We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I cannot compliment enough. Rooms are huge, clean, and have wood-burning stoves (wood, matches, and starters provided). Decor is a comfortable lodge feel with vaulted ceilings--wished a loft could be tucked in up there. It was the perfect amount of comfort and chill after all the cruise chaos.

The Kenai overlook trail was so lovely. I loved the walking sticks available for us to use. Don't miss your chance to hear the rushing waters of this cerulean beauty.

Food was pretty good in restaurant/bar. Bison chili was a standout.

But the staff definitely earned the 5 rating. Shuttles will transport you throughout the property on call (including trails). They were helpful and responsive with all requests (extra towels, mail). Special shout out to Pat and Justin for being awesome, and the general manager for running a good outfit here.

I would come back here again for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Abakinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spacious rooms with wood burning stoves. The accommodations are very nice and the staff was friendly. My advice - order one dinner and split it, the portions are huge. We enjoyed a drink on the deck while an Eagle flew by us not 40 feet away. Good hiking trails on the site. There is a small camp store down the hill where you can get limited groceries and medicine. Otherwise you need a car to visit anything off the resort site. Book your own excursions and save about 30% off of the price charged if you use Princess.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our 'Off the Beaten Path' Landtour with Princess cruises in May 2014.
We loved it here, our lodge was spacious & had a wood burning stove that we lit in the evening.
The grounds are beautiful & we did some walking on the walking trails surrounding the lodge.
We ate in the restaurant, lounge & bar & found all 3 very good.
It was to us by far the best Princess Lodge that we stayed in on this trip, others being Mt McKinley,Denali & Fairbanks.
We would love to go back there & stay for longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

To begin, both the location and the lodge are outstanding. I have stayed in several different properties in Alaska--B & B's, motels, hotels--in Ketchikan, Juneau, Wrangell, Haines, Anchorage, Talkeetna and now Cooper Landing, and the Kenai Princess is my absolute favorite. Rustic yet not rustic, out-of-the-way, what many people expect Alaska to be.

The property is actually a number of one story buildings with 4 connected units. There are 15 or so of these buildings, but you wouldn't know it due to the trees, rolling hills, and layout of the buildings. I never felt like I was part of a crowd. In fact, I only saw 3 people out and around the buildings.

The unit was very spacious, with two comfortable chairs for TV viewing (nice flat screen TV) or a good read, and a good sized table with two chairs for the card player, post card writer, or those who indulge in puzzles or play games. There is no microwave or refrigerator. The unit has a lovely porch with a table and two chairs on which you can truly relax and enjoy the beauty before you. Parking was maybe 20 yards away from your door.

The beds were firm, but not hard-as-a-rock and the bed linens appeared to be new. Lots of lighting, a decent dresser for two, maybe three guests, a fireplace with all the wood and instructions you will need. An iron and ironing board will be delivered by calling the office. Shampoo, conditioner, bath soap are available through the dispensers in the shower/tub. There is a bar of soap at the sink (on the small side--the sink and the bar of soap) but no body lotion. A few more hangers would have been nice.

There is a hot tub, rather small, but well maintained and handicap accessible. I only saw two other people using it during the day. There are four pieces of equipment in a workout area, which I never saw anyone use. The equipment was in very good condition and the area was clean. I think there were two different bikes, a treadmill, and an elliptical something-or-other.

There is both inside and outside dining and the food was surpassed only by the views. If you choose to eat outside on the deck, I suggest bug spray before you go out onto the deck. The mosquito is the state bird.... The portions are generous and we enjoyed everything we ordered. The bar also serves food. If you order oatmeal for breakfast, it will be the largest serving of oatmeal you will ever be served!

If for some reason, part of your group wishes to return to the unit after your meal, while part wishes to have yet another dessert (that berry cobbler is yummy!) the front desk will arrange a ride for you up the hill to your unit on their little cart. Just ask them.

There is a gift shop which should not be overlooked. The quality of the items sold there is a cut above what you will find in many gift shops. And, they have a number of novels for sale! Lastly, a short walk down the road is their RV Park and camper store where you can get your "junk food" fix--candy, cookies, chips, ice cream and the like.

Enjoy! We certainly did!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lodge in May 2014 and loved it! Each room is in a 4 room cluster. The room is more like a cabin as there are 2 comfortable double beds, a sofa, cocktail table, dining table with chairs, sitting chair, wall mounted flat screen TV and wood burning stove! They even provide the fire starter and wood! There are also a set of sliding patio doors that lead to a small deck with a table and 2 patio chairs! Lovely!! We were the first group of visitors for the summer and you wouldn't have known it-the staff was friendly and attentive. They had it together and they had pride! You could tell that they enjoyed their jobs and enjoyed the guests! The bar area with deck was just beautiful (overlooked the beautiful and blue Kenai River) and the food was reasonably priced and very good! There is a small workout room and also a hot tub (that we did not use). Again, this was the BEST Princess lodge we stayed at and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauriespics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Kenai Princess Lodge is beautiful, clean, fun and overall awesome! The employees are all very knowledgeable no matter who it is you need something from or talk to. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurants are delicious. They both have great food. We will definitely be back!!! Thank you so much Kenai Princess for an awesome stay. We were there about two weeks ago on your opening day!

Room Tip: They all looked wonderful. They're cabins with wood burning stoves!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We enjoyed our lovely accommodations. This Princess Lodge was the most expensive of the three we stayed in. Discounts were not available and they sold out all rooms during our stay. It was quiet and scenic. I especially enjoyed the two tall eared rabbits who were munching on the grass outside our walkout patio in the morning. We didn't see any bears but had a nice view of the Kenai River which we rafted on the following day at Cooper Landing, a very short drive. If you like this lodge, you are really going to like the Mt. McKinley Lodge which is the nicest of all the Princess Lodges. The lodge is enormous with comfortable furniture, huge stone fireplace,board games and animal stencils for kids with the most incredible view you will ever see from both inside and out. The large outside patio faces Mt. McKinley with lounge chairs to take in the amazing view. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE THE BEST VANTAGE POINT FOR VIEWING MT. MCKINLEY.
views.

Room Tip: Check Princess Lodges website for promotional sales.This lodge sells out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDADVENTURER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
6.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
20.5 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
94 reviews
23.6 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range: £87 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing