We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, it couldn't have been better!”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    49
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
768
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

My new husband and I spent 9 wonderful nights at Etu Moana at the beginning on our wonderful honeymoon in June/July 2006. I cannot find the words to describe how beautiful Etu Moana is or how amazing our hosts Jim and Joanne were. Etu Moana is so beautiful, amazing, stunning and perfect. Believe what you read, this place is top notch. We were fortunate to be living in Villa 3 - right on the beach, and the bungalow was amazing. Nothing has been forgotten, these guys have catered for everything. If you are visiting the Cook Islands you have to stay in this wonderful slice of paradise. I never believed anywhere could be so much like paradise, the sand is so white and the water so blue. We took a trip to honeymoon island which was equally as stunning and to mark our start into married life we planted a coconut tree ... so we WILL be back to check up on it and we WILL be staying at Etu Moana with the wonderful Jim and Joanne. Feel free to email me with any questions you have because I am struggling to find enough words of praise and all my recommendations have gone blank ... sorry ...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a beach front villa (number 3 is slightly closer to water) - very private
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ilovethecolourpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2006

We arrived in Aitutaki for a 12 day stay at Etu Moana Beach Villas and stayed in Villa #7. IWe were amazed to be greeted by my son -in -law and daughter, Jim and Jo-Anne who I had not seen since my last visit in 2004 when they were just starting the constrution of the Villas; what a remarkable paradise. Being surrounded by beautiful flowers and close to the lagoon; we enjoyed the way they served the continental breakfast and enjoyed meeting other tourist s from all over the world. Jo-Anne organized a lagoon cruise to One Foot Island where they even stamp your Passport. The weather was hot and humid even though it was the Fall season. The air conditioner in the Villa was well appreciated. The staff was very helpful and available. We had the pleasure of attending a wedding on the beach and toasting them with Champagne. This is one of the many ways Jo-Anne and Jim greet their guests. We felt we were part of the celebration! IWe cannot congratulate them enough for the beautiful Resort that they have built and put in so much time to make sure the guests would enjoy a vacation of a lifetime. After speaking with other guests, they all want to return to Etu Moana!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elmsmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We decided to stayed at Etu Moana last October after reading great reviews on this website. They don't exaggerate! The island, the bungalows, and the people are fantatstic. I won't repeat what has already been said in other reviews about the great views, comfortable rooms, and great staff. They gave us suggestions on restaurants and activities, as well as helped set up a day of snorkeling/picnic-ing on the lagoon(don't miss this) .

Two things I would point out to anyone potentially staying here: On Sunday nights, some of the restaurants are closed, so plan ahead and you can make a great dinner in your bungalow. There is a small grocery store within biking distance and we stocked up on sodas, wine, and snacks, too. Having a kitchen in the bungalow was very convenient. The other thing I would mention is be sure bring bug spray, as well as some lotion in case of bites.

Overall, it was execellent and we will definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seat24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2006

We heard that Aitutaki was one of the most beautiful places in the Pacific and it more than exceeded our expectations. We spent some time researching places to stay and having read Trip Advisor Etu Moana was our first choice. What a place. Joanne and Jim have done everything to ensure a perfect stay. Beautifully designed villas with excellent layout, they have thought of everything. Plenty of privacy if you want it but it is also easy to connect with other guests as well. Great place for snorkelling and kayaking, perfect for beginners and those with experience, just off beautiful quiet beach only footsteps from the villas The staff (Theresa Lovey et al) at Etu Moana were outstanding. Loads of good advice and recommendations on where to eat and excursions. Really recommend Kia Orana Cruise for trip around the Lagoon especially on a Sunday when no other boats are out . A very special experience. Unlike Island Night at the Pacific Resort which was disappointingly unprofessional, better to go to the Blue Nun on Saturday night and join in with the locals. Thank you Joanne and Jim for making our holiday so magical. We'll be back. Del and Sue Trew, Kumeroa, New Zealand

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
407 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

This is by far the best place to stay on Aitutaki (we stayed in three different places). The welcome was very warm and we felt at home from the very beginning. A perfect place to relax and to feel well. We stayed (2 adults, 1 teenager) for 3 nights and it was a highlight on our 1 month trip from Brazil to Australia.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Property: Etu Moana
Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing