We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in the the best location in Aitutaki”
Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Little Gem in the the best location in Aitutaki”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here and were amazed that for an affordable price we could stay in Aitutaki for even longer. I suggest a week minimum here if you enjoy water sports and a relaxed beach setting. Steve is a gracious host and a very kind hearted man who made our stay that extra bit special.
Ranginuis looks onto the same Lagoon as the Lagoon resort and at a fraction of the cost it the best option when weighing in cost and location. We will be back again and thanks also to the lovely housekeeper Lani who was so friendly during our stay.
The kite surfing, whale watching, one foot island trip all with Wet and Wild is truly amazing and bookable through the resort. Quinton and his wife Melo looked after us very well and the lunches were best we've had on day trips.
Keep up the good work Ranginuis!!

Room Tip: All rooms look over the lagoon and close to beautiful pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    30
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at RR and would go back tomorrow, we just loved it, it is of course not the Pacific Resort experience...so, if you don't need to be met at the airport with ei's and water and a special place to sit, if you don't mind an eco-loo,no air-con (in our room anyway), and if you just want to chill, it is just so peaceful and relaxing, can jump in the lagoon which is about 15 steps from doorway, bed comfortable, bars and cafes near if you want to go, friendly locals, scooter hire, gorgeous gorgeous views, kayaks to play around on and no-one standing on much ceremony but Steve (owner is great) then go to RR's. We just had the best time (at a great price!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had yet another great stay at Ranginuis this year but at the sunset this time. What a great beach and view. Steve the owner was helpful as always. Great scooters kayaks and sup boards to use. A good pool at the Retreat.

Looks like the secret is out thou as Ranginuis getting very popular. Ill be back for sure save me a spot on the beach please.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms for either site is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The first thing that just takes your breath away is the unbelievable color of the lagoon not even a stone's throw from the cabin verandah. We were a family of 4 (with teenagers) so we were very comfortable in 2 cabins. While there were good restaurants in easy walking distance, the on-site scooters were useful for exploring further afield and lots of fun. Steve was very helpful and knowledgeable about the other recreation options on the island.
We alternated a self catered breakfast with Cafe Koru down the road (great french-toast and pancakes). A lagoon trip is a must for the unbelievable snorkeling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putaruru
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Ranginuis Retreat looks over the lagoon to the posh Aitutaki Lagoon resort and they pay lots more for their view! Rooms were adequate for what we wanted.
Nice and relaxing for our 5 days as you can walk to restaurants, but on-site scooters for hire are needed to check the rest of the island. A long way from the shops.
Pacific Cove resort do a cheap Umu meal during the week. Check out the clams at the Marine Research Centre, but best seen snorkelling from a lagoon cruise.
Take heaps of insect repellant and it is mossie heaven on the island!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

As Steve said as we looked across the narrow channel to the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort, they're paying $400 to $700 to look across at us. The motor scooter was included and very useful to go downtown to stock up on some food & drink items although we enjoyed trying out the 3 closest retaurants and bars: Samade, Koru & Boat Shed. They all provided good, well prepared and reasonable priced food.
The room was basic but clean and relatively spacious. As noted by some others, the eco-toilet was no problem and gave no smells. There was plenty of hot water for our showers and washing. We didn't cook in our room but appreciated the fridge, utensils and kitchen sink. The transfers from and back to the airport were included.
As we were there from Saturday afternoon to Tuesday morning we went to the main church (by scooter) on Sunday (oldest and largest on Cook Islands) for some amazing singing and on Monday, walked to the Vaca Lagoon Cruise for snorkelling and to visit the outer islands / motus. Steve arranged this tour for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Location was perfect. Beautiful view of the lagoon and view of the expensive Aitutaki Lagoon Resort! Steve was an excellent host. Picked us up from the airport. Taught us to ride scooters. Eco toilet is nothing to worry about. I was hesitant at first but it does not smell at all (better than a regular toilet). For the price and the location, this was the perfect place to stay! Restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Property: Ranginui's Retreat
Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing