We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay right on the beach.”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I remember taking one of the free canoes out into the shallow green lagoon to see the sun set into the water; the wild cockerals crowing; the nice pool; the friendly staff .... cottages are spacious if slightly dark, the atmosphere is pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marccom2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

lovely location, the villas are beautiful and full of comforts.
Tim is a very good person and the personal is well prepared and kind.
Good breakfast and central position.
unfortunately in Sunday there is nothing open on the island and also the reception is closed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stefano H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our third time at Etu Moana. Every stay here is wonderful and this was no exception. It was a pleasure to meet Tim and Lucille. They are doing a wonderful job running the place. We had originally booked for villa 8 (garden and lagoon view) but due to a maintenance issue we were upgraded to villa 2 (beach view). This was a very nice surprise and it was kind of them to let us stay in that villa for the entire time. Having said that, all the villas still make for a special vacation in Aitutaki.

We went on two different lagoon trips whilst in Aitutaki. They are by far the main reason we keep returning to this magical island. We have reviewed them separately.

We can’t thank Tim, Lucile and the rest of the Etu Moana staff for another fantastic stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed as a couple at etu moana two weeks ago and couldn't fault anything. We started in villa 4 which was great with a view of the sea and then stayed in villa 10 which is absolute beachfront and it was perfect . All villas are the same but the absolute beachfront ones are the best, you have a great view of the sea from your bed, what more can anyone want ! villas 3&4 are great too. Villa 10 was the most private . After saying all that it was the people of etu moana and aitutaki that made our holiday so special. A special mention to lucile and tim , the managers , who were so friendly and accomodating. , I spent my birthday there and after returning from a massage at the pacific resort i was greeted with a bottle of champagne complimentary of the managers. It is those special little touches that made etu moana extra special.I started my holiday stressed, couldn't sleep and left rested and sleep pattern back to normal. I would highly recommend etu moana to anyone . We will be back. Ps. Don't forget to bring the strongest mosquito spray you can find as they will have a feast of you otherwise...

Room Tip: Villa 4 or villa 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

In march we spent 2 weeks at Etu Moana and it was simply a dream!
There are only 10 very beautiful self-contained bungalows with spacious terraces and fully equipped kitchens, located at a breathtaking beach.
Etu Moana is managed by Lucile and her husband Tim, a very friendly and extremely helpful couple, who organized everything we wished and helped us wherever they could. The staff in general was very friendly and gave us a feeling of being at home.
We recommend Etu Moana, cause we simply loved it and we will definitely come back again. Thanks to Lucile and Tim for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkussaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The nicest beach location on Aitutaki and I think the best looking of the beach accommodation in the area. It was a wonderful relaxing holiday, the view from the beachside villas is incredible and I could spend hours laying on the beach reading with such beautiful surroundings. Etu Moana have really gone the extra mile and added the little things that make a difference from the leis and coconut on arrival to the selection of DVD's, board games and books available, to the honesty cocktail bar with a booklet of suggested cocktails made up to suit the provided drinks. The staff were lovely and everyone was extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone coming to Aitutaki island.

Room Tip: Beach front are the best but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent our 48th wedding anniversary at this idyllic place, and couldn't have wished for a happier day! Our wonderful hosts, Lucile and Tim, delivered a beautiful greetings card and a bottle of Champagne to our beach-front villa. Nothing was EVER too much trouble for them.

We met and made friends with other guests from far and wide, breakfasting round the pool every morning. The breakfast menu might have been a little more varied, but being on a remote island, we couldn't possibly expect the same as a five-star hotel in London or Sydney.
The whole atmosphere was one of casualness. Sleep when you want, swim, kayak, or take a day tour on the amazing lagoon to one-foot island.

Relaxation was the name of the game, and although we hired a car for a couple of days, we also borrowed Etu Moana's bikes to cycle along the road for lunch or dinner. Great fun!

This island is very special, and Etu Moana is even more special. - right from the moment you step down from the plane, to the moment you watch it disappear ruefully at the end of your stay.

But, we will be back...

Room Tip: You have to choose absolute beach front! Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miras0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
472 reviews
0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £272 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing