We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!!!”
Review of Stevenson Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stevenson Retreat
Tallahassee, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed at a lot of B & Bs all over the world but this one goes at the top of the list. Kate is a terrific host and took the time in advance of our stay to mail me an envelope full of Kenai Peninsula information. Her home is beautiful, in and out, and the view of Kenai Lake is riveting. She takes great pains to make your stay the very best it can be, offering plenty of privacy yet giving full use of the downstairs area of her home. Her breakfasts catered to our vegetarian diet and were the perfect way to begin our day. We just came away from this place wishing that we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights, for it was the perfect location for the day hiking that we were doing in the interior of the Kenai. If I am ever fortunate enough to go back there, you can bet I'll be staying at Stevenson Retreat.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or even any semi-great rooms. All are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tallyrunner5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is really the best B&B we have ever stayed in! And Kate is the best and most thoughtful host you can ever ask for.

Her thoughtfulness started even before we arrived. Having reserved the rooms with her in March, she actually sent us some travel brochures (for us to plan our trip in the Kenai Peninsula) all the way to Singapore long before our stay with her in June! Kate, that really meant a lot to us!

Her cozy home and delicious breakfasts made us really feel at home. She made it a point to use different china for each of the 3 breakfasts that we had there and painstakingly planned a different breakfast menu each morning. The view from her breakfast corner was also breathtaking. We could see the Kenai River and the mountains in the background. We also loved how she had decorated her house and garden with the many beautiful ornaments, knick-knacks and curios. We spent many hours just looking at them. The guest lounge on the lower level was a private area that enabled us to gather each evening to share our joys of the day. This is really something a hotel room lacks. It is really a home away from home. We wished we could have stayed there our entire trip! We were also blessed with visits from a moose and her 2 newly born baby calves. We fully understand why the mother moose chose to have her babies born in Kate's garden!

Her thoughtfulness extended even after we were supposed to have checked out. As 2 of us in the group of 5 were out on a fishing trip for the day and would only return late in the evening, she still opened her home to us so that we would not have to wait for them in the cold (we were booked at an accomodation in Seward, an hour's drive away). She was also so thoughtful as to make some salmon spread and crackers for the other 3 of us, who didnt go on the fishing trip, to munch on after our walk to the Russian River. She had anticipated that we would be hungry after the walk and we were! We were very reluctant to leave but she was already booked over the next few days.

Kate, thank you for a fantastic stay!!! Wish we could go back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeTravelduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Well I actually don't like to write reviews but I will do Stevenson Resort injustice if I don't. A beautiful log cabin with B&B on the banks of the Kenai River, looking out over the blue water thinking about the salmon run in the river (we missed it,we were too early). You need to keep a sharp lookout for the small signage, thus it pretty exclusive- no walk in. Kate was excellent host she advise us on where to look out for good and inexpensive meals. Breakfast was great, french toast, klish, yogurt, fresh fruit, and coffee and juice. She have nice cozy bedrooms (ideal for families), pretty decorations (almost want to keep everything). see mooses in her backyard . We enjoyed the stay, wished we have stayed longer! By the way Kate, no bananas for fruits for fisherman when you packet their breakfast, its taboo. Thank God for blessing I caught one 25 Ibs. Peter,Janice,Peter,Christine,Lilian

Room Tip: Book as early as possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjweb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stevenson retreat B&B is a beautiful log cabin on the banks of the Kenai River. We looked out over the blue water each morning for breakfast. The host was excellent and helped us plan our day. Breakfast was french toast (best we have ever had....sorry Mom), Yogurt, fresh fruit, and Coffee and Juice. We loved this romantic and cozy bed and breakfast. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeatclemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

What a fantastic place to stay while you enjoy the surrounding area. Kate is the best! Breakfast at the time you specify--and believe me, you won't go away hungry!! We shared the entire downstairs with our son and wife--it was like being home. Great accommodations and interesting decor. Have nothing but good things to say about this Retreat. And, don't forget the bottomless "cookie jar". A+ in our book.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I can't say enough about this B & B. Kate goes out of her way to make you feel at home with all of the little things from comfy robes and slippers to the wonderful breakfasts she provides at a time that is convenient for you! You could not ask for a better host, location or nicer place to stay. The B & B sits on a bluff right over the beautiful Kenai River and we were able to relax on the deck every day and look at the river, mountains, and wildlife. Kate was able to provide us with a lot of information of the area from history to things to see and do. My husband loves Cooper Landing because of the great fishing and now I love it because I've found a place I intend to stay each time we are in this area. You know you are in Alaska even when you are inside due to the charming way Kate has decorated her home with Alaskan crafts in each nook and crannie. We were both very happy we choose to stay here and plan to each time we visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinook86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria,Va
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Oh my....our only complaint was we didn't stay longer! Kate is the perfect B&B hostess, with a self-created sanctuary for the senses. Every detail is perfection and still she retains an extraordinarily cozy, comfortable setting. It's obvious she loves what she does.

This is perfect for those who want to explore the surrounding area or those who just want to sit by the water and read or watch nature. There are several pleasant restaurants nearby as well as a small grocery and a quilt shop.

Rooms and baths are spacious and beautifully decorated. There are stairs, even to the first level. We enjoyed going to the second level for breakfast - gorgeous view there too - but Kate is more than willing to bring breakfast to you if you wish. Breakfasts were excellent and very generous.

We hope to return one day....for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
0.0 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevenson Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevenson Retreat

Property: Stevenson Retreat
Address: PO Box 817, Cooper Landing, AK 99572-0817
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cooper Landing
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stevenson Retreat Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing