We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and comfy spacious rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and comfy spacious rooms”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was thrilled with the size of the room and amenities for the price. The main lodge is situated just overlooking the Kenai River and you can enjoy the views of the river from the main dining patio, or on one of the hiking trails nearby. I was happy with the food and the service received during my short stay. I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone looking for a nice getaway within two hours of Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcrow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    56
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
129
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful resort in the Kenai Peninsula! Excellent restaurant (although very pricey). Very nice staff all around. Gift shop with lots of great souvenirs. We stayed at the adjacent Princess Rv park while my mom enjoyed a room at the lodge. The lady at the RV park hooked us up with a rafting trip on the Kenai River, a salmon fishing charter out of Soldotna, and halibut fishing charter out of Ninilchick in a matter of minutes. She was so nice and helpful!! The RV park is not the most beautiful or spacious spot, but plenty of amenities nearby as you can use Lodge facilities when you stay there. My husband and kids enjoyed the hot tub quite a bit. It does have a nice view of the mountains. Incredible view of the river from the deck outside the bar and dining room up at the lodge. Tons of beautiful flower planters and towers all around the lodge and grounds. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in outlying buildings from the lodge registration/reception area and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
325 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived at Kenai Princess Lodge and met the manager. He hops on the bus to welcome us and explains the set up of the lodge. He was very nice and it was a nice personal touch. The lodge is situated on 40 acres above the Kenai River. Buildings 100 to 700 are up one lane. Rooms 800 and up are scattered up the hill. We were in room 805. It was a great suite. Clean, comfy sofa and chairs and a table. The furniture was rustic looking but new. There was a free standing fireplace with plenty of wood provided. The room smelled of cedar. The nicest room we will have for the all of the Princess hotels. The hotel is isolated and in the middle of nowhere. There are two nature trails. One is 5 mile long and the other one 1 mile. There is another hike down to the river with a couple vantage points coming off the main trail.

We had lunch at Eagles Crest Restaurant. Kyle and Jessie waited on us promptly with a smile. Good food. Huge burger, large portion of salmon sliders and halibut tacos.

Dinner at Rafter’s Lounge. The half portion salad was enough for a light dinner. The KPL salad and panzanella salad and Caesar salads with grilled shrimp were good too. The bison chili came in a huge bowl. Calamari appetizer was very good. If it had been warmer and sunnier we would have eaten on the deck. Oh and their Alaskan mixed drinks – virgin or not – were good too.

We also had a dinner at Eagles Restaurant. It was fantastic. Halibut (2 different ways), seared scallops were excellent. 3 different types of sauces for each dish. Amazing! Salmon chowder was great! Way too much food to have room for dessert – even though the blackberry pie sounded delicious! This was probably our best dinner of the vacation!!!!

Breakfast at Eagle’s Crest. The waiter was half asleep and not very accommodating. Same old selections. Good food, but need some variety.

The grounds were so pretty. The flowers were so perfect they looked like silk flowers! This hotel ended up being our favorite of the vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GloriasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This lodge was top notch. Very nice rooms and restaurants. It was like having your very own cabin in the woods. We had a wood burning stove, but could have used an air conditioner instead because of the heat wave during our stay. There were hiking trails along the river on the property. We went for a lazy river float and saw many bald eagles.

Room Tip: Ask for a group of rooms close to the main lodge. Easier to get to the dining room and gift shop an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananapiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The rooms here are very nice. They are incredibly spacious vs. typical hotel rooms with separate living room and bedroom areas. They also have entrances from the outdoors and patios off the backs of the rooms so they felt sort of rustic even though I was in a hotel. They even have wood burning stoves you can use with wood conveniently located right outside.

The food was so so, but I'll be honest and say that I'm a pretty good home cook and sort of a food snob. The fish for me was all generally overcooked. My advice is the eat in the bar and grill, not the regular restaurant. The food all comes from the same kitchen, but the bar is much cheaper.

My other complaint was the location. It is pretty isolated so if you don't have a car you are restricted to the tours the lodge offers, which aren't bad, but I would have liked more flexibility. That being said, the grounds and immediate surroundings are pretty spectacular, and they have a couple short nature trails on the property that are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with my family (I live in Anchorage) as we traveled from Seward to Homer. Rooms are almost chalet like, with separate sleeping and living areas, so rather spacious. Hotel is largely run by non-locals for tourists so not a lot of Alaska local charm, but it's very nice. Hotel restaurant is good and prices aren't bad by Alaskan standards. Wifi in main lobby and bar areas (not in rooms). Be aware hotel bar closes early (and there can be animals on property so be careful, but to me that's a plus).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadence8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The bathroom and closet layout of the room was very hard to maneuver, especially if you put your open suitcase on a rack there for convenience. The bathroom amenities were first class. A small fridge and microwave in the room would of been helpful to store bottled water and other snacks, but they did not offer these items. I did not care for the mattress although it was of good quality. Our room was in cabin 15 which was at the top of the hill, quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
103 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
83 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
25 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
84 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing