We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous seafood in a stunning location”
Review of Trader Jacks

Trader Jacks
Ranked #36 of 104 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Cook Island's most iconic dining destination. Stunning views over the south pacific. Come in and dine with us on our al fresco deck or join our friendly team at the Vaka bar for an icy cold tap beer or the best cocktails on the island.
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We had the best meal here during our visit to Rarotonga.
Chowder was chock a block full of seafood - raw marinated fish was fresh and tasty; mau mau panfired was delicious - only just outdone by the crayfish tails with lemon butter.
Staff were helpful, friendly and well informed.

Thank jokim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Manager at Trader Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you so much, it looks like you ordered perfectly! Making the most of our fresh seafood.
We buy direct from our local fishermen and our crayfish is flown in weekly from NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 354 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

We didn't find Trader Jacks until our last night
Cheapest place to have drinks (besides the really really cheap pub that has $3.50 beers)
You can sit around the bar which is open air but undercover. The food was great for dinner. Omg try the chocolate and caramel spring rolls!! Yum
Service was good.
Great views.
Definitely have to visit.

Thank marney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Manager at Trader Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you so much.
Finding us on your last day means you just have to come back sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Huge pizzas, probably 4 would serve 6 people but you always want leftovers so order one each :)
Great location and the pizzas were good and full of toppings, fully recommend, easy outside dining watching beautiful Rarotonga go by.

Thank Sandraleelovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Manager at Trader Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

I'm so glad you love our pizzas too!
We're really branching out this week with a new Mexican Nacho Pizza and a custard and chocolate dessert pizza.
Quick! Rush back today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

We were told how great Trader Jacks was but when we went all we could order was pizza as it wasn't open for dinner for another 2 hours! So a little disappointed. They didnt have all the toppings we wanted on the pizza.

Thank BornToTravelBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Manager at Trader Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

I'm so sorry you missed our kitchen service.
We do run pizza all day but our main kitchen is only open for lunch and dinner.

I can only presume you were after coriander on you Thai chicken pizza? We are really struggling to source fresh coriander and that does impact the flavour of this pizza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Went with a group 19/4, only 1 dish for our vegetarian friend. Food was okay. A waitress tried to deliver drinks to our table that belonged to a table two over - despite me telling the person we paid exactly what my husband and I had ordered, she charged me for everything left on the bill after the other 6 had paid, and of course that included the two incorrect drinks - cost me $15. Check your bill twice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hastings2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Manager at Trader Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

I'm very sorry for the mixup.
As your party was informed, we are happy to split a bill but can not be expected to cover the cost when members from your group miss items.
We run a very good POS system which will not allow any drink or food to be served without first being charged to a table.
I do hope you have a wonderful holiday.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trader Jacks also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Trader Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing