We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitter Sweet!”
Review of Matriki Beach Huts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Matriki Beach Huts
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bitter Sweet!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely location but bad experience with manager. I booked the double-level beach hut for my family 6 months in advance and put down 50% deposit as required. 2 wks before arriving, unforeseen circumstances meant family couldn't come. Told manager that I was happy to downsize accommodation just for myself if someone else wanted the other room/level (which might make it cheaper for me) as I was attending a health conference on the island. My email was misread and I got a long-winded angry reply. The short story is: it was too short notice and couldn't possibly fill the room in that time. I said don't worry I will pay the full booking which I did. However, the tone and wording of the reply put a bad taste was in my mouth already. To add insult to injury, they then rented out the room for 6 of the 7 days that I had already paid for. No offer of a refund. Just accepted my extra $625 as a bonus I guess. It's very unfortunate because I liked the location but I wont be going back... it'd be too awkward, as it was the whole time I was there. The managers were friendly enough but I felt ripped off and was gob smacked that they didn't offer me a refund of any kind for filling the downstairs room I had already paid for.

Room Tip: I rated at Poor because I paid $1246 for 2 double-rooms/levels but only got 1, and my time there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We thank you for your review and are very upset that you did not leave with a better experience.
You did say it was a great location and the managers were friendly.
Mostly we are upset that the guest never mentioned the issue to us and the first we heard about it was a post on Trip Advisor. I have been in contact with the guest and discussed the situation with him before I responded here. I do urge guests with issues when ever they travel,to actually inform those responsible at the time it occurs or at least bring it to their attention. It may solve your issue much quicker and easier and pick up any miss-understandings and is the courteous thing to do.Tracey is deeply regretful that her email response to you, was interpreted in a completely different way from what she intended.
Emails can seem so impersonal, one should not allow their entire experience to be diminished by an interpretation of one email. Out of the 14 emails we had with you, one email changed your whole experience, and we are deeply sorry that occurred. We will endeavor to make sure that it does not happen again. Our cancellation policy is on the website and it varies on how much time you give us to resell the room.Room rates are such a small part of revenue on our island, all tourist services like restaurants, airport transfers, tour operators, vehicle rentals, retail shops etc all suffer when there is a no show.
We are a small and very budget place and one unit is one fifth of our revenue, so to offer a refund we first have to be able to fill it. Two weeks is really small time frame during the off season on a remote island and in this case was just not enough time for us.
We did as management decide that since you were only using only one room, that the guest who had wanted to book the beachfront many months previously but couldn't, was then moved from the back to the beach front. In hindsight we should have asked you if moving these guest's was an issue. We wrongly assumed that you wouldn't mind other travelers getting to experience the beachfront location you were not using. They were prior guest's and the only difference was that the garden unit was then empty instead of the coral hut.
We also encourage all guest's to purchase travel insurance, especially those traveling with young family members, so that an unexpected event which makes you change your plans at very short notice, does not end up ruining your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    26
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
104
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Aitutaki is gorgeous. Matriki is a gem: rustic beach huts located just off the beach so that you can appreciate the incredible sunsets from your porch. Trevor and Tracy manage Matriki and were always good for stories, dinner reservations, organizing a botanical garden tour, lessons on how to peel and grate coconuts, where to buy organic vegetables, etc. We went on two amazing snorkeling tours with them.

Plan to bring some food with you as supermarket food is expensive and limited. However, there are also plenty of restaurants on the island.

Just trying to figure out how soon we can return...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The beach huts are the most adorable things ever. The Treehut, where we stayed, was well equipped, accommodating and the bed was very comfortable! Each hut has its own shower, but the Treehut's shower is an outside shower, which we found great.

Matriki fosters a great community spirit and we spoke with all the other guests and formed great holiday friendships. There is a hammock, a fire pit and a BBQ for all to use. The beach in front of Matriki is well looked after and is actually far nicer than the bigger resorts on the same strip of sand.

The hosts, Trevor and Tracy, are genuinely welcoming, warm and incredibly friendly. Trevor was always on hand to tell us some stories about the Island.

The snorkeling / lagoon tour we did with Trevor was a once in a lifetime experience!! Trevor took us to places where the more commercial tours don't go to. We had lunch on a deserted motu, walked around Honeymoon Island, walked across sandbars, and snorkeled bits of the lagoon only locals know about. Truly amazing.

If you want a place that is less 'tourist' and more 'traveller' then this is place! Matriki is amazing value for money and we will definitely be coming back here again.

Room Tip: The Treehut has an an amazing view out towards the reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EvBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi
Thanks for your review and positive comments.
We are so glad you experienced the great environment we try to encourage here at Matriki.
Whenever guest take our trips and venture out onto the lagoon, then they get to experience the best things that are on offer in Aitutaki, the amazing lagoon, the beautiful water, the empty isolated islands, the white sand palm fringed beaches, the fantastic snorkeling. This creates a huge bond between everyone who is involved, as it is often the best adventure many have ever had in their lives. So we see our roles as more than just running a few beach huts, we endeavor to make sure you have a chance to have the best holiday as possible. Thanks for your feedback and we are so glad you will be coming back.
TNT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and excellent value for money. If your looking to disconnect from a fast-paced lifestyle and turn the mobile phone off...this is the place to do it. Small and well-appointed beach huts (with outdoor shower & shared toilet).

Currently managed by the lovely Trevor and Tracey. Make sure you take up their offer to go on their half-day snorkel and lagoon tour trip...you won't want to miss that...especially snorkelling the coral around One Foot Island and planting a coconut on Heaven Island.

If your traveling on a budget we'd highly recommend this posse.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kozzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Kia Orana
Thanks for your feedback and your positive review.
You would never have to force me to take guests out on a lagoon tour.
No matter how many times I venture out into the lagoon it is always breath taking.
It truly is the best lagoon in the world, the perfect place to snorkel.
The water is just so blue so warm and there are so many fish everywhere.
You are right when you say "don't stay anywhere else " it really is such a great vibe here at Matriki and it is made all the more special by the many varied and interesting travelers that are always around Matriki. We so hope people came and visit and find out all about us for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Tracey and Trevor were perfect hosts, and the beach hut was a romantic idyll. The outdoor shower and shared toilet only added to the experience. Bring your own food - the kitchen facilities are awesome, and you can save money. Force Trevor to take you out on the snorkeling tour, and don't stay anywhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi
Thanks for the feedback.
Glad you like the Coral hut, it does have a large kitchen and with all the utensils and everything you need. A lot of people these days like to make their own food, it helps knowing exactly what goes into your meals. As well as keeping costs down. For those that can't there are some good restaurants and take-aways close by. So glad you enjoyed the boat tours it really is a must. Even if we can't fit you in, drop by and organise a tour with us. Glad you got the vibe and had such a great holiday. Tracey and I hope to see you again when you venture back to Aitutaki.
TnT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Four lovely, cute, ramshackle beach huts which are rather small, showers are outside, toilet is shared and all looks a bit makeshift and cobbled together. This is not a stylish resort for sure. If that's what you want look somewhere else. But if you want a great price, fantastic location, genuine, friendly hosts and a real island experience then go for Matriki. Learn how to open coconuts, pick starfruit and mangos, snorkel over beautiful coral right from the beach, chat with Trevor and Tracy, rent a book or two, ...
I can also highly recommend their boat tours; fantastic value, wonderful lunch.

Room Tip: The 'tree house' has the best view but is really the second story of a hut so you might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_of_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi
Well Tracey and I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is always go to hear and helps us to keep improving the experience for our future guests.
Your so right we are not a resort,, its not something we aspire to
There are plenty of those here in Aitutaki, we offer a very different experience..
The beach huts are right on the sand and are small, but concise and have everything you need.
Nothing better than an outdoor shower and a nice deck to watch the sunsets.
Mostly we offer value for money, so your hard earned dollars are spent on adventure and fun things and not on a room, Lagoon trips are something we pride ourselves on, and a lot of effort goes into making you day a special one.
So if your not into touristy resort style holidays come and spend some time with us and have a great adventure.
Trevor Tracey Ted Tiger Marmalade and Bubbles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our family of five were very fortunate to have 18 days on Aitutaki staying at Matriki. From the day we arrived to the day we left Tracey and Trevor were excellent hosts. The huts are comfortable and clean and right on the beach, the outside toilets are also very clean and well maintained. The Matriki area is immaculately maintained by Trevor and Tracey with the cleanest debris free beach on the island. Most mornings we enjoyed having our breakfast on the beach. Off the beach is excellent snokelling, or you can just laze about in the beautiful clear water. We went on our first snokelling trip with Trevor and after that we could not get enough of them and went on as many as were available. As previous reviews have noted Trevor know all the places to go, he provides lunch cooked by himself and again as noted in a previous review is just about the best meal on the island. The fish are incredible from the gaint trevally swiming right up to you, large Napolean wrasse and all the different coulorful fish, eels, clams and gaint clams. Trevor also took us outside the reef for another memorable experience.We also enjoyed eating out on the island and going to the Island Nights, due to the location price can be a litte more expensive but for the views and the ambience worth it. Food and supplies are also more costly as most have to be brought in but again given the location well worth it.From pot luck dinners, BBQ and fire on the beach, meeting and interacting with other guests to watching the local rugby match it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience made more so by the care and thoughtfulness of our hosts Trevor and Tracey. Our whole family had a fantastic and thoroughly memorable experience in a truly warm and beautiful place and wants to go back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoolGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor-Tracey, Manager at Matriki Beach Huts, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi
Thanks for your review.
This sort of review is what makes all the hard work worthwhile.
We are so pleased that you came to our little place of paradise and had such a marvelous time.
I must say I am very humble that you wrote so lovingly about our efforts here on Aitutaki.
One again Tracey and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts, and we are so pleased that you got the holiday you deserved.
Thanks
" T N T'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matriki Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matriki Beach Huts

Property: Matriki Beach Huts
Address: Anaunga, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet budget rustic self contained absolute beachfront huts on the nicest natural snorkeling and swimming beach on beautiful Aitutaki, Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Matriki Beach Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matriki Beach Huts Hotel Aitutaki
Matriki Beach Huts Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing