We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lodge in a spectacular setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge in a spectacular setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This lodge was top notch. Very nice rooms and restaurants. It was like having your very own cabin in the woods. We had a wood burning stove, but could have used an air conditioner instead because of the heat wave during our stay. There were hiking trails along the river on the property. We went for a lazy river float and saw many bald eagles.

Room Tip: Ask for a group of rooms close to the main lodge. Easier to get to the dining room and gift shop an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananapiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    56
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
77
124
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The rooms here are very nice. They are incredibly spacious vs. typical hotel rooms with separate living room and bedroom areas. They also have entrances from the outdoors and patios off the backs of the rooms so they felt sort of rustic even though I was in a hotel. They even have wood burning stoves you can use with wood conveniently located right outside.

The food was so so, but I'll be honest and say that I'm a pretty good home cook and sort of a food snob. The fish for me was all generally overcooked. My advice is the eat in the bar and grill, not the regular restaurant. The food all comes from the same kitchen, but the bar is much cheaper.

My other complaint was the location. It is pretty isolated so if you don't have a car you are restricted to the tours the lodge offers, which aren't bad, but I would have liked more flexibility. That being said, the grounds and immediate surroundings are pretty spectacular, and they have a couple short nature trails on the property that are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with my family (I live in Anchorage) as we traveled from Seward to Homer. Rooms are almost chalet like, with separate sleeping and living areas, so rather spacious. Hotel is largely run by non-locals for tourists so not a lot of Alaska local charm, but it's very nice. Hotel restaurant is good and prices aren't bad by Alaskan standards. Wifi in main lobby and bar areas (not in rooms). Be aware hotel bar closes early (and there can be animals on property so be careful, but to me that's a plus).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadence8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The bathroom and closet layout of the room was very hard to maneuver, especially if you put your open suitcase on a rack there for convenience. The bathroom amenities were first class. A small fridge and microwave in the room would of been helpful to store bottled water and other snacks, but they did not offer these items. I did not care for the mattress although it was of good quality. Our room was in cabin 15 which was at the top of the hill, quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I am beginning to get a complex that, wherever we go, we seem to get the worst view! In an outstandingly beautiful area we get a view of the gas cylinders!
The room itself was very good with a separate sitting room with log fire.The food was of average quality and did not compare with the food on the cruise. Princess cruises needs to look at the catering in the lodges as, coming after the cruise, it is a let down.

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the gas cylinders!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband was fishing for the day, so I took myself to a wonderful lunch on the deck. I had the smoked salmon chowder and a wonderful salad. Both were delicious and the service was excellent. The view is amazing.
I did not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I took a Princess Cruise and Tour to Alaska at the end of June, 2013. After disembarking the ship in Whittier, we were taken by motorcoach to the Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge. It is a beautiful property right along the Kenai river and nestled in the woods. The rooms are spread out from the main lodge. They have shuttle busses to take you from the main lodge to your room if needed. The rooms are just great with a very Parkitecture/lodge/cabin feeling. Your bedroom is separated by a half wall from the living room that also includes a small kitchen table. You have a wood burning fireplace in the living room and a patio facing the woods and mountains. They supply all you need to build a nice cozy fire. The property has several hot tubs. They also have a walking path along the Kenai river. Be advised that at times it is closed due to wildlife (yes, bears) sightings. There are 3 different viewing platforms on the path to view the river and surrounding area. The main lodge has two restaurants and a bar. The main lodge also has a deck area overlooking the river. Food in the more formal dining room is more expensive than the grill and bar restaurant. The food and service were very good. There is free Wi-Fi in the main lodge and they have 2 computers for guest's use during their stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay while on the Kenai peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 3 in Cooper Landing
99 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
83 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
82 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing