We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always lives up to our expectations”
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
eurekacalifornia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always lives up to our expectations”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Our 3rd visit to Etu Moana and we had a wonderful time. It always lives up to our expectations. Plenty to do or just relax. The staff and hosts were great. Went on "Yellow Boat" snorkel twice during our 3 week stay, Wonderful! The more often we go the more we love Aitutaki. Koru cafe ! Great food and lovely people. "Local Style" Island night at Puffy's was great fun and good food. Rent a scooter and just cruise around. We'll be back next Fall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandcandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    49
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
781
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aitutaki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Etu Moana for a week in August, 2010, and would without hesitation recommend it . The manager and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful, and they have organized a staff that was just great. If they can keep the resort in current shape going forward, there is not a better place to stay on Aitutaki.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Isa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have just arrived home from a week at Etu Moana and it was the best holiday we have ever had Jeff and Janine are the kindest most helpfull people you will ever meet, nothing is to much trouble the rooms and grounds are amazing and the staff are happy whilst we were there we had a chance to check out some of the other hotels and nothing even compared even if they charged twice or sometimes three times as much per night, do your self a favour and book early we booked 7 months in advance and it was worth the wait, its all the little things about this place that you wont find anywhere else service like this has been lost but not at Etu Moana

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairsMountIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We spent 5 nights at Etu Moana for our Honeymoon in September. From the moment we stepped off the plane, the staff from Etu Moana made us feel so welcome and at ease. We stayed in Villa 1 and loved it - the rooms are amazing and luxurious without being over the top. The beach on Aitutaki isn't the pure, soft white sand that I was imaginging, but the beach out the front of Etu Moana is one of the better parts of the island. And great snorkling. The use of the bikes and kayaks add to the relaxing experience at Etu Moana. Don't stress about anything - the wonderful staff there will help with whatever you need, whether it be dinner reservations, a towel and a poncho after you get back from a scooter ride in the pouring rain, or clean clothes!
If you are lucky enough to go to Aitutaki, do yourself a favour and stay at Etu Moana! Book early! We will definately be going back :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceSprings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I could not have prepared myself to behold the magnificent beauty of Aitutaki and arrival at Etu Moana.
These gorgeous beach villas exude a special ambiance that is welcoming and intimate, charming and romantic, with an air of understated luxury.
I was very warmly greeted by Jeff & Janine who made me feel right at home.
Captivated by the sweet fragrance of the beautifully manicured gardens, sounds of tranquility, and absolute beauty of the lagoon - I could not have dreamed for more! Staff were exceptional, in particular Lovey.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were looking for a great honeymoon spot and booked Etu Moana on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. On the basis of those reviews we had high expectations and we weren't disappointed.

We stayed in villa 7 which, while at the "back"of the property, still had good views of the ocean and we had no problems spotting whales from our verandah one morning!

Everything about the stay was perfect. The villas contained good kitchen facilities including gas cooktop and good sized fridge, so you can self cater if you want. Included in the rate is breakfast each morning and this was of an excellent quality - toast, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, cereal, tea and coffee and all served with a smile, even when it was bucketing down with rain!

The villas also had a TV and DVD player and there was a good DVD library, which came in handy for those tropical downpours. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was good ventilation and full screens throughout which meant there was no need to use the air conditioning unit.

The honesty bar was fantastic. A good range of beers, wines, spirits, juices and soft drinks, and all at reasonable prices. There are excellent kayaks available, loungers on the beach and a great pool which is handy to cool off in.

Jeff and Janine were wonderful hosts. They met us on our arrival with drinking coconuts and then sought to understand what we wanted to do before providing excellent recommendations and making the necessary bookings for us for restaurants and lagoon tours. Not once did their recommendations disappoint.

Dave's coconut show was the best I have seen (and I've seen a few) - the only disappointment for readers of this review is that we were lucky enough to see his last show. We were also treated to a one-off performance by the staff (the "Etu Moana Dance Girls"!) who wanted to farewell Dave in style, much to the delight of all the guests.

All in all a perfect honeymoon and we look forward to returning for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We just returned from a 2-week stay in the Cook Islands (Aitutaki, Atiu, and Rarotonga). We did a great deal of research prior to leaving for our honeymoon and it was evident from the beginning that Etu Moana was a place that we wanted to visit --

As some of the other reviews have pointed out, there are only 8 bungalows. If you have a preference to which one you will call home, then you need to reserve quite a distance in advance. I was shooting for one of the "absolute beachfronts" but they were booked. In fact, the only opening they had was in #6. We loved this villa.

Here is my run down of Etu Moana:

(1) LOCATION
--> Great location on the west side of Aitutaki. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach -- very close to the Tamanu Beach Resort.

(2) FOOD
--> Etu Moana includes breakfast in your rate and this is such a great deal -- because many places on Aitutaki do not include breakfast. The menu includes cereal, fresh fruit, toasts, yogurt, coffee, and tea. It is not a huge menu, but it is perfect for a nice morning before you hit the water.

(3) SERVICE
--> Jeff and Janine were great hosts. They greeted us with a coconut drink upon arrival, and we would often run into them on our way in/out. They had great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The entire Etu Moana staff (Lovey was great!) will go out of their way to help you.

(4) VILLAS
--> Beautiful. You are in the middle of paradise and this villa is your home away from home during your stay. The beds are comfortable. The showers are huge. The bathroom is well appointed.

(5) SUGGESTIONS
--> Island night at Tamanu Beach was fantastic.
--> Don't bother pre-booking snorkel cruises. The Etu Moana staff can arrange everything for you. I would suggest Te King. It was fantastic. We did several tours and this was the best.
--> Rent scooters and explore the island.
--> Hike "the mountain." It takes about 30 minutes, but provides an amazing view of Aitutaki.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiejov55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Property: Etu Moana
Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing