We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrise Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Alpine Motel(Cooper Landing)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trail Lake Lodge(Moose Pass)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Marina Motel(Seward)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor 360 Hotel(Seward)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
10
16
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
16
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotelbedshomeralaskacabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We visited the Sunrise Inn while visiting Cooper Landing. We had gotten used too everyone being so friendly and welcoming, that we were not expecting to run into people that were so uptight and unwelcoming! I do not reccomend visiting the adjacent bar at this hotel...tourists are not given top priority over the locals that frequent the place. Ruined my last night in Alaska.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marlag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Plus: excellent towels in bathroom and real soap bars; pretty quiet for near the highway; microwave and refrigerator worked, beds were firm but not hard with different size pillows so we slept great.
Minus: we drove by and had to ask directions - Sunrise Gas is same place. Parking lot was tank trap. If coming from Anchorage, motel is before you cross the river.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed here for 1 night. The room is as has been described before; older beds, no phone, no phone, no shampoo...it did have a nice restaurant attached...looked very quaint...I ate in the bar and had the Chili which was very good. Hung around for a couple hours and enjoyed the locals and other travelers I met. I did feel that $130 per night was WAY too much. Lots of B&Bs to stay at in the area...would probably look into those next time if they are close to the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

What costs $130 in the back country of Alaska that you can get for $29 in the lower 48 ? A cheap no-frills room in the middle of nowhere.

Yes, we did not expect it to have all the amenities of a full-service hotel but we were shocked at the level of compromise.

Pros -
View from the front door.

Cons -
Very small room. So small that any more than one person feels like a crowd.
No Phone.
Stand alone room heater did not work as expected. It had a mind of its own and would turn on even if the room temp was set lower than current temp.
One light on the center of the ceiling not enough to illuminate the entire room especially the closets.
Very tiny bathroom with no place to shelf space to keep your toiletries.
Very uncomfortable bed. Springs could be easily felt.
Very cheap towels. Bath towels are brown color with stripes. Hard to tell if they were clean. Hand towels are white.
No hair dryer.
No ironing board.
No Phone (I know I said it already ... just wanted to drill it in).
The night staff was friendly. The day time staff appeared aloof. The restaurant in the property is overrated. The coffee was cold and the lady waiting on us said that they did not have a warmer for the dishes.
I will post photos I took when I get around to it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vulcan464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We had to make a quick change from Princess Lodge to Sunrise Inn due to error on reservations. Lucky us, we stayed at a more local place, that offered very clean rooms, newly redone and the best home cooked food on the pennisula. We were looking for a place to base out of for an early morning return to Anchorage, the Sunrise Inn was a perfect location. Most of the travelers would be fisherman, but we wanted to see Seward for a day and also check out the local fishing areas, again Sunrise Inn was perfect. My husband had the pancakes for breakfast, they covered the plate and were wonderful. The staff working were great people and it was fun sitting in both the restaurant and bar listening to the locals talk about whatever. Try getting off the beaten path of tourism and you will be rewarded.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews