We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranginui's Retreat on Ootu Beach”
Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Spent a week here last year. Great staff, willing to help in any way. The motorbike they gave me had some water in the gas and it failed after a one hour tour of the island. A local maori gentleman stopped and asked if he could be of assisstance. He phoned Steve at Ranginui's and he sent his son in law over by car to pick me up whereby he lent me the car until he had another bike to give me. Now that's customer service. I otherwise had an incredible trip here and in Rarotonga at Shangri La self catering Cottages. I was there a year ago this week. I miss it. Kayaking the lagoon to deserted motus, one of them where they filmed the TV show Survivor Cook Islands. If you get the chance, do yourself a favour and go see any of these 15 gorgeous islands that make up the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TO-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Ranginui's Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2008

Simply the most beautiful lagoon I've witnessed and I've travelled to Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Maldives, Rarotonga and Indonesia.
I went there as a keen kite-boarder and the conditions were excellent. We had 5 days of windy conditions - still very pleasant and 5 days of calm conditions - ideal for enjoying the lagoon.
Recommend the Glass Bottom Boat day trip and Quinten's day trip. Loads of fun, great food and conditions permitting, great snorkelling/swimming. Not the most scenic underwater area but colourful fish and clear warm water - amazing turquoise lagoon.
Pros:
Amazing water, warm, quiet, not too expensive, very picturesque, some great kite-boarding setups. Friendly and accomodating hosts. Great fun cruising about on a scooter.
Cons:
Be warned - the toilets at Ranginui's were shallow drop toilets - not for the faint hearted! I've done plenty of roughing it and they were a bit too much for $160AUD a night. Easy view of contents and bugs (small flies) after a day or so. Loads of bugs generally - didn't bother us but you wouldn't want to be allergic to bites etc - had bed bugs (got them fixed!) Stone Fish are present - a guest was stung in shallows - can kill. Gets very hot and we had lots of rain.

Despite the cons, we loved the island but might stay at another resort next time.
As a kite-boarder there are probably better places to go but I had a great time on the water. Booties a must.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SurftheEarth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

We have just spent 3 nights at Ranginui's Retreat. We took their 3 night package deal that included scooter, kayaks, airport transfers and a lagoon cruise. I can highly recommend this property! We booked directly with the property and found the owners and staff to all be really friendly and helpful.

The bungalows are clean and have everything you need including microwave, fridge and stove top. Yes the toilets are environmentally friendly compost toilets, but no we did not have any problems with smells or bugs.

The position of the bungalows is perfect - mere metres away from the lagoon with great views. The doors and windows all have fly screens on them so there is no problem with bugs getting into the bungalow.

Overall we had a great stay and would happily go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

I have just been browsing through tripadvisor and saw Ranganuis which my gf and I stayed at a few years ago. Please bear this in mind when reading my review as it may have changed since then.
First impressions of the unit were good. Nice and clean, with flowers on the bed in the bath room etc. Then we were told that the WC was composting which means that you sit on a normal wc which is positioned over a hole in the ground. Think Reading / Glastonbury festival! We were assured there would be no smells coming back up (the waste doesn't wash away just piles up) as there were chemicals to break it down. This was true but it was a pretty awful sight when you lifted up the toilet seat!! The bathroom area in the unit was not completely separate from the kitchen/sleeping area. There is a large gap around the top of the partition. Any noises or smells waft around the unit freely!
The web site photos of the 'beach' area are mis leading. It is basically a slope that leads into a channel where water runs in and out of the lagoon. It is more like a nice coloured river than sea and I didn't feel comfortable swimming in it.
At night there are literally hundered of bugs in your room as there are gaps that require sealing where walls/floor/ceiling meet. Some of the bugs would make noises all night long as they jumped around. You could here them clicking on the floor as they jumped.
The fan in our room didn't work properly. Although it rotated properly the blades were not at an angle so instead of pushing air around they sliced through it without any effort and thus no relief was had from the hot humidity. We were booked to stay 5 nights but on day two I got on the scooter and went to the airlines office in town to change our flight back to Rarotonga and we were able to leave the following day. We went into Steve the managers office/home (?) to tell him. What a mess, it was like a pig sty. Literally the home of a slob.
I have never been so glad to escape somewhere. Thank god we knew about Paradise Inn on the main island.

  • Stayed: November 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Hat_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Me and my girlfriend travelled to Aitutaki for 3 nights and stayed at Ranginui's Retreat. We were very impressed by the excellent service the owners gave us. The views from the beach bungalows were amazing!! Anyone travelling to this part of the world should seek this resort out before any others as it really is excellent value for money. A special mention to Quintein who gave us an excellent day tour of the lagoon!!

Ben and Te Ao

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BenPrangnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ein Bungalow mit Klimaanlage, zB Nr. 3, direkt neben dem Pool
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cowryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank mimi332016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range: £52 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing