We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

this place is one of the best to stay at very quite and the managers are a great couple and the staff are some of the best around very friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem for these people, and the whole place is so relaxing, I will be back again, even though I stayed here while working they are a wonderful lot and will be back with my wife again as this is not the first time I have stayed here, last year was my first and my wife was with me and she pre booked this years trip before we left so as you can see by this it will be my 3rd trip staying with these wonderful people and this little Paradise

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the absolute Beach front is right on the beach, you and the sand from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    49
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
768
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We recently stayed at Etu Moana for our honeymoon and absolutely loved every minute. The staff are wonderful and very welcoming and the villas are just gorgeous.

The location of the resort is close to a great range of restaurants (both casual dining and more upmarket) and we certainly took full advantage of the bicycles that are available for guests to use to ride out to Samade Bar.

Room Tip: One of the lagoon front villas would be divine. We had glimpses and it was still absolutely stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It has taken so long for us to write a review on our wedding at Etu Moana as we really could not find the words to do it justice, but we shall try.
We first went to Etu Moana in 2010, so when we decided to get married there was not a second thought on going anywhere else. But back to Aitutaki and Etu Moana as we simply loved it that much. We were there end of October - early November 2013 for approximately 2 weeks The island, the people, Etu Moana, is still Heaven on Earth to us.
Parana is the wedding coordinator extraordinaire.Nothing was a problem for her, 99% of our wedding was organised via emails. Parana is brilliant and communication with her was a breeze.
Parana organised flowers, the cake, the Minister, our vows, the band, decorations, food, drinks. Our photographer Potini aka Reggie, Blondie's Photography...more on Reggie later. Our day trip the next day with Captain Puna, Aitutaki Adventures which was another perfect day. As well as our evening at Samades. She organised everything.
We know that every Bride and Groom believes that their wedding is perfect and beautiful. But, and we may be a little biased here, ours was stunning. All the staff worked so hard to make our day special, from the boys working on the beach, to Parana, Chelsea, La Toya, Shardae, Terri just to name a few, preparing the archway, the island boat,and anything else that needed to be done to Tim and Lucille making sure we were relaxed and comfortable. We cannot recommend them enough. As for our photographer, Reggie from Blondie's photography, he was amazing, not only did he do our photos, he also did hair and makeup. He made us feel so relaxed and comfortable and is so much fun to be with, putting all the bridal party at ease. As for our photos absolutely beautiful.
I know that we may not of mentioned everyone that made our wedding and stay so wonderful, so please forgive us for that, but know that we mean all of the staff when we say we cannot thank you enough for making our wedding and stay with you so perfect.
If anyone is thinking of getting married in Aitutaki, do yourselves a favour, stay at Etu Moana, get Parana to organise your wedding it will be simply superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A peaceful ,relaxing and very private boutique resort, where we very much felt that we were the only people lucky enough to enjoy this place. At low tide you can walk along miles of beach, and when it rained we saw the unique sight of a complete rainbow from end to end.
In January it was rather too hot to use the free bicycles, but if you do, it is just a short ride into the nearby "town." Much better to take out a kayak and explore the lagoon.
Breakfast is complimentary but there is no restaurant, however we discovered Sonya's organic farm just steps away, which is open Mon,Wed, and Fri. She makes the most interesting food…try the breadfruit lasagne.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We loved our 1 week stay in Etu Moana. Managers, Tim and Lucille, were superb, as were all the staff. The units are spacious, well-equipped, and we loved the large front deck area. The beach was lovely, and swimming/snorkeling/kayaking through the offshore coral was a delight.
A healthy complimentary breakfast poolside started each day. There's no restaurant, but the units are well-equipped if you want to self-cater - the challenge is buying food on the island. There are restaurant choices just short beach walks away, and we had fun scootering around to further options. Best meal we had was in Tupunas. Renting a scooter is a great idea.
The lagoon cruise, with superb snorkel stops and outer island visits was well worth doing.
The islanders were just great - friendly and welcoming. Sunday morning church singing is quite the experience.
The island roosters were not so great - earplugs help.

Room Tip: unit4, a step back from the beachfront, was excellent. All units are identical inside, the beachside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaverishintensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a full seven days and it was amazing. Beautiful setting with a stunning beach just steps from the units. There was peace and quiet with awesome service from the staff - especially the managers Tim and Lucile.

I wouldn't not hesitate for one second to come back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What a relaxing 5 days.. Etu Moana captures the Aitutaki spirt... Extremely private, personal and friendly environment.. We'll be recommending yet his place to everyone! We especially loved the honesty bar, it's a great idea to minimize staff around the resort, it felt like we were the only ones there most of the time.. Definitely the best holiday we've had!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Property: Etu Moana
Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing