We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$465
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuru Club(Aitutaki)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,000
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$664
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
915
55
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
55
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barour honeymooncook islandslagoon cruiseabsolute beachfrontyellow boatthe managershonor barevery morningfishbeachfront villayogurtday bedgreat hostspacific resortkoru cafeheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have just arrived home from a week at Etu Moana and it was the best holiday we have ever had Jeff and Janine are the kindest most helpfull people you will ever meet, nothing is to much trouble the rooms and grounds are amazing and the staff are happy whilst we were there we had a chance to check out some of the other hotels and nothing even compared even if they charged twice or sometimes three times as much per night, do your self a favour and book early we booked 7 months in advance and it was worth the wait, its all the little things about this place that you wont find anywhere else service like this has been lost but not at Etu Moana

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MairsMountIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We spent 5 nights at Etu Moana for our Honeymoon in September. From the moment we stepped off the plane, the staff from Etu Moana made us feel so welcome and at ease. We stayed in Villa 1 and loved it - the rooms are amazing and luxurious without being over the top. The beach on Aitutaki isn't the pure, soft white sand that I was imaginging, but the beach out the front of Etu Moana is one of the better parts of the island. And great snorkling. The use of the bikes and kayaks add to the relaxing experience at Etu Moana. Don't stress about anything - the wonderful staff there will help with whatever you need, whether it be dinner reservations, a towel and a poncho after you get back from a scooter ride in the pouring rain, or clean clothes!
If you are lucky enough to go to Aitutaki, do yourself a favour and stay at Etu Moana! Book early! We will definately be going back :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceSprings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I could not have prepared myself to behold the magnificent beauty of Aitutaki and arrival at Etu Moana.
These gorgeous beach villas exude a special ambiance that is welcoming and intimate, charming and romantic, with an air of understated luxury.
I was very warmly greeted by Jeff & Janine who made me feel right at home.
Captivated by the sweet fragrance of the beautifully manicured gardens, sounds of tranquility, and absolute beauty of the lagoon - I could not have dreamed for more! Staff were exceptional, in particular Lovey.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were looking for a great honeymoon spot and booked Etu Moana on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. On the basis of those reviews we had high expectations and we weren't disappointed.

We stayed in villa 7 which, while at the "back"of the property, still had good views of the ocean and we had no problems spotting whales from our verandah one morning!

Everything about the stay was perfect. The villas contained good kitchen facilities including gas cooktop and good sized fridge, so you can self cater if you want. Included in the rate is breakfast each morning and this was of an excellent quality - toast, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, cereal, tea and coffee and all served with a smile, even when it was bucketing down with rain!

The villas also had a TV and DVD player and there was a good DVD library, which came in handy for those tropical downpours. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was good ventilation and full screens throughout which meant there was no need to use the air conditioning unit.

The honesty bar was fantastic. A good range of beers, wines, spirits, juices and soft drinks, and all at reasonable prices. There are excellent kayaks available, loungers on the beach and a great pool which is handy to cool off in.

Jeff and Janine were wonderful hosts. They met us on our arrival with drinking coconuts and then sought to understand what we wanted to do before providing excellent recommendations and making the necessary bookings for us for restaurants and lagoon tours. Not once did their recommendations disappoint.

Dave's coconut show was the best I have seen (and I've seen a few) - the only disappointment for readers of this review is that we were lucky enough to see his last show. We were also treated to a one-off performance by the staff (the "Etu Moana Dance Girls"!) who wanted to farewell Dave in style, much to the delight of all the guests.

All in all a perfect honeymoon and we look forward to returning for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We just returned from a 2-week stay in the Cook Islands (Aitutaki, Atiu, and Rarotonga). We did a great deal of research prior to leaving for our honeymoon and it was evident from the beginning that Etu Moana was a place that we wanted to visit --

As some of the other reviews have pointed out, there are only 8 bungalows. If you have a preference to which one you will call home, then you need to reserve quite a distance in advance. I was shooting for one of the "absolute beachfronts" but they were booked. In fact, the only opening they had was in #6. We loved this villa.

Here is my run down of Etu Moana:

(1) LOCATION
--> Great location on the west side of Aitutaki. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach -- very close to the Tamanu Beach Resort.

(2) FOOD
--> Etu Moana includes breakfast in your rate and this is such a great deal -- because many places on Aitutaki do not include breakfast. The menu includes cereal, fresh fruit, toasts, yogurt, coffee, and tea. It is not a huge menu, but it is perfect for a nice morning before you hit the water.

(3) SERVICE
--> Jeff and Janine were great hosts. They greeted us with a coconut drink upon arrival, and we would often run into them on our way in/out. They had great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The entire Etu Moana staff (Lovey was great!) will go out of their way to help you.

(4) VILLAS
--> Beautiful. You are in the middle of paradise and this villa is your home away from home during your stay. The beds are comfortable. The showers are huge. The bathroom is well appointed.

(5) SUGGESTIONS
--> Island night at Tamanu Beach was fantastic.
--> Don't bother pre-booking snorkel cruises. The Etu Moana staff can arrange everything for you. I would suggest Te King. It was fantastic. We did several tours and this was the best.
--> Rent scooters and explore the island.
--> Hike "the mountain." It takes about 30 minutes, but provides an amazing view of Aitutaki.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiejov55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews