We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inano Beach Bungalows
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not what we expected :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at Inanobeach for 3 nights as part of a packaged deal. Both Aitutaki and Inaobeach was not what we expected.

We were disappointed as we thought we would have a bungalow that was over the water, but the bungalow was a garden bungalow. I did not notice any bungalows that were over the water.

Our host was like my grandmother, we felt that there was little privacy. The bathroom and kitchen facilities are very ordinary. The shower is so strong it nearly blows you out the shower.

What annoyed us the most was when we asked about laundry services. We showed our host a very small bag of underwear and socks and said it is $12 per load. We thought this was quite expensive. She said that we need to leave it by the front door and she would take it when our beds were made. We did say that we had more laundry than what was in the bag but were about to go on a tour and would put it out later.

When we returned from our tour we noticed the bag had gone from inside our room and she had washed them ! she still insisted that we needed to pay for the service, although I made it clear that we had not put them out by the door or agreed to them being washed.

We were quite upset about this and feel that perhaps it was a bit of a money grab. We feel there is better accommodation services elsewhere and would not recommend Inanobeach to future travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at Inanobeach for 3 days. We expected as advertised "partial lagoon-view garden bungalows are laid out in a semi-circle to provide some views of the natural marine reserve ...." Our bungalow had garden views - a lovely garden but no lagoon view, not even partial. We expected the natural marine reserve on our doorstep would provide clear swimming to see fish but it was scooped out to enable swimming - it wasn't at all clear to see your body yet alone fish. Also advertised as "peace & privacy ... an intimate location" but a skillsaw and hammering and the smell of paint from the next door bungalow didn't quite meet the description. Having said that we enjoyed a restful time sitting under the shade on the beach and lots of swims in the lagoon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrima, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our bungalow was right on the beach looking out over the lagoon to the sunsets. We were initially worried that we were so far out of town with the airport right behind us but .... we had no cause for concern. Firstly there was a lot to do within walking distance - many restaurants and the Vaka was moored just along the beach. Secondly we rarely heard any of the planes.
The bungalow was clean and neat - each day it was serviced - and very private. We were able to hire vehicles locally and had no problem walking about once it was dark.
The grounds are swept every morning and clean filtered drinking water is available at a nominal fee. Thank you for a great escape from the mundane.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robynnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, traveled out on the lagoon a few times for swimming, fishing and snorkeling. We loved this accommodation because we don't do resorts. What a great location and the staff are very helpful with island info.and services.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrimal, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights with our one year old and absolutely loved it.
Would return there back tomorrow if I could. Veia and Moeau were great hosts, greeted us at the airport and happily provided transfers free of charge.
Only issue was a hole in the screen of the bathroom which was fixed after the first day.
Room was clean and cleaned regularly.
The beach/lagoon is quiet, secluded and swimmable and location great as close to Koru, Samade, Boatshed.
And if you want you can walk around the point (about 200 metres) and swim near the $$$$ expensive resort free of charge.
No need to worry about being over the other side of the island, rent a car and drive around, it's really not that big.
It's definetly well worth staying here if you visit Aitutaki.

Room Tip: Bring mozzie coils and a lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights, and I wish we had stayed longer. Veia and Moeau are fantastic! The grounds are beautifully kept, and the location is fabulous. You have a private beach on the lagoon, and no other hotels nearby. With only six units, each arranged to maximize the breezes and privacy, we really felt amazingly secluded. The bungalows are simple and spotless, with a great shower and full kitchen facilities. The private decks are the perfect place for reading, napping, and morning coffee, with no neighbors in sight! Veia has rental scooters and bicycles right on site, so it couldn't be easier. There are also kayaks to cruise the lagoon, and the loagoon cruise boat launch is walking distance. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance, so you might never need to leave your bungalow. Purified drinking water is available on site. They thought of everything, yet it is so beautifully simple, you'll never notice that it has all been taken care of for you!

Room Tip: Book the Beachfront Bungalow if it is available, but the Partial Lagoon View bungalows are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandovation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at Inano for the last 4 of our 7 nights on Aitutaki, we wished we'd booked 7 nights straight. We were lucky enough to have booked the beachfront bungalow and were treated to the most beautiful sunsets. Prior to departure from NZ we'd read some negative reviews and were a little concerned that things had changed for the worse. However after our visit I'd say the reviews are from people who just should stick to resort living and leave the islands to more relaxed travellers. We were out kitesurfing every day from early until late in the evening and Veia was kind enough to come and collect our luggage from Samade and unload it onto our balcony at Inano. We arrived to a lovely warm welcome and sat on our balcony with Veia for a 'get to know you chat', she gave us lots of good tips about this island, what to do, what to see, told us all we needed to know about Inano, including helping ourselves to their bananas, the fact that she did purified water bottle swaps for $1, this was great as we were a long way from any shops and the Samade bar only sold very small bottles of water for $4. Our bungalow was fantastic, private, absolutely huge inside, fabulous bed, great shower, clean towels, well set up kitchen and super clean. The matting on the walls and ceiling is amazing and a really nice touch. We booked Inano as we'd intended on self catering for the last 4 nights of our stay but ended up eating breakfast at the markets prior to kiting each day, eating out was so cheap we didn't bother setting ourselves up for meals in. We'd recommend any of the food at Payless, especially the grilled tuna with paw paw salsa and island fries, one look in the little kitchen and you can tell this guys been trained very well in a professional kitchen. The markets down by the wharf have an amazing array of precooked foods and sandwiches - get there early for the best choices - vegetable samosas are fantastic. The Heineken store is probably your best bet if you're wanting to self cater, they have a good selection of frozen meats and other superette type products, not to mention beer and wine at reasonable prices. We took mosquito coils and repellant after reading reviews of mozzie squarms but found although just on dusk there were quite a few mozzies around they weren't biting us, we sat on our balcony every night with drinks and watched the sunset, with two coils burning we didn't get any bites at all. Once it got dark they disappeared also. We'd warmly recommend Inano to any couples wanting a chilled out, comfortable holiday. Since we were out kiting on the motus every day we thought we should stay closer to the wharf on our next visit but after looking around at other places of similar value it's not a hard choice to choose Inano again, we'll definately be back. Thank you Veia and Moreau for a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NZKB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matriki Beach Huts
Matriki Beach Huts
#1 of 13 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inano Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inano Beach Bungalows

Property: Inano Beach Bungalows
Address: PO Box 48 | Inano Beach, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inano Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inano Beach is an all tide swimming beachfront property with seven self–catering individual stand alone bungalows, one beachfront and 5 partial lagoon view garden bungalows, laid out in a semi circle to provide some views of our natural marine reserve that is part of a private beach.We are situated on the sheltered inland side of the lagoon, with stunning views looking across turquoise waters and the marine reserve towards the main bulk of Aitutaki Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inano Beach Bungalows Aitutaki, South Pacific - Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing