We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hosts Made it Special”
Review of Matriki Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matriki Beach Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife looked at the photos of the huts and said eeek ! your taking me to stay with Robinson Crusoe!. But what a pleasant 9 days it was. The huts are right on the beach which has Coral as good as any on the island 10m offshore. They & the toilets are kept very clean by Tracey & Nga & are within walking/cycling distance of the “town” & most of the resorts (should you want an upmarket meal). We made it a point to eat/have a drink at least once at each of the $500 to $1500 a night resorts (even took the free room tour-requires pre booking- of the A Lagoon Resort & Spa) and there was no way they were worth 5 or 10 times what we had at Matriki.

What really made it though was that Tracey & Trevor, who have been Managing Matriki for just over a year, really went out of their way to make us have a memorable experience. I wont mention Trevor’s cooking skills on the Australia Day trip to One Foot Island, as he set the bar very high other than to say that both the one foot trip and the snorkeling trip were very good value for money, swimming with the 5 inquisitive giant trevally( like 1.2m plus) was a high light. Zipping around on the scooter for a day was fun, we even had some Russian “spies” visit in a private jet to get the island talking, we were glad we had 9 days as had rain for 2 days, but Tracey has a vast book collection for rainy days.

Aitutaki sometimes has fresh food shortages and everything else is very expensive, so if you are self catering best to bring what you can from Rarotonga unless you want to pay double or not have it at all e.g. only imported NZ tomatoes $5 each when we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I came to aitutaki to relax, snorkel and have a real Pacific island experience. This was the perfect place for all of it. Simple but clean and homely huts, just on the beach with beautiful snorkeling spots all around. Very helpful and nice hosts giving me tips on the best shops and places to go on the island and helping me with everything I needed, straight away.
Going out with them to the lagoon was also a huge treat, with a wonderful lunch and good company.
Skip the pricey and boring resorts and have a personal and wonderful experience with Tracey and Trevor instead.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Patrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Staying in matriki is not like staying in a western cocoon of a resort where you experience nothing of island life.... Trevor and Tracey at matriki really made our holiday in aitutaki. We stayed for 8 nights and by the time we left we could feel the pulse of the island. We were truly involved in island life. Trevor and Tracey are inclusive without being in your face. They have fully integrated into the island culture and allow you as guests to do so too as much or as little as you please. Trevor introduced us to paddle boating, took us on an excellent boat trip which is not to be missed, hired us bicycles so we could explore the island, ran coconut school, cooked on "pot luck" dinner night and generally was able to advise us on what to do and where to go. Tracey helped us out with getting some provisions after she picked us up from the airport - shopping in aitutaki is very hit and miss but she was willing to go to a few shops to help us get what we needed. Both Trevor and Tracey look after the reef by removing the spiky starfish that destroy the coral, and Trevor even sends the sea cucumbers near the matriki bit of beach "on holiday" to make paddling in the sea even more pleasurable.
We stayed in the beach hut which was nice and private. As with all huts of this type anywhere in the world, expect the odd creepy crawly etc. in your room, and in this case, hermit crabs in the outdoor shower. Nothing that bothered us at all.
The beach is great and the sea is calm and warm. The fish come right into the shallows so you only need to take a couple of steps into the sea until you see fish. The coral is also very close to shore so you have to navigate around it a little, but there's plenty of space to chill out in the warm water.
Aitutaki is not very developed which is great, but some people find that there's little to do. We were quite happy cycling, walking, snorkelling, sunbathing etc., but if you're looking for western type activities (shops, bars, cinemas etc.,) don't come here.
We were hoping to be able to eat fresh fish each day in aitutaki, but it was very hard to come by which we found disappointing, and often when we did find it we had to ensure it was grilled and not deep fried. Options for eating out are very limited, with very few formal options, and most places close early. There's very little to do on the island at night.
Wifi is also limited in the Cook Islands in general, plus its a little pricey.
The weather in November was hot and sunny with an occasional breeze. Trevor and Tracey were desperate for rain as water supplies were running low, so we all did our bit to conserve water.
We had a great time staying here and can't recommend it enough. For a 10th of the price of the "resorts" in aitutaki you get 10 time more memories!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thecyclingbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After travelling for a few years, how many hotel suites, motel rooms or backpacker hostels do you really remember ? Probably not many. That said, I wouldn't mind betting that, after a few nights at Matriki Beach Huts, your memories will become indelible and will remain with you for years and years and years . . .

Matriki Huts is not so much a room or a roof over your head as a whole experience - a rare opportunity to slow down, appreciate the beauty of your surroundings and just chill out. Its living proof that all you really need in life is a bed, a 2-ring camping stove, a simple sink, an outdoor shower, communal toilets and a translucent lagoon right outside your front door. It is sublime and will immediately appeal to those who value simplicity, tranquility, the beach, the water, the sunsets and the stars.

All of this is carefully orchestrated by Tracey and Trevor, warm and generous hosts who are not only living the dream but are enabling people (like you and I) to share it too. Their lightness of touch and attention to detail is pitch perfect. On arriving they will gently explore what you hope to see or experience on the island and then quietly go about ensuring that it happens: if you want to go on a jaw-dropping snorkelling trip then they will put it together; if you want to pedal around the island then you can simply rent one of their bikes; if you want to just fade out and read a book then that's fine too. It is a carefree but attentive management style that is so suited to 'The Huts' and to the island as a whole.

Thank you Tracey and Trevor for 5 incomparable, memorable days. I can now cross off of my Bucket List the entry for 'staying in a coconut-palmed beach hut on an idyllic tropical island'.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 153B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What can we say about matriki beach? The location is perfect. The hut we stayed in was 27 paces from the water at high tide. The picnic bench on the beach could be moved so you sat with your feet in the water. The snorkling off the beach was great, good coral, various fish deep enough at low tide to still be able to go out, unlike some other beaches. The accommodation was basic, clean and comfortable, we are both over 60, the sound of the waves on the reef was soporific.
What sets this apart from other places is the people. Tracey and Trevor made our stay very special. We went on 2 trips with them. A snorkling one where we went for 5 dives, saw amazing coral,clams, fish. We had lunch 5* on a deserted island. Everything was provided from mints to suck after our dives, dry towels, fish guides, local knowledge and antipodean humour.
The second trip to one foot island was on a Sunday. No one else was there. Again the snorkeling was amazing, the best we have done anywhere in the world, the water was so clear.
We almost cancelled our 5 nights in rarotonga so we could stay longer. We wish we had.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi
Thanks for your review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Matriki, Aitutaki really is a special place and we are so glad you got to see just how wonderful the lagoon is, those trips really make the trip out here worthwhile. Tracey and I really enjoyed meeting you, and we sure had a lot of laughs. Even with you photo-bombing us at the airport departure lol. Thanks again and keep in touch we want to know how everything is going with you two. Remember you are always welcome back, to our little bit of paradise.
TnT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Matriki is one of the very few places I have visited which just does everything right. The lovely little beach bungalows are so clean and comfortable, yet so simple. The views in the morning over the lagoon are lovely. Trevor and Tracy are great hosts - it felt more like visiting friends more than anything.

Highlight was definitely going on Trevor's lagoon cruise, twice in fact with my brother. The snorkelling spots he took us too were brilliant, and it was so nice being the only people there. Lunch in tropical paradise was also outstanding, freshly prepared beforehand by Trevor and Tracy. Thoroughly recommend going with Trevor on the lagoon as he takes you to places that other's may not.

Would love to go again. It's a breath of fresh air to stay at a place like this. Hope Aitutaki stays beautiful and doesn't get too commercialised, it's perfect as it is, and Matriki fits in with this so well!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hi
Trevor and I have tried to make the place as comfortable as possible and to provide all the little things that make a place special. It is often the small details that are noticed the most and make such a huge difference. Like the lunches you mentioned, we really spend a lot of time and energy in making the lunches as good as we try to give guests home cooked and healthy meals as this is often what people miss the most. It also gives our guests an insight into what is available food wise on the island and how healthy you can live on a remote island.
Snorkelling trips are another area where we want to offer a experience different from all the other operators etc, We endeavour to take you to the best places at the best times and tides and to plan the day around you and nature so your experience is the best possible it can be on the day. Small personal trips also allow us to cater to what you want to do most, be that spending time in the water cruising the fabulous reefs or just admiring the beach and the view. Trevor really knows the reefs and the lagoon and is one of those who loves to get into the water as well, so he can pass on his knowledge and experience to make your dives even better. It is also important to make it sustainable and to protect the reef and the islands. Mostly we love your comment "it felt more like visiting friends more than anything." because that is the experience we endeavour to provide. Thanks for you review and thanks for becoming a Matriki guest, ( a select bunch) we hope to see you back one day. Tracey and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I'd like to facetiously thank Trevor, Tracy, Ted and Tiger for ruining our grand vacation. My wife and I just retired and to celebrate we have just begun an nine month vacation. Unfortunately our first stop was Matriki on our way from Los Angeles to Auckland. It was a perfect Paradise. There can be no better hosts than Tracey and Trevor, no better accommodations than the Matriki beach huts and no better time than the three and a half weeks that we spent there. In short we have no hope of finding a better place in this world on the whole rest of our vacation. The only consolidation we have is that once our vacation is over we are going to return to Matriki and get a permanent lease on the Tree House. We are going to live in the bottom and invite all of our friends, alphabetically, to come and visit so that we can show them what Paradise is like.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Hi I am so glad we could welcome you and show you some Southern Hemisphere Hospitality. Tracey and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much, we very much enjoyed your company. It was our pleasure to allow you to relax and enjoy the first part of your retirement. It is not often we have guest who can stay and enjoy without any time restraints, so from these guest it would seem 3 1/2 weeks is now the perfect amount of time to stay, though I think you were still wanting to stay longer hey, but duty does but call. Tracey and I really hoped you got a real insight into the island and its people, customs etc and of course the lagoon. oh by the way Ted and Tiger are lauding it over Marmalade since he did not get a mention.We do try to give everyone a fabulous time but with guests like you it is so easy. it is great when guests come with such a amiable attitude and love of interaction. We are so pleased to have met you and hope you keep in touch, and that your vacation is superb and you know you are always welcome back, we will keep you favourite room free. PS thanks for the fantastic photo night it is a memory that will always remain with us. All the best from the team at Matriki Trevor and Tracey, Nga Ted Tiger and Marmalade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matriki Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range: £65 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki
Matriki Beach Huts Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing