We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Loved our stay here. It was by far a great location. Some rooms don't have air cond and if this is a problem for you, then ask for one with. Steve is very helpful, and continues to touch base to make sure you're enjoying yourself. He also books things for you and makes the stay enjoyable. Makes you feel like you're staying in a friends home. Walk out of your room and swim. Location is A+++++++++++.
Highly recommend if you are after a relaxing no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterf3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

We spent 3 1/2 weeks at Steve,s resort this Feb and March/08 .We were continually amazed at the gracious treatment and the genuine thoughtfulness that Steve,Quentin and Melow provided us.We feel fortunate to have experienced a pleasurable and memorable vacation in a unique environment that this paridise provided us. Our entire Aitutaki vacation was always a adventure with positive outcomes and we will be back . It is exactly as advertised and as far as we are concerned we needed a relaxed no nonsense vacation with no itinerary and that is what was provided while being treated like family.Many thanks Steve.We will be back
Ross and Irene

  • Liked — Clean and peaceful
  • Disliked — ants
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happycampers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

The cabins are humble accommodations but having said that - that's exactly what I was looking for and I was more than happy with my choice. That's why I gave it an "above average". Do not confuse "above average" as a 4 star hotel rating. If you're looking for a pampered luxurious stay while on the Cook Islands, do not pick this lodging. If you're looking for a road less traveled, beautiful scenery, good value, clean accommodations and added amenities while on Aitutaki, this is the place to go. Our six day package included a cabin with kitchenette, access to a scooter to travel throughout the island, kayaks and snorkeling gear at our disposal, and included a lagoon cruise and wonderful lunch. The lodging at Ranguini's Retreat was a great value.
Aitutaki is the 2nd most traveled to island of the Cook Islands. It is not as populated as Raratonga - a much more quiet atmosphere than the main island, but the lagoon setting is gorgeous - turquoise waters that I've never seen before. There are several wonderful restaurants on the island and an assortment of different shops. Snorkeling, scuba and fishing boats are available for hire.

  • Liked — the value
  • Disliked — inconvenient at times to find a person at the main desk, but hey, it's "Island Time" and everyone on the island is laid back and not necessarily in as much a hurry as others may be!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GenieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Ranginui's is a nice place to stay and good value. We took the 4 day package including a scooter, kayaks and a lagoon cruise. Some of the guests were long term repeat visitors and we would gladly return as well. The host Steve was most helpful, meeting us at the airport, and had our scooter delivered to our cabin shortly after arriving. The location, (about an 8 minute scooter ride to town) is excellent, with views of the lagoon, and swimming right in front of the cabin. The snorkelling about 50 meters east of the property is very good, with the coral full of fish. We saw blue starfish, puffer fish, parrot fish, and hundreds of others,and it was all just steps from our cabin. The lagoon cruise with Quentin was tops, his boat is fast, and gets you to more locations allowing for more time to do things. His fish lunch on the beach was delicious, with salads, fruit trays etc. On the cruise we snorkelled a couple of locations, explored a few islands, swam a bit...just a perfect day in paradise! The Ranginui accommodations are basic but very acceptable. The units are clean, and the kitchenette allowed us to prepare meals and snacks. There is plenty of hot water, and there is clean filtered tap water for drinking. The rooms were serviced each day. The eco-toilet, while different was not an issue at all, with absolutely no odour. When the opportunity comes to return to Aitutaki, we would certainly stay here again. Aitutaki is a very relaxing, beautiful place. It's quiet, and all the people were friendly. A great, unforgetable vacation experience.

  • Liked — great quiet location, great view, relaxing on the lounger under the palm trees
  • Disliked — leaving to go home
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

Spent a week here last year. Great staff, willing to help in any way. The motorbike they gave me had some water in the gas and it failed after a one hour tour of the island. A local maori gentleman stopped and asked if he could be of assisstance. He phoned Steve at Ranginui's and he sent his son in law over by car to pick me up whereby he lent me the car until he had another bike to give me. Now that's customer service. I otherwise had an incredible trip here and in Rarotonga at Shangri La self catering Cottages. I was there a year ago this week. I miss it. Kayaking the lagoon to deserted motus, one of them where they filmed the TV show Survivor Cook Islands. If you get the chance, do yourself a favour and go see any of these 15 gorgeous islands that make up the Cook Islands.

  • Liked — The proximity to the Lagoon
  • Disliked — The broken motorbike
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TO-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

Simply the most beautiful lagoon I've witnessed and I've travelled to Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Maldives, Rarotonga and Indonesia.
I went there as a keen kite-boarder and the conditions were excellent. We had 5 days of windy conditions - still very pleasant and 5 days of calm conditions - ideal for enjoying the lagoon.
Recommend the Glass Bottom Boat day trip and Quinten's day trip. Loads of fun, great food and conditions permitting, great snorkelling/swimming. Not the most scenic underwater area but colourful fish and clear warm water - amazing turquoise lagoon.
Pros:
Amazing water, warm, quiet, not too expensive, very picturesque, some great kite-boarding setups. Friendly and accomodating hosts. Great fun cruising about on a scooter.
Cons:
Be warned - the toilets at Ranginui's were shallow drop toilets - not for the faint hearted! I've done plenty of roughing it and they were a bit too much for $160AUD a night. Easy view of contents and bugs (small flies) after a day or so. Loads of bugs generally - didn't bother us but you wouldn't want to be allergic to bites etc - had bed bugs (got them fixed!) Stone Fish are present - a guest was stung in shallows - can kill. Gets very hot and we had lots of rain.

Despite the cons, we loved the island but might stay at another resort next time.
As a kite-boarder there are probably better places to go but I had a great time on the water. Booties a must.

  • Liked — Location and view across the lagoon
  • Disliked — Drop/eco toilets
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SurftheEarth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

We have just spent 3 nights at Ranginui's Retreat. We took their 3 night package deal that included scooter, kayaks, airport transfers and a lagoon cruise. I can highly recommend this property! We booked directly with the property and found the owners and staff to all be really friendly and helpful.

The bungalows are clean and have everything you need including microwave, fridge and stove top. Yes the toilets are environmentally friendly compost toilets, but no we did not have any problems with smells or bugs.

The position of the bungalows is perfect - mere metres away from the lagoon with great views. The doors and windows all have fly screens on them so there is no problem with bugs getting into the bungalow.

Overall we had a great stay and would happily go back again!

  • Liked — Staff, location, views, everything!
  • Disliked — Leaving :(
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Property: Ranginui's Retreat
Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing