We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matriki Beach Huts
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Etu Moana(Aitutaki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aitutaki Escape(Aitutaki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
162
28
7
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
28
7
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseother guestsgarden unitfishgas stovecook islandsone foot islandboat tripgreat snorkel spotan excellent lunchcommercial touroutdoor showerthe managersmosquito netbudget accommodationwarm hostslazy days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

... honestly! If you'd rather spent your money for activities like snorkelling etc. than on accomodation, but you still want a decent resort, this is your catch: Immaculate clean and comfy beach huts with kitchen and private shower only 10 meters from the sea. The beach is the cleanest on the island, with a hammock, picknick tables, sunchairs and floaties for free use.
Plus the managers Tracey and Trevor with Ted work the magic: it's like your happiness is their only concern! Join their lagoon cruises to discover an incredible underwaterworld beyond imagination and enjoy the yummy lunch on a picturesque tropical island.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here... Every hut is amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jubi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Kia Orana
Thanks for the review, it is great when our work and effort to create this environment here at Matriki is met with such enthusiasm.
We do seem to be attracting interesting travelers who want to experience a remote tropical paradise, with lots of ocean activity. Something that can't be had at other places.
We encourage people to stay cheaply and use those savings to experience, to get involved in real cool interesting things, to venture out on the lagoon, the outer reef etc and take with them memories that will last a lifetime.
So come and enjoy great hospitality, clean rooms, right on the best beach, for a fraction of the price of the others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

It's the most beautiful place I've ever been to.
The people are all very friendly on the island.
Especially the hosts of Matriki Beach Huts are so friendly, funny and give you the best opportunities to discover the island and its surroundings.

It was more than worth it going there...it was just a dream!
don't think about it, do it! you'll never regret it! =)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

We respond to all reviews as the Managers of Matriki.
Thanks for your input and for staying with us here at Matriki on Aitutaki.
Yes it is a wonderful place and full of friendly people,
We delight in sharing with our guests the island and all its wonders, it can truly be a paradise and nearly every one that leaves feels like they should have stayed longer.
Budget for a few lagoon trips with us at Matriki as these are very very special.
As the review says you will not regret coming to a place like this, there are so few left these days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Every single detail of this wonderful place is taken care of: The lovely huts are quite basic, but spotlessly clean, with a kitchenette and private open-air shower. Even cold drinking water awaits you (plus there's free filtered drinking water available any time). The soft sand of the beach - 10 meters from your hut! - is cleaned every morning. Snorkel from one meter off the beach or relax in a floatie, in the hammock or a sun chair on the beach.
If you wish, join the fun pot-luck dinners on the beach once a week (stunning sun-sets included) followed by cosy chatting and singing around the fire.
Lagoon cruises for snorkelling & islands visits are FANTASTIC - we've been 10 times within our 15 days stay: extremely friendly and warm atmosphere, great lunch and incredible snorkelling.
Best part of all: the hosts Tracey and Trevor... They're just the most georgeous people you could stay with, always concerned with how to make your stay even more enjoyable. They go the extra 1000 miles! Thank you guys - never has the saying "come as guests, leave as friends" been more true... You're friends for life for us and we defenitely hope to come back one day!
Ps: owners have changed recently - anything in Tripadvisor older than February 2013 does not aply anymore.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Schreeeeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We like to respond to all reviews as operators of Matriki
Tracey and I would like to thank you for your feedback.
You guys had such a great time here and we enjoyed having you stay, you were like our good luck charm. We had such fabulous weather and some of the best snorkeling days of the year due to the calm winds and incredibly clear water both in the Lagoon and on the Outer Reef. You were here for our biggest Pot Luck Dinner and when ever the boat went out you were always on board and first in the water and last out. To have such guests as yourselves makes it a pleasure to run a place like this. To get a farewell cake made and then to send a care parcel from Raro were so unexpected but so appreciated. We sure hope to see you again soon oh and Ted misses you big time.
T N T N T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We are a couple from Sweden/New Zealand living in London. Went to Aitutaki for Two weeks and stayed at the cosy Matriki beach Huts. Pick up service from the airport and was amazed by the views from the new beach hut we stayed in. Complete with its own shower with a view and kitchenette. Mathias offered a wide rage of activities including deep sea fishing, snorkelling and an amazing Lagoon tour and we tried them all. We also hired a scooter for the duration of our trip and highly recommended to get around the island. He has also got bicycles for those who like a slower pace. Snorkling in front of the accomodation was some of best on the Island and sunsets were enjoyed after using the communal BBQ down the beach.
Excellent value for money.

Also to recommend on the island is to visit the native clam regeneration program by the airport. The work they are doing is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flomenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We like to respond to all reviews as Operators of Matriki
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy you ventured to Aitutaki and experienced the magic of the place and the beauty of simple living at Matriki.
We would also like to recommend the Marine Research Centre and encourage all our guests to visit and learn more about our marine environment here.
The scooters are a great way to see the place and at $25 good for the pocket and the environment.
Thanks so much for the feedback
Tracey and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived in Aitutaki somewhat knowing that we would find ourselves in paradise. Little that we knew Matriki Beach Huts and their hosts T&T (Tracey and Trevor) would contribute so much to that feeling. Among so many more accommodations to choose from, Matriki is truly the place to stay if you are an adventurous traveller. Nothing can replace the amazing feeling when you wake up in the morning, step out of your hut and sink your feet in the whitest sand ever, just to walk a few steps and have the most turquoise water right in front of you! Morning swims are the best. The view of the lagoon is spectacular and Matriki definitely has the best snorkeling on the island within the reach! T&T offered organized trips to One Foot Island and Honeymoon Island with a homemade lunch and stopovers for snorkeling. They would educate you on the local life, customs just so you can feel more at home. Truly amazing. Thanks to staying at Matriki we met other travelers, exchanged pictures, stories and just simply mingled over pot luck dinners every Wednesday night and bonfires. You can't have this experience at a major resort or a hotel. Matriki rocks :-)!!!!
Tracy and Trevor - thank you so much for such memorable vacation. We will be back...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggabi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

We like to respond to all reviews as the new operators of Matriki.
Thank you very much for your review, it is great to get feedback from guests.
Tracey and I have put in a lot of work into the place and it is great that the guests really appreciate the time and energy we put into making everyone's holiday as good an experience as possible. The pot luck dinners are a great way for guests to interact and find some common ground, it also so much better sharing the table and food with others (14 people is our new record) especially if you have been traveling for awhile. Oh yes the beach bonfire is good too.
The lunches we provide on the boat trips are sourced from the local organic farms and only contain fresh ingredients, and home made pita bread. It certainly makes a difference.
The snorkel tours are small intimate groups usually only guests, and our aim is to spend as much time as possible IN THE WATER.
We like to go to One Foot Island on Sunday's as it is usually completely empty of people on this day. We do so hope that we will soon get return guests to this far flung wildly remote piece of the Pacific.
Trevor and Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews