are just across from a five star resort with great beaches but for a fraction of the price. You are also walking distance from 3 restaurants/bars which is unusual for aitutaki. You do need a scooter to get around the island. The beach of the hotel is a bit rocky but the great location and turquoise water means you can swim or take a complimentary kayak over to a lovely beach. There is a very small pool at the place. The rooms are like mobile homes - a good size but not beautiful. But as you are looking out at the water from the roofed terrace that doesn't matter. Good price for aitutaki and great location. We recommend a lagoon snorkelling trip: the lagoon is unbelievable from out on a boat.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

From our pick-up at Aitutaki airport to our sad drop off on the way home back to the frigid North we were treated like family by the folks at Ranginui's Retreat. Mallow and her family are wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our time living on the Lagoon, - AND WE SURE DID!!!
The location is superb and walking distance to 3 lovely restaurants (Koru Cafe, Samade and the Boat Shed)
Our accommodation had everything you would need to make you feel at home and anything we else we wanted was no problem for Mallow.
Quite honestly, you just can't beat the location of this spot..walk out the door and swim straight in the lagoon. (You're sharing the lagoon with the folks at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa with rates in the $600-$1200/night)
You've got kayaks, cars and scooters if you want them and a small inground swimming pool if you tire of the lagoon ----- (Like that's going to happen!!!)
What we like the best about this spot was the laid back casualness and hospitality shown by our hosts.
What we liked the least???....It is pretty hard to find something but possibly the extra firmness of our bed...it was quite hard but it may have been just our particular cabin.
I would highly recommend this as a very reasonable spot on Aitutaki, where you feel like one of the family and have the best view in the world!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmacdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The whole experience was amazing,accomodation value for money,steve a great host,Quentin ,your fishing trip and Island hopping trips were impressive and the lunch you provided on the day trip to one foot island was exceptional.We are coming back.
John and Carolyn Vasta,Kaikoura N.Z.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank JOHNVKaikoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My wife and stayed there in September of 2007. It was a really nice and clean place to stay and the price was right. Very relaxing and we really enjoyed exploring the island by kayak and scooter.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Property: Ranginui's Retreat
Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing