We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational food, lovely staff”
Review of Flame Tree - CLOSED

Flame Tree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sensational food, lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only discovered this great restaurant on our penultimate evening at Muri but after our meal, we both wished we had eaten there on our first evening.

The menu choice wasn't huge, but the food was simply divine. Even the starters were a food lovers delight - fresh, amazingly we'll thought out flavours that set your taste buds tingling and left me wanting more. The main courses were a sheer delight - beautifully presented, tasted sensational and were again lovely fresh flavours that were well thought out and cooked to perfection.

The staff were lovely - friendly, but not pushy - and we both had one of the best meals we had ever eaten, in lovely surroundings, only a very short walk across the rugby field from our hotel, the Muri Beach Club.

We returned to the restaurant the following evening and our meal on our second visit was, if anything, even better than the previous evening's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    75
    38
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH BOTHERING ABOUT”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Disappointing food. We were told we were having fresh fish. It wasn't and meals disappointing on this occasion and previously so didn't bother going in March this year. All show without punch! Sure you can view the gigantic eels in the nearby creek but wouldn't bother going there again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood platter around!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here one night and the place was really quiet, staff were very friendly and attentive without being over bearing. They recommended their seafood platter for 1 to share (not many places would tell you that!). we'd tried a fair bit of seafood on the island and it had surprisingly being a bit up and down so we were so happy to get a very generous range of beautiful seafood all well prepared and tasting amazing! We ended up coming back again just so we could try the pork belly and banofee pie which were again incredible!

Helpful?
Thank Mishka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great for fine dinning”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It was little expensive eat there but if u want one fine dinning place then thats is place to eat.
Food excellent so is service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank melliemoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay well away!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had heard so many good reports on this place and was total gutted when we did get the amazing service and food everyone had been going on about!!
Now I total understand island time and was enjoying every monument of it.
We arrived at the Flame Tree about 19:30. was greeted by a lady that had to check if they had space (there was about 4 taken tables and 20 free table) When we sat down she showed us the menu and said ill tell you whats not available as you have turned up so late!!!
When we got our Stake and Mash everyone had eft by this point so they decided to clean around us. If I wanted to smell cleaning products whilst eating I would have asked to sit in the Kitchen.
They wanted to take our plates away and we hadn't even fished our food.
I felt so uncomfortable I just wanted to leave.
The worst thing about this whole experience - it was the most expensive meal we had paid for, we had better service from the cafe we went to for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flame Tree also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing