We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Chris and Rob – Victoria Australia
After 18 months of researching and planning we finally arrived at Etu Moana on 10th September. We stayed in Villa 3 for 6 nights and loved every minute.
Villa 3:
The villa is just as the photos on the website show – you won’t be disappointed!
This place is truly wonderful! We felt as if we were the only people there, and most of the time we were the only ones on the beach.
Jo-Anne and Jim were superb hosts, and the staff are wonderful and go out of their way to help you and ensure you enjoy your stay.
All the little extras such as the torches, DVD’s, and bikes were great, and we loved the ‘honesty bar’.
Villa 3 was spectacular, great bed, beautifully furnished, everything you could need. We loved sitting on the deck eating breakfast looking at the lagoon. We also saw whales just out beyond the reef.
We have booked Villa 3 again and will be staying longer next time!
Aitutaki:
We snorkelled in the lagoon right in front of the villa - saw a moray eel, the blue starfish and many, many beautiful fish – there are lots of sea-cucumbers here though.
We rode a scooter around the island, ate at the restaurant at Tamanu Resort just up the beach and at Toru Café over past the airport.
The Yellow Boat cruise with Puna and Tutu was great – fantastic scenery, great snorkelling, and wonderful food - I’m vegetarian and there were plenty of salads etc. The colour of the water in the main part of the lagoon is simply unbelievable!
The roosters did crow at all hours, but it didn’t worry us, and we didn’t have any problems with mosquitoes.
The Cook Islanders are lovely and so easy-going – it’s worth going there just to experience the amazing friendliness and warmth of the people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2008

My wife and I were fortunate to stay at Etu Moana for 12 nights during our honeymoon. It was a vacation that both of us will never forget, and the perfect way to start our honeymoon off on the right foot.

From the moment we were picked up, the staff at Etu Moana treated us like a part of their family. Throughout our stay, the staff did everything they could to make sure our stay was as comfortable and perfect as possible.

Our room, Villa 8, was absolutely perfect. It is the furthest from the beach, however the patio provides a perfect view of the lagoon and the surrounding gardens. We didn't seem to hear the roosters as much during the night and in the mornings as the other villas did. The room has everything that you need for your stay, from a full kitchen with stove and full size refridgerator, to satellite tv (two channels, but who needs it here anyways!), to a huge bathroom and optional outdoor shower.

Breakfast is served each morning poolside from 8am to 10am. They have a fantastic selection of fresh fruits, pastries, breads, cereals, yogurt, juice and coffee. After your first or second morning, Tere and Parana (the excellent breakfast staff) know exactly what you want to drink and anything else you might need.

The beach is very nice, and perfect for some much needed rest and relaxation after the stresses of planning a wedding. My wife and I spent a lot of time on the lounge chairs during the day, and had the chance to meet many of the other hotel guests who enjoyed doing the same thing as we did....nothing!

Our favorite activity had to have been the lagoon cruise on the yellow boat (Aitutaki Adventures). The front desk will make the reservations for you, and it is worth every bit of the $65 per person. We liked it so much, we signed up to do it again, and Captain Puna and his wife were kind enough to give us a discount. The food alone is worth it, but it is truly the only way to get out and experience all the lagoon has to offer.

Make sure to rent scooters from the hotel and explore the Island on your own. My wife and I had a ton of fun doing this, and really got a chance to see every part of the island. It is well worth it, and a lot of fun as well!!!

Our favorite restaurant was JK's Bar and Grill. It is literally at the top of a hill in someone's backyard, however it is by far the best and CHEAPEST place to eat on the island. We probably ended up at JK's 6 times during our 12 day stay. It is really that good! We also enjoyed a few meals at Koru Cafe, the Boat Shed, Cafe Tapuna, and the Pacific Resort. A word of advice....stay away from the Pacific Resort...they are RUDE!!!! The food is OVERPRICED!!! The staff are NOT FRIENDLY!!!! They won't let us just have a cocktail at the bar, they make you order something to eat. Not worth it to us...

Overall, Etu Moana is heaven on earth. The hotel guests are great, the staff is wonderful, and the location is incredible. I would recommend this little slice of heaven to anyone who is looking for a relaxing honeymoon or a romantic getaway. We will be back for our five year anniversary for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stonemanmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Stayed in Etu Moana for ten nights during our honeymoon. It took us six (!) flights to get here, but was well worth it. Photos of the place are accurate, it's a pretty tranquil resort with 8 villas.

The villas are beautiful, the resort is literally on the beach, and the breakfasts are simple but delicious. There's no restaurant on-site but there are lots of options in walking distance or a short taxi ride.

When we stayed, most of the residents went to the honour bar for a cocktail or beer at sunset. Having said that, the place is very relaxed, you do exactly what you like, when you like.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, and I'd go back to Etu Moana without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed at Etu Moan for 5 nights on the last leg of a 5 week trip around the world. It looks exactly as the photos and wesbite say- the beach and villas are gorgeous and pretty much immaculate. However, there are a few points to consider before booking. We were not on our honeymoon, we just wanted to stay somewhere beautiful and relax. Most ppl staying there are on their honeymoon so just ekkp this in mind. Secondly, there is nothing to do in the evenings close by. Food and transport is particularly expensive but it isn't conveniently close. Thirdly, if you are a light sleeper be warned of the bloody chickens, making nosie all through the night. Before going I did know about them, but I did not anticipate the volume of noise and length of noise that they made. Some nights it was nearly impossble to sleep!

In saying all this, I would return there because it is beautiful, Jim and Jo-Anne are wonderful hosts. They tdrove us out to another part of the island in their car with kayaks so that we could go somewhere different. It is a wonderful place to stay, just not perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Greenie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

we enjoy Etu Moana so much that 2009 will be our 5th visit,It is named after a warrior who came to settle from avakai a long time ago.its a volcanic atoll the water is crystal clear a greenish blue colour that changes with depth of the water.It is the most peaceful place in the world,Joanne and Jim have built paradise at etu moana,I arrive there exhausted from business life and leave totally recharged,All the staff are totally professional,So its kick off your shoes and stay awhile at etu moana,they will ensure you have an unique,memorable experience.I will never forget the colour of the lagoon,Jo and Ian Wilde New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ianandjowilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This was our honeymoon and I was in charge of it. I looked at Trip Advisor quite a bit for some guidance, and it really helped. I saw this place because they used to book through Costco but they stopped for whatever reason. After looking at all the rave reviews, I figured we had to stay here Costco booking it or not, so we actually changed our honeymoon dates in order to stay here. I was skepitcal it would earn the 10/10 it got on reviews but after staying there, they earned every comment and good thing that they received. It was the highlight of our trip! The room was amazing, it was very very well kept up, all the staff were exceptionally friendly and most importantly, for me at least, they were as capitalistic as other resorts. They truly thought of all the details and it shows. They went above and beyond on their rooms and it's a magnificent thing. They also have an honesty bar. I really appreciated this. It's basically a fully stocked bar where you help yourself to whatever you want, write it down in your own personal invoice book and settle the bill when you leave. What makes this so great is that they don't mark up the prices for this bar, it would seem that they only charge what it costs them. Etu Moana only charges a fraction of what you would pay in a restaurant. We stayed in the second row back of bungalows, and it was a magnificent view.

Snorkeling, movie rentals, kayaking, snorkeling gear, beach loungers and pedal bikes with torches were all free to use. There are two perfectly placed trees on the beach also for shade and if you want a dip the snorkeling is great from right off the beach! If you stay here you truly won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kevin946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Like most other reviewers, I had very high expectations of Etu Moana based on TripAdvisor reviews. Keen to see whether it lived up to these expectations, I booked 6 months prior to our trip. Perhaps not surprisingly, even this far our the beachfront villas were totally booked, and we ended up booking Villa 6 behind the pool.

Needless to say, Etu Moana goes beyond all your expectations. It's small, intimate, beautiful and luxurious. But that's what you'd expect based on the reviews. What floored us was the friendliness and honesty of the place, insofar as nothing was too much trouble, no corners were cut and there was an absolute commitment to making every guest feel amazing.

I had a special request - a surprise birthday cake for my travelling companion. Not only was this easily arranged at a very reasonable price, the lime & coconut cake was delicious and made entirely from local ingredients (even if it's noone's birthday, ask for it - you'll love it!). We had guests from other villas coming back to us asking if there was any left!

Aitutaki is pretty much as far away from the outside world as it gets. You don't expect the best hotel experience you've ever had to be found there - but it is! Joanne and her crew went above and beyond to make the experience unforgettable from pick-up at the airport to having to say goodbye (or be dragged out kicking and screaming!). The island itself is spectacular - the yellow boat lagoon cruise is superb. Cafe Te Puna is one of the best dining experiences in the Pacific. But speak with the crew at Etu Moana - they know what's worthwhile.

You'll have no choice but to chill out on Aitutaki, and Etu Moana makes sure you do it in style, without a care in the world. Etu Moana is worth every single review it's received here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £254 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing