We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaskan Fishing Paradise”

Drifters Lodge Fishing and Activities
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Alaskan Fishing Paradise”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked the "Russian House" through Drifters Lodge an adult family vacation. It had comfortable beds, perfectly outfitted kitchen, nice televisions, and everything else you could think of, PLUS a gorgeous view. The fire pit was our favorite place, stocked with abundant wood. We could fish right from shore if we wanted. This property has the extra surprise of having a wood burning sauna, and it was a very nice experience after fishing on the river all day. Chris is very hospitable, and had the sauna all fired up for us one night. All of the staff and the fishing guides do a great job. They go out of their way to answer any questions and help you out if needed.
Our fishing wasn't so productive as we would of liked, but we enjoyed the river. I would have liked the guides to have a motor for the part of the river they could of used them in. I highly recommend the float trip even if you don't fish, the scenery is gorgeous. We were only half hour to Seward and ocean fished there and had a blast, and fought and caught fish there. If you are a avid angler you will love the Russian House if you are bringing a small group. The drive to Cooper Landing from Anchorage is extremely scenic and will amaze you with it's natural beauty. Be sure to stop at Alyeska and take a half day to do the rain forest hike before or after your trip.....really spiritual, and an amazing part of Alaska you wouldn't expect to see! Cant wait to come back to Drifters for another family fishing trip. I hear August is good fishing too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland City, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guided day of fishing.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great day of fishing and rafting with Alex! Took care of everything even breakfast and knew the best places to go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very nice people, great guide, but fishing was disappointment”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

booked a river float for the family and the lodge staff was very nice and friendly. Our guide was also very nice, professional, and worked really hard but unfortunately we did not have a good day of fishing. Only had one spot where we could catch salmon and nobody caught any salmon but we did manage to catch 3 or 4 trout that were catch & release. The float down the river and the scenery was amazing and by far the best part. The waters are a beautiful teal and aqua green color and the section of the river the lodge is located is wonderful. We did not stay at lodge but it looked like a first class place to say for a "cabins by the lake" experience. Would have been nice to know the salmon were not yet running before we booked and trout fishing was slow as the guide told us when we arrived but all in all we know there are no guarantees when it comes to fishing. I will give it another shot when we vacation in alaska again so we can experience what is suppose to be the best fishing in the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank makerr30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun fishing and quaint lodge”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We drove down to the lodge in the morning and the 3 guys went trout fishing while the 'girls' went on a scenic rafting tour. My husband caught a 10lb salmon even though they were fishing for trout and we cooked it on the grill that night- delicious! The main lodge fit us nicely each family got a room and we shared the big bathroom. Quaint but nice. Beautiful view and great access to river. Would definitely go back. Saw almost 30 bald eagles on the rafting and nice relaxing time. Found on trip advisor and glad we booked. Wish we had more time there

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rapidrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I was still at Drifters.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first fishing experience in Alaska. What a great time! The cabins are well taken care of, beautifully made and modern. The sleeping loft is full of comfortable beds (with Temper tops), each covered in a lovely quilt.
Located on the upper Kenai, Drifters Lodge has wonderful guides who really know the area and what will catch fish. We fished a half-day for massive rainbow trout, Dolly Varden, and even caught a big sockeye in the lake. As we drifted the river, we experienced class one and two rapids for a little extra fun. Drifters offered river rafting trips as well as fishing while we were there. Our full day of fishing was on the Kasilof River, and it did not disappoint. We had a great day catching beautiful silver sockeye salmon. Filleted by our guide, a nearby shop processed the fish for our trip home, and now we have lovely salmon fillets in the freezer waiting to cook.
I could go on and on about Drifters Lodge, its people (very personable), the view, the fishing, etc. However, the true test is this: I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drifters Lodge Fishing and Activities also viewed

 

Been to Drifters Lodge Fishing and Activities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing