We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfection”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed at Etu Moana in Villa 4 for three nights following our wedding in Rarotonga and it was just amazing. I admit that I had high expectations following the reviews that have been previously written; we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect from the greeting at Aitutaki airport, to the staff who were always willing to have a chat and recommend some great local activities, to the honesty bar (with the best prices in the Cooks) and complimentary breakfast, to the beautiful villas with amazing snorkelling right outside the door.

Every little detail has been considered and all of those finishing touches have been added which is what makes a place truly unforgettable.

We can't wait to return to Aitutaki and wouldn't stay anywhere other than Etu Moana.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

I took my husband to Etu Moana for three nights, for his 50th birthday. I did the research and relied on great feedback on Trip Advisor. We have travelled extensively, but never to Aitutaki, and I was really hoping it would be good. Leaving the kids at home etc had been a bit of a stress and we were ready for a break., We were met at the little airstrip by Tere, with beautiful garlands and a lovely smile, driven to Etu Moana and met by the managers, who were just lovely - so welcoming. Straight down to relax over breakfast by the pool, and then given towels to relax on the beach until our room was ready (it was early in the morning).
Our room (Number 6) was gorgeous - an ocean view, fully equipped with kitchen etc, tropical flowers placed on pillows - heaven. Really comfy bed, nice crisp linen, gorgeous deck with day bed if you get the time to relax ! Free bikes, snorkelling gear etc etc. Just take a couple of changes of clothes, swim gear, thats it.
After three blissful days here,we really could not think of a single improvement, the place is perfect. The only similar service we have experienced is at the five star Huka Lodge here in New Zealand, about three times the price of Etu Moana.
The staff were consistently wonderful, the managers bent over backwards to help with even the smallest things, there seemed to be a great team spirit amongst everyone working there.
We are going back next year, for a longer stay. Really happy to answer any questions about this place or about Aitutaki.
Go there at once!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have traveled all over the world and had a difficult time choosing where to spend our honeymoon, I really wanted it to be special. Our expectations for Etu Moana were very high and we were not at all disappointed. We were greeted at the airport with flower leis and Jeff/Janine were waiting with coconuts upon our arrival (they greet all guests personally) it was a wonderful personal touch that we really appreciated. We would have loved an ocean view or partial ocean view, but booked late and so we had a pool view (villa 6). The villa was still lovely and we had a great view of the ocean from our bed.

Jeff and Janine bent over backwards to make sure we had a great stay. I contacted them prior to my arrival and booked a private charter on the Black Pearl with Mike and Mere so we could go snorkeling and fishing (highly recommended!!), and upon our arrival we decided to book another lagoon tour. The lagoon is absolutely gorgeous, everyone should spend at least one day there... since we had a 5 day visit, we decided to spend 2 days on the lagoon and it was so much fun. The water was crystal blue and the fish were plentiful and gorgeous! We took advantage of the free bicycles and biked all over the island... there are very few cars and they all drive very slow so it is safe to bike on the roads. I could go on for ages, but really, Etu Moana and Aitutaki exceeded all expectations. We regret spending 2 nights in Rarotonga, we wish we had the extra nights in Aitutaki instead! A few things to note (after all, no trip is perfect): The water in the shower never got very hot. It was always just lukewarm. Second, there are mosquitos everywhere and they are quite vicious, so make good use of your mosquito coils and dont leave your door open! I was quite perturbed my first night at the hotel to see lots of creepy crawlers around my bed (the screen door must have been left open). I was also a bit disappointed in the restaurants on the island. We went to Cafe Tupuna, the restaurant at the Pacific Resort, Samade, Tamanu, Koru Cafe... nothing really had the romantic/intimate/upscale vibe that we were looking for (then again, I compare everything to my favorite restaurant, Anacoana, in Turks and Caicos, which is absolutely amazing). In summary, I have no regrets about choosing Etu Moana and Aitutaki as my honeymoon destination and i'd recommend it to anyone!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sfmama2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We have just returned home after staying 3 nights at Etu Moana to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. What an amazing place-from the warm welcome by the lovely staff to the beautiful villas and amazing setting! The pool with its honesty bar is fantastic. We have had the best time and can't wait to return next year! Our adult children were on holiday with us but stayed at a different accommodation nearby. Geoff and Janine are fabulous hosts-albeit temporary- the owners who are away at the moment are very fortunate to have them! Although having our kids next door was probably a bit unusual they went out of their way to accommodate our needs .The lagoon cruise on the yellowboat with Puna and his family was an absolute highlight for all of us-a truly perfect day!
Thank you to all the beautiful people we met. You made our trip to Aitutaki truly memorable, especially those at Etu Moana. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sangemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

What can i say that hasn't already been said??? This was the place we stayed for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. Wished we would have stayed longer...and next time we will!! So so so romantic and secluded and just lovely! Advice?? book WELL in advance!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby_nurse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We visited Aitutaki in 2005 and saw Etu moana being completed. We were cycling past and stopped and talked to the owners, who spent time to show us around. We said we would one day go back. Sure enough 2010 we went back and were not disapointed. The staff and all facilities were top class. This hotel deserves it reputation, it was fantastic. We have travelled all over the world, including Seychelles, Maurities, St lucia but this is the BEST.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Rooms were lovely, we stayed in villas 6 and 8 and they were both as beautiful as each other. Rooms are nicely kept and lovely touches like fresh flowers each day help make the stay that much more enjoyable. The staff are lovely and willing to help in any way they can. Their recommendations of activities and dinner are great, well worth listening to. The breakfast they include each morning is perfect for the day, although we did not make it every day. The kayak's, mosquito coils (very appreciated), pool, dvds, bar and games they supply for use on the stay are fantastic. They have thought of everything. The only thing i can say bad is that they are so popular it is hard to get in, so big tip, book a long time in advance!! It will be worth the planning though as we loved every minute of our stay with them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greygos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: £260 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing