We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A view of the gas cylinders!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A view of the gas cylinders!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I am beginning to get a complex that, wherever we go, we seem to get the worst view! In an outstandingly beautiful area we get a view of the gas cylinders!
The room itself was very good with a separate sitting room with log fire.The food was of average quality and did not compare with the food on the cruise. Princess cruises needs to look at the catering in the lodges as, coming after the cruise, it is a let down.

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the gas cylinders!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    59
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
86
131
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband was fishing for the day, so I took myself to a wonderful lunch on the deck. I had the smoked salmon chowder and a wonderful salad. Both were delicious and the service was excellent. The view is amazing.
I did not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I took a Princess Cruise and Tour to Alaska at the end of June, 2013. After disembarking the ship in Whittier, we were taken by motorcoach to the Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge. It is a beautiful property right along the Kenai river and nestled in the woods. The rooms are spread out from the main lodge. They have shuttle busses to take you from the main lodge to your room if needed. The rooms are just great with a very Parkitecture/lodge/cabin feeling. Your bedroom is separated by a half wall from the living room that also includes a small kitchen table. You have a wood burning fireplace in the living room and a patio facing the woods and mountains. They supply all you need to build a nice cozy fire. The property has several hot tubs. They also have a walking path along the Kenai river. Be advised that at times it is closed due to wildlife (yes, bears) sightings. There are 3 different viewing platforms on the path to view the river and surrounding area. The main lodge has two restaurants and a bar. The main lodge also has a deck area overlooking the river. Food in the more formal dining room is more expensive than the grill and bar restaurant. The food and service were very good. There is free Wi-Fi in the main lodge and they have 2 computers for guest's use during their stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay while on the Kenai peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I actually haven't stayed here. My husband and I own property nearby and we frequently visit the restaurant for a drink and appetizer on the deck (weather providing). The views are hard to beat as the lodge is atop a ridge overlooking the Russian River. We've been 3 times this season. The service has been exceptional especially by Kacee and the food is so good. We always order the calamari and when we stay for dinner, I can't hardly get past the Bison Chilli. My husband loves the specialty salad (forget the name) with candied pecans, pears, and he orders it with chicken. Other items are also good but these are our favorites after a hard day of fishing in the area. Although we haven't stayed there, I do understand the rooms are very nice and comfortable and the grounds are obviously beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here and thought it was beautiful and so relaxing!! It is a bit out of the way, so be sure to rent a car if you want to get out and about! We ate most of our meals there and the food and view were both amazing!! The rooms are so cozy! We loved the fireplaces in the room! We were with 2 other couples and every evening we would sit out on the patios with wine and just marvel at how peaceful and relaxing this place was!!! No hustle and bustle!! We took advantage of the day long raft trip and the all day fishing trip offered through them. Both were wonderful! The company they used that day was Alaska River Company! I would strongly recommend that company!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank janehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Let me first be clear... I did not actually stay at the hotel. I tried making a reservation through the website thinking I was making a reservation at the Cooper Landing property. Unfortunately, I was actually directed to the website for their Glenn Allen location! Two days before our trip to Cooper Landing, I identified the problem. I called the customer service line and explained my situation. I was given a full refund. This type of customer service is the kind of thing that ensures customers come back. I will surely keep this hotel on my list of places to book some day.

I did visit the lodge during my stay in Cooper Landing and the setting is beautiful. One of my favorite things is the fact they have trails all the way down to the Kenai river and amazing views of the river from the balcony near the restaurant. We had lunch and brunch on two separate occasions at the restaurant and if the views don't get you, the food certainly will. I recommend a visit to this lodge even if you are not staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed two nights on the land portion of our cruise. The hotel was wonderful. Our room was spacious with a wood burning stove. Tastefully decorated with everything that was needed for a wonderful stay. Restaurant was excellent as was the bar area which offered similar fare for less dollars. Service was excellent. The grounds were nice to walk in and the hike to the river was memorable but would have been better without the bugs but that is nothing the hotel could control.

Room Tip: I think all of their rooms except in the lodge are similar. Some are a longer walk to the main lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
108 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
343 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
87 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing