We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rooms and terrific property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooper Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

June 30, 2014 my family and I checked into the Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge for 3 nights. Terrific views for the front lodge on a huge deck over looking the Kenai River. Perfect spot to enjoy an evening cocktail. Nice big rooms with wood burning stove. I was very warm that week, so the stove was not used. Plenty of wood was available. Rooms were very big and comfortable. Great accommodations for price especially in Alaska. Terrific porch but lots of bugs! The property is really spread out, so if you have mobility issues, suggest a room near the lodge. Washer and dryer facility was perfect - 4 units all very clean. Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property off the beaten path which was exactly what we wanted on our trip. Perfect location for some terrific fishing on the Russian River. I highly recommend this property for a cheap, cheerful and quiet get away location. As far as dining, we only had dessert in the dining room. All the food looked really good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this lodge as part of a Princess Cruise Tour. The lodge is the smallest of the Princess Alaskan lodges with only 86 cabins. The cabins are very large and beautifully appointed with lots of wood. They even had a wood fired stove. The peaked ceiling made the room look even bigger. The cabin had recently been renovated and was in perfect shape and clean.

The main lodge itself is quite rustic looking. The lobby area with wood burning stove felt quite homey. The staff were super friendly. Even the drivers who would take us back and forth to our cabin on the hill were super helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The whole staff starting with the very pleasant manager, Dan, was customer and service focused. It really made a difference.

The restaurant food was outstanding, with the sweetest waitresses. The prices were reasonable for hotel food and the portions were quite large. The outer deck looking out to the beautiful Kenai River Valley was such a relaxing place. In addition to the beauty, the people sitting around were very friendly. We just thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could see us staying there for a week just to chill.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MVPinBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay at this lodge. The rooms are very large with nice appointments. It was nice to return to after exploring this area of Alaska. Dinner on the deck of the lounge was beautiful as well as breakfast near the fireplace in the dining room. A very lovely lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We weren't part of the cruise, and booked online at a great rate of $149 for family of 4. We loved the room, the scenery, the food and the hot tub! Service was wonderful too.

We had our best meal of the trip. Food was well prepared and delicious.

We followed the trail by the river. Beautiful view of the river.

It was between the salmon runs which is why I think the rate was so low. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CamperSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the rooms. The ceilings were high and we had a small deck to sit out on. Unfortunately, there were too many bugs to enjoy the deck. The service was rated average because it was awkward. The conversations were forced and body language uncomfortable. Food in the restaurant was terrible. Asparagus was drenched in butter but not seasoned. Pecan crusted halibut tasted good near the crust but the meat below it had zero seasoning. The prime rib had no seasoning either and it was a strange color. The best part about our meal was the mashed potatoes. On the positive side we got to enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SportTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our bus tour was greeted by the manager upon arrival and departure. Our cabin with a wood stove and covered porch was cozy and comfortable. We were surrounded by mountains, trees, and looked down to a river from the front veranda of the main lobby. Staff were always there to help when needed. It was a 2 mile walk down to the local store although there was a smaller store in the camp grounds a few yards down the road. There was also a souvenir shop on the property and a laundry facility. Shuttle service was available down to the stores. Food was great as was the service. The best location and the nicest rooms of the Princess Lodges land tour experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I cannot compliment enough. Rooms are huge, clean, and have wood-burning stoves (wood, matches, and starters provided). Decor is a comfortable lodge feel with vaulted ceilings--wished a loft could be tucked in up there. It was the perfect amount of comfort and chill after all the cruise chaos.

The Kenai overlook trail was so lovely. I loved the walking sticks available for us to use. Don't miss your chance to hear the rushing waters of this cerulean beauty.

Food was pretty good in restaurant/bar. Bison chili was a standout.

But the staff definitely earned the 5 rating. Shuttles will transport you throughout the property on call (including trails). They were helpful and responsive with all requests (extra towels, mail). Special shout out to Pat and Justin for being awesome, and the general manager for running a good outfit here.

I would come back here again for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Abakinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooper Landing
2.6 mi away
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
Gwin's Lodge and Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Cooper Landing
116 reviews
16.3 mi away
Trail Lake Lodge
Trail Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Moose Pass
93 reviews
15.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Alpine Motel
The Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Cooper Landing
34 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Tern Lake
Inn at Tern Lake
#1 of 3 in Moose Pass
94 reviews
19.3 mi away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 47.7 Sterling Highway, Cooper Landing, AK 99572
Region: United States > Alaska > Cooper Landing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Cooper Landing
Price Range: £140 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Kenai Princess Wilderness Hotel Cooper Landing
Kenai Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Cooper Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing